We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room With No Key....”
Review of The Hollies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hollies
Ranked #1 of 3 Guildford B&B and Inns
WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Room With No Key....”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

As it was my wife's special 50th birthday, I thought I'd treat her to a special stay at what I thought was a special place, because we were married in Guildford. After reading reviews on Tripadvisor about 'The Hollies' it sounded like the perfect and tranquil place.

We made contact with the owner Judith who seemed very pleasant via email and over the telephone, however, upon our arrival things were much different!

Firstly, due to a birthday bash of friends and family gathering at King's Park, we decided to check in later, around 6pm. Upon arrival and after ringing the doorbell, we were told to going around the side through the carport which was a very tight squeeze due to 2 luxury cars parked and about 40cm of room to squeeze by them carrying our luggage plus presents! I even said to Judith that I may struggle getting through there and was puzzled why we were not taken through the house to the glorified granny flats at the back!

Secondly, when we did get to the beautifully landscaped garden at the rear and to the rooms, my wife asked Judith where the key was to lock the room as we needed to go out for dinner localy and ensure our belonging were safe, however Judith did not know or realise that the door key had been taken by the previous guests back to Perth and had not checked this and did not have a spare key for us which is very surprising, but what surprised us the most was her attitude which was quite awkward and cold when we asked about the key and actually said to my wife that "well you can leave now then and find other accomodation"!! We were agasp! She did reassure us that the room would be safe, but we felt that wasn't really good enough and we certainly were not impressed with the reception we recieved during our stay.

The room was nicely layed out and decorated but the air con was humming all night and the shower recess leaked out into the rest of the bathroom and there was not even a vacuum fan.

Apart from all that the bed was very good and the surroundings were pleasant, but sadly the service didn't match.

The continental breakfast satisfactory, but we have stayed in cheaper B&B's which supply a generous hot cooked breakfast with fresh coffee and juices. So overall 'The Hollies' was not what we expected. The only consilation was that after my wife asking for a discount upon payment, she was given a $40 discount because of no key supplied.

We expect a B&B to be warm, friendly and homely and sadly this B&B lacks that, and it is also sad that there was not a chance of social interaction with the owners of which we have enjoyed elsewhere in WA.

Not recommended.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Grassface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
36
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beautifully decorated bedroom and lovely bathroom, set in showpiece lawns and gardens. But surprisingly for a B&B that rates itself as 4 stars, we returned to an unmade bed and unserviced bathroom day after day for the duration of our stay. Dirty plates were even left on our table and small touches like replacing a box of kleenex that was finished on our first morning was never attended to.

Light sleepers wanting a very peaceful stay should also be aware that this property is in the flightpath and planes from Perth airport fly very low overhead.

There is more to looking after guests than bringing in breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank restlessandhungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Oh my gosh, we cant stop thinking about this place!! From the moment you arrive, you know you are in for something truly special!! We were met by the lovely housekeeper (we arrived late into Perth on a Saturday evening) who assisted us to the back of the property where the 2 rooms are located. Before the door to our room had even been opened, I was already lost for words - the beautiful gardens, lighting and outdoor furniture is magical. Then you walk into this gorgeous, boutique style room (agreed with a previous review - its a country/french provincial style). Everything is meticulous, clean and super comfortable. After a very restful sleep, a soft knock on the door alerted to us to our continental breakfast (at exactly the time we had asked for). It was almost too pretty to eat! Croissants with fresh preserves, fruit salad and yoghurt, muesli and juice. I honestly didnt think it could have gotten any better until we got a visit from the gorgeous Homer and Pippa (the 2 x King Charles Cavalier pups). Pippa wasnt one for too much socialising but Homer loved to pop into our room have a little pat and cuddle every so often and then went on his merry way. What I truly loved the most about The Hollies however was the way you are given complete privacy to come and go as you please (unlike alot of other B&B's we have stayed in). This place is just amazing and I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this to any of my family or friends (which we have done) who are looking for something really special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyLouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The Hollies has two rooms to offer, one with lounge, one which is simply an en suite room. The garden is beautiful and superbly maintained, the linens and decor outstanding, the setting could not be better. Our host, Judith, left us to our own devices and was not at all intrusive. The continental breakfast consisting of muesli, yoghurt, fresh fruit, croissant, was delivered to the room at the stated time and was delicious.

However, this was billed as a four star establishment and at $170 a night did not, in my view, offer value for money. The beds were not made during the day for us, there was no room key, we had to ask for our breakfast plates from the previous morning to be washed, the tea sachets were not replenished, and overall we did not receive 4 star service.

Nevertheless, The Hollies is situated in Guildford which is a very historic part of WA and the gateway to the Swan Valley and the wineries. A great location from which to visit a fantastic area. A welcome pack would also have been most welcome.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My sister and I spent a night at The Hollies last year. We absolutely enjoyed the character house and hospitality of Judith the host. She made us nice breakfast and gave us an umbrella when we left on a rainy day. We are looking forward to go back and visit again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A unique experience with a french provincial flavour. It was so peaceful and inviting, you could forget you were in a big city! Beautiful garden and surroundings in which you really could relax. Thanks Judith- we loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0eding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a beautiful stay at the Hollies, just pulling up the drive way made me feel peace and being English I also felt a little piece of home was right in front of us.
The gardens are really beutiful and so are the rooms. We stayed in both room and enjoyed both just as much. The Director of greetings - Homer was also a welcome visitor for us, a beautiful little King Charles Spaniel.
The decor in the rooms is lovely, good bathroom and the breakfast in the morning was really refreshing and healthy, loved it, it was a real treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guildford
0.3 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Guildford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.9 mi away
Airport Apartments
Airport Apartments
#1 of 3 in Redcliffe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Guildford River Retreat
Guildford River Retreat
#2 of 3 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Perth Vineyards
9.4 mi away
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley
2.5 mi away
Kellers Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies

Property: The Hollies
Address: 5 Swan Street, Guildford, Swan Valley, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan Valley > Guildford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing