We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Reviews Do Not Do This Hotel Justice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metro Hotel Perth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metro Hotel Perth
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Perth
Perth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Reviews Do Not Do This Hotel Justice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am really surprised at the reviews for Metro Hotel. My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights for my birthday and we absolutely loved it. The bed was HUGE and so comfortable! Check in was efficient and easy. The room was very spacious and had all the amenities you require. The best feature was a big balcony that opened out with views over the river and city.

The hotel was in such a great location. 5 mins from the Crowne Casino and 2 min walk to a bus line that takes you directly into the City.

I would recommend staying here. The rooms were big, clean and comfy. Don’t stay away because some of the reviews because I am so surprised they are not better!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I too am surprised by a lot of the negative comments made on trip advisor, many are not acurate and I am thrilled that you stayed with us and made your own assessment about the property and its facilities .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    140
    94
    31
    28
See reviews for
61
103
39
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The position of the hotel is good and reception staff were polite. The room was comfortable and the standard of cleanliness couldn't be faulted. Nice, without anything being exceptional. The only negative was that I thought it was a bit pricey for what you got.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your response, yes we are a far cheaper alternative than the Casino and our staff are very welcoming. Smaller hotels are often a much nicer alternative option. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Despite the poor reviews, my husband and I stayed here for one night on new years eve and we had a wonderful stay. With a fun night planned at the casino, initially we wanted to book a room at the Crown, but all the rooms were sold out. (well the rooms that we could afford anyway) So I looked up hotels close to the casino and came across this one. I made the booking very last minute (the morning of our stay) but we got a very good rate which we thought was exceptionally great value for money. To be honest the outside of the hotel could do with a bit of a make over, but inside it is lovely, very clean, modern and well presented. The two male front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the two ladies in the restaurant on new years day were very attentive and helpful. We would definitely stay there again. A great hotel if you are planning a night out at the casino, but want a cheaper alternative to staying at the Crown. A taxi to the casino from here costs around $10.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vons19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thankyou for your response. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Perth being Perth, everything is overpriced and average at best. This hotel was fine for a night, but not much around there and not as close to the city as I thought. Neat and tidy, pretty basic, good enough. Was over $200 for the night, but then again it is Perth. Might stay again, but would be trying hard to get a better location...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

the reception staff on the weekend VERY rude..who would guess I was helping pay her wage. food in the so called restaurant was cold and not fit to eat...should be a outback diner. pool out of order...heard words that is was the case for a long period of time. Bar prices are over inflated we are not satying at the Crown or the Hilton.

Room Tip: Not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony10126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I am surprised that you felt the staff were rude, this is most definitely not our style . The pool was out of order for one week due to a refurbishment and we now have a lovely sparkling new pool. I agree that you were not staying at the Crown or the Hilton, these hotels are much more expensive than the Metro Hotel Perth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Perth hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you we're able to get a very cheap rate here you may consider staying otherwise forget it. I was on the 9th floor (which was apparently an upgrade) but other than the view - which was nice- there wasn't much going for it. Clearly they had tried to renovate the bathroom but sticking tiles over the top of other tiles in certain areas with lots of sealer doesn't really cut it.

The water pressure was terrible and the temperature kept fluctuating from hot then cold then hot again etc..... it took 3 goes to flush the toilet....obviously they have water issues....and the room was just not clean enough.

The staff were friendly at the front desk but nothing special so as I have said....very average.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Waverley, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I last stayed at this hotel 4/5 years ago. Since then the rooms have been refurbished and the lifts improved-its now a very good hotel -with a few reservations!! During my visit the pool was "out of bounds" -disappointing as Perth can get very hot. The Metro Hotel on Canning s pretty isolated from restaurants etc -there is a Thai restaurant about 5 minutes walk away , plus KFC , Hungrry Jack's , Mc Donalds etc are only 10 minutes walk away . The hotel has a restaurant/bar -both very expensive by East Coast Australia standards eg a porterhouse steak is about $40 which is 5 star restaurant standard -and the Metro restaurant isn't 5 star! Bar drinks are also 20% more expensive than Melbourne standards. Perhaps that's just Perth!!

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony overlooking the Swan River on the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jangeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Perth
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hyatt Regency Perth
#18 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Perth

Property: Metro Hotel Perth
Address: 61 Canning Hwy, South Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6151, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > South Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the Metro Hotel Perth. We are part of the Metro Hospitality Group, which is the longest 100% Australian owned and managed hotel chain in Australia. Our hotel in South Perth is located a few minutes' walk from the picturesque Swan River foreshore and only 10 minutes from the CBD of Perth. We are the only hotel in Perth to command sweeping views of the Swan River foreshore in the daytime and the city skyline in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Metro Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing