We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Round Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nordre Ekre Gardshotell
Ranked #1 of 2 Nedre Heidal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2011

It is rare that my husband and I stay at a hotel and cannot find fault with something but that is the case with Nordre Ekre Farm. After staying here we wished we had booked other farm hotels. Everything about our stay was excellent. We chose Nordre Ekre because we wanted to be in a convenient location for the start of the Besseggen Ridge hike (the location is ideal). Everything has been beautifully designed and carefully maintained in this centuries old farm. The room was spacious with its own bathroom and high quality linens and facilities. The dining room in the main farmhouse, with its open fireplace, was a perfect setting for the amazing gourmet food that our hosts (and trained chefs), Øyvind & Marit, made for us. Breakfast and dinner were an culinary joy. Øyvind & Marit ensure that every aspect of a stay at their home is perfect.
There is nothing that we can find fault with. The only problem is that we had such a wonderful experience at Nordre Ekre that we were disappointed by every hotel we went to after that!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMOsborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Øyvind J, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Wow! Thanks all for reviewing Nordre Ekre and for sharing your experiences with other travelers.

We are both exited and humble by all the great reviews, and highly value these responses and feedbacks. We believe you are making a visit to us even better for others, by helping us to see both what is good and what could be better.

Best regards
Øyvind & Marit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 134 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

My only regret is that we arrived in the evening, left the next morning, and didn't have more time to explore! It was so amazing to stay in a centuries-old farm building in such a beautiful location. And the food was excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 98elizabethd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is as luxurious as a stay at a "farm hotel" can be. Lovely, spacious rooms. Beds of good quality. Beautiful surroundings. Gourmet food like you get at very nice restaurants in big cities. Service minded hosts. Plenty of activities ver nearby (river rafting, mountain hiking, glacier walking, visiting historical sites and buildings etc.) Perfect for romantic getaways. They also have family rooms. A bit quiet for for friends going on a trip together, maybe, as they only have about six rooms. There are never many guests there. Perfect for business arrangements.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merethe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at Nodre Ekre hotel for 2 nights in July 2011 and really loved the quaint setting, great service, attention to detail and delicious food. My daughter and husband loved the white water rafting trip on the Sjoa river and I loved the relaxing afternoon sitting in the library nursing my broken wrist listening to the sound of the river in the background. The high speed internet was also very much appreciated. Definately a place to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DitaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed from Friday till Sunday, as a celebration of our 9th wedding anniversary. Everything, from the warm welcome, the very nice rooms to the excellent food, was up to a very high standard.

Also, we did a hike just 10 minutes drive from the hotel. It was excellent hiking terrain, and from the peak of Heidalsmuen, you can see an incredible number of high mountains and glaciers.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanFranciscoFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a really nice place in a really nice valley. We stayed in the attic (Stabbursloftet), which dates back to 1750. The room had a remarkable atmosphere and a lot of space. They pay attention to all the tiny details that you expect to find in a high class hotel. The only thing that could have been better was the mattresses, which appeared as rather simple foam rubber mattresses.

Nordre Ekre is located right next to the famous river Sjoa, and Sjoa Rafting is only 5 minutes away.

The food was excellent. But the serving was a bit slow, so make sure you are not too hungry before dinner because that might leave you a bit frustrated, even though the food is worth waiting for.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Øyvind J, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we highly appreciate your feedback.
In this room (the attic) we have now, after reading your review, removed one of the bunk beds and installed a large double bed, providing a more comfortable night’s sleep for our guests.

Regards
Øyvind & Marit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Inventive, lovely food, cosy historic rooms and surroundings. Great service. Only negative thing, there could have been larger portions of food (we were still a little hungry after three courses).

Room Tip: Get the downstairs one (bubblebath and fireplace)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GirlinNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Øyvind J, Owner at Nordre Ekre Gardshotell, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for posting a rewiev, we very much appriciate your feedback. Regarding the meal portions, we are now more aware of this, thanks to your feedback.

Regards
Øyvind & Marit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nordre Ekre Gardshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordre Ekre Gardshotell

Address: Heidalsvegen 1265, Nedre Heidal 2677, Norway (Formerly Nordre Ekre)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Nedre Heidal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nedre Heidal
Price Range: $200 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nordre Ekre Gardshotell 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run farm hotel, awarded with Tripadvisor Travelers` Choice in 2013,2014,2015 and 2016 is located in Heidal, midway between Oslo and Trondheim, and in the way to Geiranger and the fjords. The authentic country courtyard with timber buildings dates back to 1700s, and the farm has roots all the way back to the iron Age. The popular restaurant is located in a converted cow shed, and offers all homemade food, with local ind international ingredients alog side each other. The hotel offers both luxurious junior suites with romantic four poster beds, as well as standard rooms with in suite bathrooms. All rooms features a flat screen TV and free wireless internet connection. Enjoy a complimentary espresso in the library lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nordre Ekre Gardshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordre Ekre Gardshotell Norway/Nedre Heidal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing