We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hide at Mt Franklin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hide at Mt Franklin
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“The Hide at Mt Franklin”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The Hide is a peaceful retreat for nature lovers, artists and those seeking time away from the outside world. Up-to-the-minute furnishings in a minimalist style, with a Ned Kelly heater for warmth. Drifted off to sleep with frog chorus, and stars through the window for company; woke to see geese and kangaroos browsing on the grass near my door. Well-stocked kitchenette with fridge, all immaculately clean. Also pet friendly for small, well-behaved pets.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BetteMidlervictoria, Owner at The Hide at Mt Franklin, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thanks so much for your review and also clarifying some of your responses. We are pleased you have chosen to return to stay with us again for another extended stay. We feel it is important to explain to potential guests that you stayed with us for an extended time not just a weekend and that you drove frequently to Daylesford and Melbourne which influenced the score you gave us for location. Our location has been the main attraction for the majority of our guests looking for an escape from the city, peace and tranquility, as indicated by the reviews we have received on TripAdvisor, Stayz and our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apollo Bay
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2011

An imaginative vision turned into an aesthetic & charming reality, with horses, geese, birds & ducks to keep you company – and a circle of trees around you. A little gem of a retreat. We will be back. Willie B Apollo Bay

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Willie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

"What a treat! Fantastic surrounds, beautifully finished and appointed, a supremely comfortable bed!! This won’t be a “Hide” for long when word gets out. We’ll be back. Thanks Sue and Lisa. John M and John H"

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilysuncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Very comfortable, stylish accommodation. Wonderful to see the kangaroos and cows right outside in the morning. Beautiful landscape, especially the striking Mt Franklin, Wood heater was the highlight of our visit – so fabulous in the middle of winter.
The option to stay until late Sunday afternoon is an excellent bonus.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BolandConsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BetteMidlervictoria, Owner at The Hide at Mt Franklin, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you Jessica for your review. We are glad we could provide you with the last minute weekend away you were looking for. We're finding so many of our guests are using The Hide @ Mt Franklin as an escape from the usual work and city stresses. The beauty of our property is that you feel like you are away from it all - peace, quiet, privacy and yet you are only a short drive from all that Daylesford and surrounds have to offer. We hope to see you and Shaun back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Franklin
5.7 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#1 of 5 in Daylesford
391 reviews
3.4 mi away
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
421 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hepburn at Hepburn
Hepburn at Hepburn
#1 of 12 in Hepburn Springs
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
65 Main
65 Main
#3 of 11 in Hepburn Springs
219 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shizuka Ryokan Japanese Country Spa Retreat
Shizuka Ryokan Japanese Country ...
#1 of 11 in Hepburn Springs
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hide at Mt Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hide at Mt Franklin

Property: The Hide at Mt Franklin
Address: 205 Sawpit Gully Rd, Mount Franklin, Hepburn Springs, Victoria 3461, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Hepburn Springs > Mount Franklin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hide offers the best in holiday accommodation with ready access to all of the Central Goldfields amazing activities whether it be pampering, indulging, touring or taking in the natural wonders it offers. A mob of kangaroos regularly visit the property. A studio with kitchen means you have all of the privacy and independence you want. The tariff is $195 per night for two on weekends plus $45 per extra person and $165 per night for two plus $45 per extra person per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hide at Mt Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing