We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Resort Surrounded by Forest Yet a Short Drive to the Sea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Evasion

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Evasion
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sarramea
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Delightful Resort Surrounded by Forest Yet a Short Drive to the Sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Pricey, but we were glad to visit. Professional and delightful, we enjoyed soaking up the ambience, enjoying beautiful food and relaxing after having driven for days around the island. The bungalow was very comfortable, we loved the bed and the views into the surrounding lush forest from the verandah.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank venusbathstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    81
    36
    23
    7
See reviews for
40
101
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was going to the hotel with a group and didn't know anything of the location or hotel (my first time in New Caledonia). I was surprised to see such nice and modern hotel in the middle of nowhere. The bungalow we got was spacious, clean and with a nice terrace to enjoy the surroundings. The bathroom had Hermes toiletries. Bungalow had internet access which is great and didn't happen in other hotels we stayed in in NC. Breakfast was quite basic ie croissants, pain au chocolat, bread, jam, yogurts, fruit, ham and cheese but good enough. The dinner at The Rock restaurant in the hotel was nice despite waiter being very weird (insisting on his own way of taking orders). There was nothing vegetarian on the menu but I asked for an omelette with veggies and had it made specially for me. The praline dessert was to die for! I would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose bungalow over a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophiaFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have fond memories of this hotel and was a bit wary to see in what ways it had changed, having read on one of the reviews here that changes were planned.

I can happily report that the changes are almost all good. Some wonderful improvements have been done to this hotel by the new owners. There is now a cafe at the back of the reception building overlooking the small stream that flows next to the hotel. The sound of that stream trickling at night is like a lullaby. There are now steps leading down from that cafe down to the stream and you can relax in the stream there.

There is a swimming pool in front of the restaurant that has been renovated. There is now a sauna under the case (thatched roof hut) overlooking the stream.

The bungalows near the stream are just gorgeous. Beautifully appointed with Hermes toiletries and all facing the stream.

The walk up to the Trou Feullet to swim in the crystal clear cove is now on the opposite side of the hotel and makes this trek so much easier.

Meals were excellent. The staff, in particular Phillippe, Angie and the waitress at the restaurant were just lovely and very accommodating.

The only thing I was not fond of was the red walls in the dining room in the restaurant. It seems too garish for such a tranquil environment. There was also a slight maintenance issue with our toilet but I brought it to the attention of the staff as we were leaving and it didn't affect our stay or I would have mentioned it earlier to them.

If you are looking for a serene, country stay outside of Noumea, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicgirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Beware the 'chambres' - they deserve a one star rating. Hidden from view up an unmarked road in bad condition, these rooms are plain indeed, and of course in true New Caledinian tradition, well over priced. It wouldnt take much to upgrade them, although they will always suffer from being a car journey to the hotel proper). Fixing this would probably mean consistent 4 and 5 star ratings.
As to 'how the other half lived' in the main hotel, that seems very pleasant indeed, with lovely river side bungalows, a nicely paved area leading to the restaurant and a pretty decent pool.
If we were to return it would be to stay in a bungalow, do some of the longer walks in the area, swim in the river pools and finish it off with dinner in the very good restaurant.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Globetrotter767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The restaurant is fantastic which is great given it is one of the only options available around. Best breakfast we've had in New Caledonia: hot, fresh pastries with freshly baked bread, yogurt and fruit salad!
The pool area is just magnificent, very luxurious and in the middle of the lush forest - great views. There is also a sauna available (first 15 min free). There are plenty of hikes you can do around the hotel.

The only negative is that the rooms are off center compared to the actual facilities of the hotel which was quite a surprise and a disappointment. It is no easy access either with the steep unsealed road to get from reception to the rooms (we punched a tire there!). You most probably will need a car to get up and down (definitely need the car to bring your luggage up). The bungalows however are right next to the pool, reception and restaurant so you don t get that "dumped out of nowhere" feeling.
The room's furniture was a bit dated but we had a good night sleep.

Would definitely go back but would opt for a bungalow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clauxmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

We wanted to get an inland view of New Caledonia, so we chose to stay here for a couple of nights. We were booked in to one of the 2 star rooms as the other bungalows were booked. The room was adequate. It was what we expected. We found that we were a bit bored though. We hiked up approx a kilometer to a natural pool which was beautiful, but that did not take long. We wanted to ride horses, but forgot to book ahead and they were all booked. This left us at the poolside. The pool is lovely, but it is not a place that I would hang out for any length of time. Our family is not one to get bored; but by 3 in the afternoon, we were out of activities. We found ourselves playing card games (we always travel with cards) Next time we visit N.C., we will spend our time at the beach at Il de Pin.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellers1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

I am sorry to read the previous comment about the rooms but in fact the bungalow where we spent one night was beautiful. Nice decoration, excellent cleanliness, very confortable bed, big bathroom and beautiful patio makes the accomodation superb!
All that surrounded by luxuriant vegetation and nature's sounds. The position is terrific and Serramea is beautiful. The only regret was that we stayed only one night!
Very good restaurant with brilliant service. Only breakfast was very essential compared to other hotels where we stayed in New Caledonia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CleoBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarramea
31.5 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Resort and Spa
21.5 mi away
Betikure Parc Lodge
Betikure Parc Lodge
#2 of 5 in Bourail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
59.5 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.4 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
60.1 mi away
Le Meridien Noumea
Le Meridien Noumea
#4 of 20 in Noumea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
146.4 mi away
Hotel Malabou Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Evasion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Evasion

Property: Hotel Evasion
Address: 2182 Village | PO 2182, Sarramea, Grand Terre 98882, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Sarramea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sarramea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Evasion 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel located in an exceptional natural setting, with individual accommodation in the form of bungalows along the river. In a very quiet area, the hotel offers access to its swimming pool and restaurant. At the heart of the Parc des Grandes Fougères, a perfect setting for relaxation and an ideal starting point for walks or riding in the primary forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Evasion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing