We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabolous stay :D”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nordre Ekre Gardshotell
Ranked #1 of 2 Nedre Heidal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lillestrom, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabolous stay :D”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here to walk bessegen, it was absolutely the closest to perfect you can get. They even opened the breakfast earlier for us so we could catch the boat. Stayed to nights, and the food was homemade all the way, and im going back this summer to walk bessegen again :D

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamillaWiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
64
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in the Pink room, for 3 nights in late August 2013.

The Pink Room is situated in a building with 4 rooms – 2 on ground, 2 on first floor. Pink being on the first floor. The room was beautiful – the bed was wonderfully comfortable and warm, and you just sink into it. The room was spacious enough for our luggage. The bathroom had a nice shower - hot, modern with good pressure. Free Wifi was available from our room - reliable and good speeds. We also had a kettle with teas and coffee in our room.

Breakfast was served in the main building where the restaurant is located, there was so much on offer in terms of cheeses, meats, breads, eggs, and other condiments. Make sure you try the local cheese – its amazing. Hot eggs are also offered. There was juices, cereals and yoghurts. We were heading off very early one morning to do some hiking and so would miss breakfast – however, our hosts prepared some cheese, breads, jams, and a cafeterie of coffee for us to make ourselves in the morning. It was perfect.

The restaurant –for the quality of the food, and considering it is Norway, it was actually relatively good value. I would recommend dining there at least one night. The food is wonderful, fresh, home cooked, with a good dose of flair. Service was excellent.

There is also a guest lounge type building which has lounges, books, and a Nespresso machine.

Location – we drove from Oslo airport which took 3 or 4 hours. In the near vicinity there was a tiny town (Heidal), with a small Kiwi store (convenience) but was closed when we tried to go there. The next nearest town on the way into Heidal (from Oslo) with a large supermarket I think was Vinstra – about 20 mins away.

What to do – we drove to Jotenheimen National Park and hiked the Bessengen trail – an beautiful hike.

I would recommend this place to everyone. Note that the building we stayed in has wooden flooring and creaks a little when you move around, we tried to be as quiet as possible so to not disturb our neighbours, but you may have a bit of noise of people moving around depending on whether your neighbours are noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KillBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oyvind-johansen, Eier at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thanks’ for taking the time to leave a review. We highly appreciate that you share your experience with other travellers. Hope to see you again in Heidal.

Best Regards
Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place offers an amazing combination of culture, atmosphere and great dining. The hosts are friendly and forthcomming and we had a great stay during our weekend here in September 2013. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verdenvilbedras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed only one night, but had a great stay. We had the blue room, which was very nice, with a view of the little valley and river on one side, and the other houses on the other. The rooms are in different small houses which are all old timber farm buildings, but with all creature comforts like modern bathroom and wifi. The bathroom was a little small, but the fact that they had been able to fit them in the old houses at all was surprising, as you would never have guessed from the outside that there was anything modern at all in there.
The beds were good, and the towels had a lovely fresh scent.

We had dinner in the restaurant, which was fantastic. I don't think you could get a meal like this for many many miles around. If you are traveling in the area, Nordre Ekre is definitely worth a big detour.

We also had a dog with us, which was no problem at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElisabethOlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oyvind-johansen, Eier at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us, we are glad you had a nice stay in “the blue” room.
Hope to see you again when you are in the area.

Best regards
Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This farm/hotel is everything all the other reviewers have said--and it's even prettier than the photos show. Rustic and modern all at the same time, the cabin rooms are large, well furnished with homely (in the best sense) furniture and everything you might need from WiFi to to a reading light. The walls are logs, some of the roofs are sod, the beds are "boxes." Falling asleep, amid ample pillows and listening to the rumble of the river outside was almost narcotic.

It's obvious that the owners take great pride in providing thoughtfully for their guests. We got extra cheese with our dinner, a hug from our waitress, and a lovely meal to boot! The wines were well paired with our meal. The dessert was very good indeed and the bread! The bread!

It's raining today, so I suppose the mountain views are NOT waiting for us--wish I could just settle down here and soak up the atmosphere and gaze at the green, green fields and pine-covered hillsides!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jagggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oyvind-johansen, Eier at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and especially our homemade bread. Hope to see you again next time in Norway.

Best regards
Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Such an enchanting place - a hotel on a working farm that dates back to the 1600s, and has all boxes ticked to deserve my five star rating: genuinely welcoming and hospitable hosts, charming individually decorated rooms/cabins, superb food prepared using largely local ingredients (best meals we had on our trip, by a mile), and a picturesque setting in a valley beside a river. We hope to return one day and I would certainly recommend it to others who plan to explore the western fjord region.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seamus44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oyvind-johansen, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thanks for Your visit, and for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Barthelemy, FWI
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were warmly welcome and shown to our suite in a cute doll house style cabin. It was a little suite, antique decoration and comfortable sofa and bed. Great quality bedding, all the amenities possible in a shower bathroom, bathrobe and slippers.
It even had old family pictures which were really interested and showed the local culture.
We really appreciated the combination on modern, comfortable with the kept charm of the old farm.
The dinner was excellent, all with local fresh ingredients. The breakfast was the best of our trip with farmed local cheeses, organic eggs, moose sausage and everything you could imagine or desire.
The hotel is set on a little hill over a river, beautiful spectacle of nature.
Lovely experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oyvind-johansen, Eier at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We know many of our guests reed reviews before booking a room, and we highly appreciate when our guests take time to review us. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Best regards
Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nedre Heidal
6.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Otta
Thon Hotel Otta
#1 of 2 in Otta
83 reviews
15.2 mi away
Peer Gynt Hotel & Spiseri
1.7 mi away
Heidal Hotel
Heidal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nedre Heidal
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Lemonsjoe Fjellstue & Hyttegrend
19.4 mi away
Kvila Turistheim
Kvila Turistheim
#1 of 1 in Garmo
23 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rondane Hoeyfjellshotell
Rondane Hoeyfjellshotell
#1 of 1 in Mysuseter
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordre Ekre Gardshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordre Ekre Gardshotell

Property: Nordre Ekre Gardshotell
Address: Heidalsvegen 1265, Nedre Heidal 2677, Norway (Formerly Nordre Ekre)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Nedre Heidal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nedre Heidal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nordre Ekre Gardshotell 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run farm hotel, awarded with Tripadvisor Travelers` Choice in 2013,2014,2015 and 2016 is located in Heidal, midway between Oslo and Trondheim, and in the way to Geiranger and the fjords. The authentic country courtyard with timber buildings dates back to 1700s, and the farm has roots all the way back to the iron Age. The popular restaurant is located in a converted cow shed, and offers all homemade food, with local ind international ingredients alog side each other. The hotel offers both luxurious junior suites with romantic four poster beds, as well as standard rooms with in suite bathrooms. All rooms features a flat screen TV and free wireless internet connection. Enjoy a complimentary espresso in the library lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nordre Ekre Gardshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordre Ekre Gardshotell Norway/Nedre Heidal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing