We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good three star hotel”
Review of Metro Hotel Perth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metro Hotel Perth
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Perth
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is located on the canning highway and you can walk into central perth in about 40 minutes.

I stayed in a studio room which was quite large and had suitable furnishings. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a bath as well as a separate shower.

The restaurant served decent meals but expensive. Breakfast was a buffet which was quite good.

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper floors to reduce traffic noise. A/C was not too good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leanneandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 599 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at Metro Hotel last night as we went to a wedding in Applecross and thought we would use our taxi money for a hotel stay!

Check in was smooth and the room was lovely and spacious with fabulous views of the city. The room was clean and had everything we needed. We were very impressed with the size of the room and the bed was extremely comfortable. Great location too on Canning Highway.

We had a lovely stay and will be back. Even on check out the girl who checked me in the day prior remembered we had a wedding and asked me how it was! The little things make the difference.

Two thumbs up for this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandC1841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Metro in South Perth is very well positioned to access all areas of Perth. There are many great walking paths along the South Perth foreshore. Walking distance from the Perth Zoo, easy access to the Airport. Short drive to the city and Kings Park. Secure undercover parking! which is rare with hotels in the CBD.
We had an executive room with balcony and city views. The room is a good size and the ensuite is not bad, with shower and bath tub.
I have stayed here a few times and now won't stay and where else.
I have stayed in several city centre hotels which advertise "parking available" to find out there is none any end up paying and extra $40 a night just to park my car....... a 5 min walk down the road.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights between christmas and new year and was impressed with everything about the stay. Tastefully decorated room, with city view, nice lobby and pool area, fantastic staff all made this stay memorable. Would certainly reccomend, and will be back for another stay sometime in the future.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you for your remarks and we look forward to welcoming you back at our property when next you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My Mum and I stayed for 2 nights in this Hotel.
I chose it due to close proximity to family, easy to get to from Canning Highway and close to everything I required.
The staff were friendly, professional and the room was airy, clean and cool with 2 huge KS beds. The bed was firm which is what I like, the windows have block out curtains to keep the room cool with the aid of A/C.
Although there are renovations going on in the carpark and generally to refurbish the rooms, it appeared quiet as it was over Christmas period.
I got a great deal on WOTIF for the accommodation.
Our room was a 'Deluxe' which offered views of the city from the small balcony - this room was also away from the traffic noise. The only negative was the noisy fan in the bathroom.
Great place to stay, not 5 star but certainly suits us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kabeelya60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you for your comments; we are looking forward to the completion of our renovations which will host a range of new facilities for our guests. Well done for taking advantage of specials that we list on websites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed at the Metro Hotel Perth for one week, one among the 15-20 I spend every year in hotels.

Interesting first experience in this hotel as the lobby and corridors do not really look like they belong to a hotel. Staff will expedite you check-in.

Room was big and ready, however my room was positioned towards the city with supposedly a good view except the roof of the podium floor would obfuscate most of the view leaving really light to reach the room.

Nothing to say about cleanliness. However room service could pay more attention to details. Had to a light spot bulb broken for the whole week.

Although I have not tested them, the on-site breakfast/dinner facility look pretty sad as you get to see the lonely souls eating right when exiting the elevator on the ground floor.

One last thing – walls are paper thin, I could swear somebody was using my bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Metro Hotel is on the Canning Highway not far from the cassino, 20 minutes from the airport and with easy access to the main freeway south. It is clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Hotel prices in Perth are excessive and this is at the lower end however still expensive for what you get.
It is quite an old hotel but has been kept refreshed. The rooms are large with a balcony. Try to get a room on an upper floor with river views, the views of the river and city are spectacular and you will avoid the noise.
They serve a good buffet breakfast and will cook different eggs on request. Unfortunately they have changed the dinner over to buffet as well. They used to have a good menu in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floors with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you for your comments, just to let you know our hotel restaurant has reverted back to a la carte rather than buffet service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Perth
Sullivans Hotel
#33 of 66 in Perth
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#51 of 66 in Perth
154 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Perth

Address: 61 Canning Hwy, South Perth, Western Australia 6151, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > South Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Perth
Price Range: $83 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the Metro Hotel Perth. We are part of the Metro Hospitality Group, which is the longest 100% Australian owned and managed hotel chain in Australia. Our hotel in South Perth is located a few minutes' walk from the picturesque Swan River foreshore and only 10 minutes from the CBD of Perth. We are the only hotel in Perth to command sweeping views of the Swan River foreshore in the daytime and the city skyline in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing