We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroaches on bed; dishonest staff; delightfully good food”
Review of Negash Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Negash Lodge
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cockroaches on bed; dishonest staff; delightfully good food”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Upon arrival, we were told that our reservation was not recorded.

The front staff quickly proceed to sell us the most expensive room. We noted that there were several other keys and empty slots in their register. They claimed that these rooms were non-operational.

Went to the most expensive room (double tiered). Only to find spiders and all sorts of insects all over the bed room. Silver fish under the pillow (it appeared the room had not been used for a long time). They had someone come and clean up while we ate dinner.

Upon returning from dinner, we found a medium sized cockroach in our bed with other interesting insects. We immediately marched over to the front desk. Oddly, the front desk staff had changed and this group took us to a mid-tier room which had "always been available". Quite a few insects in there. We asserted we wanted a room near the dining hall (which happens to be the cheapest room). Lo and behold, they have a room available there too.

The night was a torment - there was dozens of mosquitoes in the room and more coming in because of an improperly closing door. Myself and family stayed up almost all night.


The restaurant had good food. From what we heard this was the best that Walisso had to offer


Tips for you: book ahead and book the cheapest room. Their premium rooms are insect motels. Make sure your door room closes - otherwise the mosquitoes will have their way with you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McKConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    36
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
16
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Negash Lodge seems to be the place to stay for visits to Wenchi Crater. Like other reviewers, I was a bit surprised by the close to town location. However, the grounds a lush and peaceful (with the exception of the morning prayer calls!) Still, the well-tended grounds have an interesting history during the times of the empire and the Derg as well. There are a number of rooms in an small court yard. However, I'd recommend the rooms that are in small out-buildings. These small out-buildings are all modeled after houses in different parts of Ethiopia. We stayed in the Afar building which was quite comfortable. The rooms have toilet/sink and a large shower. While it did take a few frightening minutes to determine whether we had hot water or not, the shower was very pleasant.

The rooms were rustic but nice. The beds were nothing special even though the rooms have laminated cards explaining how high quality the beds are. They are not. We also found two fleas. That does happen from time to time but there was certainly no infestation (and we washed EVERYTHING before permitting any clothing into our home!)

The restaurant serves very good food though it is quite pricey by Ethiopian standards. I guess that they feel that they can do that since there are really no other great options in Giyon - at least no ones that we saw.

So - fine print. The breakfast buffet is great - but we only saw it upon check in. We were told that they only run the buffet if there are more than 20 guests in the hotel. That's certainly not something that an average guest can know. Also, we were told that the hot springs pools were drained every night and filled every morning. However, it seems that they are not filled at all except on weekends. NOTE: While week days cost the same, there are some key services that are not offered. It's not serious but a bit frustrating.

The drive to Wenchi is a straight shot down the road that is labeled "Ambo 64km" but it can be quite muddy during the rainy season. I don't recommend trying that road unless you are in a 4x4 with some decent clearance. Otherwise, it was a wonderful experience!! Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSTrip_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great restaurant, a variety of simple rooms based on indigenous regional architecture, resident troops of monkeys. Hot spring fed swimming pool. and a great jumping off point for Wenche Crater and the western reaches of the Ethiopian Highlands.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the Sidamo or Dorze houses, wonderful bamboo architecture..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a good location in terms of accessing it from Addis via a pleasant 2 hour jaunt. The food is fair though the service is woeful. I spent two nights there with my wife, 2 kids and father who was out visiting. We stayed in Tigray 1 and 2 which were nice buildings. The drama came when we were awoken on the 2nd night by the sound of rustling and scratching. Upon investigation (by my fearless wife) the source of the noise duly presented itself as a giant rat flew out of the wardrobe and scaled the walls. Suffice to say the rest of the night was a largely sleepless affair. The pool was great for the kids and they also enjoyed the kids playground area. I would go back but would thoroughly investigate for rats ahead of finalising on room selection.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDPinAA-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Most of the rooms are in buildings scattered around lovely landscaped grounds teeming with birds and monkeys (mostly vervet and some colobus), that gives the impression of being out in the middle of nowhere although you are really on the edge of town. Individual buildings are mostly duplex units (divided into two rooms) but well separated and very quiet (there is one apartment-style building). Our room was Amhara 3. The room itself is not particularly large but there is an adequately sized albeit long and narrow en suite bathroom. Toilet and sink were fine, but we had lukewarm water at best, no matter how long we ran the water. The grounds include a delightful tree bar (apparently only open on the weekends), a swimming pool fed by hot springs (may be only open at night as it was being filled in the morning when we looked at it), and an excellent restaurant that served one of the best western-style meals we had in Ethiopia (ravioli in tomato cream sauce). They served a reasonable buffet breakfast and packed a very nice tuna sandwich for our lunch the next day. Wenchi Crater is a reasonable day excursion from here via rather rough dirt roads and the trip back to Addis is only a couple of hours on a paved road. I bumped my rating up a bit from the overall average because the grounds were so nice and for the amenities (tree bar, hot pool) we could have enjoyed if we had just been there at the right time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DivineMissMaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau, Hessen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My travel agent in Ethiopia recommended this lodge for a short stay while hiking at the nearby crater lake. Looking at other reviews, I had the impression that this lodge would be in a somewhat remote area. In fact, it's located in Giyon town (2 hours from Addis down a highway), at the end of a fairly normal-looking city street. My driver explained that it was built as a retreat for the Emperor, then used by the Derg to entertain state visitors, and then finally privatized and turned into a lodge. So this explains why there is a forested lodge in the middle of a town.

The service was just OK here, nothing to write home about but nothing bad either. Food was excellent. The rooms were fine, but the hot water was lukewarm at best - a little surprising given the non-remote location. Beds were the standard 2" foam mattress atop hard boards, despite the fancy labeling.

I didn't have a chance to try the outdoor pool and the indoor one was closed during my stay. The monkeys are pretty neat, though be very diligent about latching your door and not leaving things outside - they are mischievous. You may want to avoid even eating fruit outside lest they attack you.

The pricing was high for what you get, but the location is neat and fairly convenient to the crater. Service was fine and the food was good. I wouldn't recommend here as its own trip but it would be a fine stopover on the way to somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 404PeterB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carouge, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Beautiful setting in a nice garden full of trees, flowers and monkeys. The reception staff is very helpfull and the restaurant in the garden has great food and friendly staff but the ones at the breakfast room could improve their service. We stayed in 2 different rooms, both very clean; the room attached to the main courtyard is simple without any specific charm and one of the traditional bungalow was much better as for the atmosphere...But in general we would advise the hotel to revise the sinks and showers as one was not functioning and the other ones was not well fixed on the wall.The other But is the breakfast and especially the coffee...ethiopian coffee is usually excellent but the one served in the breakfast room isn't that great... One advise: ask for an expresso or a macchiato at the bar instead. You will have to pay for it extra, but its worthwhile....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Negash Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negash Lodge

Property: Negash Lodge
Address: Main Road | Wolliso, Giyon, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Oromiya Region > Giyon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Giyon
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Negash Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negash Hotel Giyon
Negash Lodge Ethiopia/Giyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing