We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location you could ask for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Peninsula Riverside Apartments
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2009

I stay here in May 09 for just over a week and it was great.
Firstly the location. Well what can i say its fantastic!!!! Its about 2 mins walk if that across the road to the Ferry jetty which takes you across to the city.

Rooms were really clean and well kept. Im not sure what the other rooms are like but ours were quite small and the only bathroom was an ensuite in one of the 2 room..
But other then that they were really nice.

There seems to be alot of noise going on in early mornings, e.g crashing , banging, people talking etc etc
Not sure why but its not the best if your a light sleeper.

Overall our stay was great and would definatly stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for The Peninsula Riverside Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 207 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights, the apartments are in a fantastic location in South Perth just next to the river with stunning views, both day and night over to Perth. Stay here if you like easy access to the city but a quieter base. The regular ferry across the river is only 3 or 4 minutes walk and takes you across to the city.The surrounding area is pleasant, a supermarket within walking distance and a choice of restaurants ( some are BYO's- Bring Your Own Wine- but there is a bottle shop nearby if you havent taken any with you). The riverside area is great for walks and bike rides and there are free BBQ areas set up and good play areas for children. The apartment, on the ground floor had a small courtyard area and was very clean and well equipped, but a little dated. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We were planning a two day kayaking trip up the Swan River, and checked with the Peninsula Riverside Apartments to see whether they would mind us arriving by the water, and whether they would be able to store our boats.

There's not many places one can do this on the Swan.

However, they said that they would be happy to, as long as they were given warning and that we understood that they could not be held responsible should the boats be damaged.

If considering arriving by kayak please note that you must make the arrangements *BEFOREHAND* as they may not always have the room available. Let them know how many kayaks: One or two should be ok, but a whole club fleet not. I would say a 12 foot kayak would be the longest you'd want to take, as the path to the storage area is quite twisty!

We were delighted, and would have been quite happy with a below average hotel.

This place is definitely above average, it's quite beautiful and delightful.

We had a "partial river view" room. We enjoyed the lovely view of the river and the city opposite from the spacious balcony over breakfast, and with evening drinks with friends. On the balcony, it was unimpeded and I would have called it a river view room, myself!

The garden is cunningly designed with nooks, retreats and lots of shade and water features to enjoy a secluded moment.

The rooms were spacious, with very nice decor, and the kitchen especially was particularly well appointed, there was even a small rotisserie oven and a coffee plunger.

We were sorry we didn't have more opportunity to utilise the kitchen.

The complimentary toiletries were beautifully presented in a gift box, and a really nice touch were the two packets of savoury biscuits, also complimentary, with the usual tea and coffee makings.

It is a very short walk to a supermarket for supplies, and not at all far to the restaurants, malls and shops of the interesting South Perth Mends Street area. Ferries at the Mends St Jetty can carry you to Perth proper, and the Perth Zoo is also nearby.

The staff were very helpful, friendly and able to accomodate unusual requests. All in all, it was a super experience and was a highlight of our holiday.

I look very much forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

The apartment wasn’t quite as modern as I had expected for the price, but it had everything we needed and was in a great location.

We had a side water view room overlooking the car park. Due to it being a side view only 1 person sitting on the balcony could see the water and there wasn’t a view from the apartment. It was about 2 minutes walk to the ferry across to the City.

South Perth has a great choice of pubs and restaurants, all within easy walking distance of the apartment. There wasn’t an internet cafe though, you have to travel across the water for that.
Overall I would recommend it and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ally11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2008

These apartments are in an absolutely stunning location with wonderful views over the Swan River. Location and Views are their biggest plus. The accommodation inself was pretty ordinary and only serviced 2 a week. If you can live with that, this is the place for you. Don't expect 4 star and you won't be dissapointed. Try the Italian restaurant around the corner Spagi's - it is excellent for good Italian homelyness!

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank MacguyverCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

I tried through various means - direct to the property, travel websites, hotel websites etc to get an apartment here in mid-November 2007 for 2 nights only. None of the websites mentioned a minimum stay and not surprisingly, I was told there were no rooms available for the 2 nights I wanted. However, I tried again and extended the stay period to 1 week ( the same 2 nights extended) and voila! there were rooms available. I apologised to the various travel website consultants and property direct saying I made an error and would actually like 2 nights - I was instantly told that there were no rooms available -again!

Lesson learnt - despite great location etc - this place has not customer relations.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
5  Thank aquajade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2007

We loved our stay here. The apartments are clean, large with great amenities such as a proper seperate kitchen not just a stove and bench top like many 'apartments'. We thought the location was great - it is not in the city but Perth city centre does not offer a great deal and you are only across the river. You can get a ferry every fifteen minutes or so or walk along the river and across the bridge - we did this frequently to get to Kings Park . The location is great if you want a peaceful, beautiful, easy to get around spot with fantastic restaurants just around the corner. There are two very good Italian restaurants very near - Spaghi and Soprano's. The river is on the door step and wether you opt for a room with a view or not you will appreciate the view when you come and go or if you opt to sit on the river bank and admire the city lights.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank IntrepidLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Perth
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,592 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 66 in Perth
1,260 reviews
Sullivans Hotel
#31 of 66 in Perth
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metro Hotel Perth
#1 of 3 in South Perth
516 reviews
West Perth
Sage Hotel West Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Riverside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Riverside Apartments

Address: 53 South Perth Esp, South Perth, Western Australia 6151, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > South Perth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Perth
Price Range: $113 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peninsula Riverside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Peninsula Riverside Serviced Apartments situated on the picturesque South Perth foreshore, overlooking the Swan River and Perth City skyline. Set in landscaped gardens The Peninsula is in an ideal location. It is only a few minutes walk to shops and cafes, an array of fine restaurants and the Ferry terminal; and is only 5 minutes by car or ferry to the Perth Central Business District. With a range of self contained apartments to suit short, medium or long term accommodation requirements there really is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Peninsula Riverside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Riverside Apartments Hotel Perth
Peninsula Perth
Perth Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing