We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet, great food and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nordre Ekre Gardshotell
Ranked #1 of 2 Nedre Heidal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sometimes China, usually Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet, great food and excellent service”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

If you'd like to stay at a historical place with a lot of character, you could do so much worse than Nordre Ekre. This farm hotel is run by a husband and wife team, who'll greet you by shaking your hand and introducing themselves to you. This is the kind of place this is: it's atmospheric and really pleasant.

The buildings are mostly from the 1700s and 1800s, but the interior is more eclectic. There is both a common room if you feel like socialising, and some of the hotel rooms also come with the option of a shared kitchen. The room I stayed in had its own bathroom, but I don't know if this is the case of all the rooms. Check ahead when booking!

Both of the owners are trained chefs, and so the food at this hotel is simply amazing. The price for a three course meal isn't that bad compaired to other upscale restaurants in Norway either. If you don't have time to stay overnight at Nordre Ekre, you should go just for the food!

The only downside to this hotel is that because it's located in such a remote place, you'll need some sort of transportation to get you there. If you get in touch with the owners before going, though, they'll advice you on the best modes of transportation.

To sum up: the food at Nordre Ekre is great, the place itself is brilliant and the hosts are wonderful. I'd recommend this place to anyone, and I'll be visiting again too.

Room Tip: If you stay at the pink room like I did, you get access to a kitchen. This room is also fitted with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolyHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Øyvind J, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we highly appreciate your feedback.
For those who wonder if there are bathrooms in every room: There is, however one of our rooms, “the attic” in a 18th century storehouse, has got a private bathroom in the open air hallway. This hallway is typical for these old storehouses. The rest has got ensuite bathrooms.
Regards
Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
58
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dombas, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Amazing place in Heidal, Norway. Well-kept traditional wooden buildings, hospitable owners and amazing food. Even has a small store, selling local products including their own jam in different varieties.

Room Tip: above the store
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josvar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind words:)
Regards Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Beautifully situated, great food, lovely rooms and outstanding service!!:))We would love to come back and we would absolutely recommend this place for everyone:)

Room Tip: Loved the beautiful yellow room. Lovely decorated, spaceous and great bed and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dharmalivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers.
Regards
Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

It is rare that my husband and I stay at a hotel and cannot find fault with something but that is the case with Nordre Ekre Farm. After staying here we wished we had booked other farm hotels. Everything about our stay was excellent. We chose Nordre Ekre because we wanted to be in a convenient location for the start of the Besseggen Ridge hike (the location is ideal). Everything has been beautifully designed and carefully maintained in this centuries old farm. The room was spacious with its own bathroom and high quality linens and facilities. The dining room in the main farmhouse, with its open fireplace, was a perfect setting for the amazing gourmet food that our hosts (and trained chefs), Øyvind & Marit, made for us. Breakfast and dinner were an culinary joy. Øyvind & Marit ensure that every aspect of a stay at their home is perfect.
There is nothing that we can find fault with. The only problem is that we had such a wonderful experience at Nordre Ekre that we were disappointed by every hotel we went to after that!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMOsborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Øyvind J, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Wow! Thanks all for reviewing Nordre Ekre and for sharing your experiences with other travelers.

We are both exited and humble by all the great reviews, and highly value these responses and feedbacks. We believe you are making a visit to us even better for others, by helping us to see both what is good and what could be better.

Best regards
Øyvind & Marit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My only regret is that we arrived in the evening, left the next morning, and didn't have more time to explore! It was so amazing to stay in a centuries-old farm building in such a beautiful location. And the food was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98elizabethd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is as luxurious as a stay at a "farm hotel" can be. Lovely, spacious rooms. Beds of good quality. Beautiful surroundings. Gourmet food like you get at very nice restaurants in big cities. Service minded hosts. Plenty of activities ver nearby (river rafting, mountain hiking, glacier walking, visiting historical sites and buildings etc.) Perfect for romantic getaways. They also have family rooms. A bit quiet for for friends going on a trip together, maybe, as they only have about six rooms. There are never many guests there. Perfect for business arrangements.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merethe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at Nodre Ekre hotel for 2 nights in July 2011 and really loved the quaint setting, great service, attention to detail and delicious food. My daughter and husband loved the white water rafting trip on the Sjoa river and I loved the relaxing afternoon sitting in the library nursing my broken wrist listening to the sound of the river in the background. The high speed internet was also very much appreciated. Definately a place to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DitaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nedre Heidal
6.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Otta
Thon Hotel Otta
#1 of 2 in Otta
77 reviews
1.7 mi away
Heidal Hotel
Heidal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nedre Heidal
13 reviews
9.8 mi away
Lemonsjoe Fjellstue & Hyttegrend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Per Gynt Lodge
Per Gynt Lodge
#2 of 3 in Vinstra
2 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rondane Hoeyfjellshotell
Rondane Hoeyfjellshotell
#1 of 1 in Mysuseter
74 reviews
19.4 mi away
Kvila Turistheim
Kvila Turistheim
#1 of 1 in Garmo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordre Ekre Gardshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordre Ekre Gardshotell

Property: Nordre Ekre Gardshotell
Address: Heidalsvegen 1265, Nedre Heidal 2677, Norway (Formerly Nordre Ekre)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Nedre Heidal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nedre Heidal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nordre Ekre Gardshotell 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run farm hotel, awarded with Tripadvisor Travelers` Choice in 2013,2014,2015 and 2016 is located in Heidal, midway between Oslo and Trondheim, and in the way to Geiranger and the fjords. The authentic country courtyard with timber buildings dates back to 1700s, and the farm has roots all the way back to the iron Age. The popular restaurant is located in a converted cow shed, and offers all homemade food, with local ind international ingredients alog side each other. The hotel offers both luxurious junior suites with romantic four poster beds, as well as standard rooms with in suite bathrooms. All rooms features a flat screen TV and free wireless internet connection. Enjoy a complimentary espresso in the library lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Nordre Ekre Gardshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordre Ekre Gardshotell Norway/Nedre Heidal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing