We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guildford
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Rose and crown is one of the most beautiful places to stay around perth, staff are all excellent and the food was great, quiet and peaceful for a short business stay.
close the the train station so the city is only minutes away,
Try the salmon its to die for.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_b717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 295 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here last week on business and would not stay again.

The good news was that the staff are friendly and the location is good.

The bad news was that the charge was high for a room with no FOXTEL and the prices at the pub are a little on the 'wankish' side.

Having said that, there was a Pizza joint just down the road wanting to charge $30 for a Pizza!

The main thing was that I stayed in room 20 which has a paper thin wall which meant I was disturbed by the people next door coming in late and then waking early. Thankfully they did not get busy as I would have had a running commentary!!!

Secondary was that I was given 2 breakfast vouchers (included in the room price - but no option to deduct for non use) even though I was leaving on the 'red eye' and not able to use 1 and did not get around to using the other for the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Rose and Crown Hotel, in Guildford, went there for lunch on a sunday. Setting is wonderful, quite, leafy, clean, nice outdoor area. Complementary water, brought out constantly without having to ask, good customer service. Order Caesar salad, $22.00 nice, but certainly nothing special. Also order black and white liqune, with broome bugs, still looking for the bug we think it might of escaped of the plate, was also served with 2 prawns, while the dish was pleasant, it was a small serve and my husband was left still hungry. The chicken parme was very nice and a much better serve and well worth the money. While the service was good, and food all came out together, I would say it was overpriced for what we received. Would I return, yes, but not in a hurry.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froggyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went for lunch with my three cousins, service was adequate, the food was pretensious for pub food, the wine was nice. The puddings were good three out of four, but the bill was horrendous. Fish and chips for four, puds and a bottle of wine is not good value at £156. Yes I am English, I know about good pub food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I recently went to a function for my fathers 70th birthday at the Rose and Crown. It has a lovely atmosphere and would make a great location for a sunday session of drinking however the menu in the function facility needs improvement.
We had a choice of Steak, salmon and chicken salad.
The steak you only had the choice of having it medium. Not great for those who prefer their meat either well done or rare.
The salmon was a decent sized portion and probably the best of the three.
The chicken salad used what looked like processed chicken and had far too much basil leaves making the salad overpowered with basil.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

For a place of outstanding ambiance the food and service is terribly disappointing, we again persisted in supporting a "local" establishment and even our guests were appalled at the food and the service for what we were charged.
Anywhere is better than what you get here!

Room Tip: We dined and it was crap
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank HappyasaPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This place actually had me looking around for tv crew and hidden cameras.

It all started when I asked for a simple toast and bacon and a can/glass of coke. The waitress looked blankly and repeated "2 pieces of toast and some bacon?" Like she had no idea what it was. My girlfriend asked for an english breakfast tea and pancakes. I must admit that it didnt take long for the food to arrive.

First came the english breakfast tea; a little bitter and only one sashet of sugar with no obvious clue as to where to get more. I had to go find more sugar. My girlfriend's pankakes came out and seemed ok to start with until halfway through the first pancake she found them to be half cooked. She said it was like eating batter.

No for the real dramas! My plate arrived with 99% of the bacon rarer than rare and one small bacon eye with the rest of the bacon being fatty offcuts. Only one piece of unbutterd toast came instead of the two I asked for. It would have been ok if there was a little tub of butter to butter it with.

At this point I still hadn't received my coke. I reminded the waitress that I was still waiting for a coke and she hurried off to get it. A different waiter arived and presented "One diet pepsi". I said no and that I had asked for coke. He informed me with apology that they don't serve coke. I wouldn't have minded pepsi but letting me know would have been nice. I asked for a normal pepsi instead of the diet that I hadn't asked for. It took several times of repeating myself for it to register that I hadn't asked for diet. When it came out it was flat. As if things couldn't get worse.

This was a good chance for the Rose and Crown to get new regular customers because my girlfreind and I like to stick to somewhere good when we find it. We usually go to the cafe at Woodbridge House but that was closed due to a public function so we thought we would try the Rose and Crown instead because of its history and its look. As soon as we got there I should have realised that there must have been a reason for next to no-one being there. Cost us $35 to find out NOT to come back. It's such a shame because this place has the best potential. But the service and quality of the food left us with a bad taste in our mouths and we won't be coming back. Way to many mistakes all happened in less than 30 minutes. As we paid I was waiting for her to ask how the meal was. Obviously she knew not to. It will be back to Woodbridge for us from now on! Even a Bunnings sausage sizzzle would have been more enjoyable than this!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guildford
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ascot Serviced Apartments
3.5 mi away
International On The Water Hotel
2.7 mi away
Airport Apartments by Aurum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley
6.3 mi away
Swan Valley Oasis Resort
Swan Valley Oasis Resort
#1 of 2 in Henley Brook
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guildford River Retreat
Guildford River Retreat
#2 of 4 in Guildford
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: 105 Swan St, Guildford, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6055, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan Valley > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guildford
Price Range: $123 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rose & Crown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose & Crown Hotel is WA's most historic hotel and recognised by the National Trust as a significant historic landmark. Situated in leafy Guildford WA, surrounded by restaurants & on the doorstep to the Swan Valley wineries. The hotel has 28 3.5 motel units in its lodge and 4 boutique rooms within the hotel (some entry restrictions). The hotel & lodge have undergone a recent major renovation since being purchased in mid 2004 by the current owners operators Mark & Tracy Weber. In 2007 the hotel was selected by the Sunday Times as a tourism hotspot with the biggest beer garden in the city and two well known restaurants. The Rose & Crown Hotel is the ideal location for a stayover or outer city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your The Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel
The Rose Crown Hotel
Rose Crown Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing