We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nordre Ekre Gardshotell
Nearby Hotels
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vaga Hotel(Vagamo)
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
116
17
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
17
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnordre ekreexcellent staycomfortnorwayaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 135 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My only regret is that we arrived in the evening, left the next morning, and didn't have more time to explore! It was so amazing to stay in a centuries-old farm building in such a beautiful location. And the food was excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 98elizabethd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is as luxurious as a stay at a "farm hotel" can be. Lovely, spacious rooms. Beds of good quality. Beautiful surroundings. Gourmet food like you get at very nice restaurants in big cities. Service minded hosts. Plenty of activities ver nearby (river rafting, mountain hiking, glacier walking, visiting historical sites and buildings etc.) Perfect for romantic getaways. They also have family rooms. A bit quiet for for friends going on a trip together, maybe, as they only have about six rooms. There are never many guests there. Perfect for business arrangements.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merethe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at Nodre Ekre hotel for 2 nights in July 2011 and really loved the quaint setting, great service, attention to detail and delicious food. My daughter and husband loved the white water rafting trip on the Sjoa river and I loved the relaxing afternoon sitting in the library nursing my broken wrist listening to the sound of the river in the background. The high speed internet was also very much appreciated. Definately a place to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DitaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed from Friday till Sunday, as a celebration of our 9th wedding anniversary. Everything, from the warm welcome, the very nice rooms to the excellent food, was up to a very high standard.

Also, we did a hike just 10 minutes drive from the hotel. It was excellent hiking terrain, and from the peak of Heidalsmuen, you can see an incredible number of high mountains and glaciers.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanFranciscoFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a really nice place in a really nice valley. We stayed in the attic (Stabbursloftet), which dates back to 1750. The room had a remarkable atmosphere and a lot of space. They pay attention to all the tiny details that you expect to find in a high class hotel. The only thing that could have been better was the mattresses, which appeared as rather simple foam rubber mattresses.

Nordre Ekre is located right next to the famous river Sjoa, and Sjoa Rafting is only 5 minutes away.

The food was excellent. But the serving was a bit slow, so make sure you are not too hungry before dinner because that might leave you a bit frustrated, even though the food is worth waiting for.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Øyvind J, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we highly appreciate your feedback.
In this room (the attic) we have now, after reading your review, removed one of the bunk beds and installed a large double bed, providing a more comfortable night’s sleep for our guests.

Regards
Øyvind & Marit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews