We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Metro Hotel Perth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metro Hotel Perth
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Perth
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

The hotel was clean, the rooms were spacious but the WiFi was wanting.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated just outside the city centre of Perth. Walking distance to a couple of eaterie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jamesbvallejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    155
    104
    33
    29
See reviews for
69
118
45
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I left my reservations for Perth accommodation to the night prior. Not a good idea and finished staying at the Metro. Signage off the main road showing where to park was not good.
Reception excellent. I was annoyed and vocal at having to pay a credit card surcharge of 2% (I think) on the room tariff of $249.00 for a standard room. I have NEVER had to pay such a charge before and this leaves distaste. Room 4/10. Very noisy A/C and facing the road (noisy).
Best part about the overnight visit was their restaurant (a steakhouse). Fabulous food - a little high in pricing, but well worth it. Wait staff pathetic. Food - 9/10 Service - 3/10 Cost - 7/10.
Value for money - not really, but was beggars choice.

Room Tip: Ensure your room does not face the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yeloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

The rooms are spacious,very clean with huge comfortable beds, balconies with a stunning view on the awesome skyline and Perth water. The staff is very friendly, breakfast is nice too. The only disadvantage is that the hotel is quite far away from the centre. However, Swan River is only 5 mins down the road if you want to go for a walk or a run.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdssalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

If you are going to stay at this hotel don't pay top dollar. We paid about $250 a night which is way too much for what you get. The rooms are very basic, the restaurant prices are sky high for the calibre of food and the staff really don't seem to think that the customers are important....and, to top it off, when we ordered some fresh milk so we could make coffee in the room we were charged $2.50 for a very small jug of milk! All in all, I wouldn't stay here again. If you do want to stay here ensure you get a rate commensurate with the standard of hotel and the level of service, Don't expect too much!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButtonsLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Perth hotels

Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed 3 nights during our visit to Perth with my wife and kid. Arrived at 1am, was greeted by friendly front desk staff. Lovely big and spacious room facing the river and CBD that is newly refurbished, and clean. There's room service, free parking, 24hr Mc Donald's and Cole's Express (inside Shell station) round the corner. Reasonably priced room, highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YongT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel was good to average. The rooms were ok and it was a bonus to have free movie channels unlike a lot of places that make you pay per movie. It is not close to shops bars clubs etc but I guess you get what you pay for and things are expensive in Perth. The staff were very friendly and genuine. Food is a bit overpriced but I hear this is quite common given the mining boom etc. I ordered room service - a pizza and chocolate mousse and it was delicious. The restaurant and bar are just plastic tables and chairs - quite standard.

No mini bar & It was annoying how sporadic their ability to sell alcohol was. If you fancy a drink after 10-11 pm and there is no one on staff with the right qualification to sell them you have to head out to the casino (which is quiite close by - 5 ins by taxi). I liked the fact there was a microwave, fridge and stove in my room (not all of them have this I hear - so on one night I got a few groceries and cooked for myself in front of a movie - great if you are that way inclined.

My bathroom was a bit crusty looking and the towel rail fell off. It's all a bit old looking and could do with a good refurb. All in all quite ok and I was on a work conference and told by a lot of people how hard it can be to get acomodation in Perth so I guess this place was not bad considering. I was on the side that had no view and the traffic was a it loud but nothing ear plugs can't fix.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed for 1-nite at this hotel on 15-Jan-2011 in Room 44. We booked a Superior Riverview room. We are 2 adults but they gave us a room that could sleep 4 adults comfortably. Our room consist of a double bed + 2 single beds. The room is large and has a balcony with great views of Perth CBD both during the day and nite. This hotel underwent renovation in 2009 therefore the rooms are now clean, modern and fresh. The rooms are now equipped with flat-screen TV. Free coffee and tea making facilities. Unfortunately, they charge for wifi internet access. However, the corridor is narrow and dark, which still reminds me of old hotels that were built in the 70s. The rooms looks much better than the building itself. I chose this hotel as it offers free parking and I thought it would be convenient as we will be coming in from Frementle on Canning Highway. Other hotels in the CBD area charge for parking. The hotel lobby is simple and small with a bar and restaurant. Overall, we had a smooth check-in and check-out at the hotel, a good overnite stay.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin-sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you, we always appreciate great feedback.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Perth
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Perth

Property: Metro Hotel Perth
Address: 61 Canning Hwy, South Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6151, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > South Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the Metro Hotel Perth. We are part of the Metro Hospitality Group, which is the longest 100% Australian owned and managed hotel chain in Australia. Our hotel in South Perth is located a few minutes' walk from the picturesque Swan River foreshore and only 10 minutes from the CBD of Perth. We are the only hotel in Perth to command sweeping views of the Swan River foreshore in the daytime and the city skyline in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing