We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“total relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Seddon B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A unique experience, perhaps the most pleasurable B&B we have visited. Early morning there is wildlife all around the cabin. After breakfast, a nice hike with the local kangaroos, including Hannah who lives near the main house. Perfect location for exploring all of Kangaroo Island by day. In the evening, it's time to get the wood fire going and prepare dinner in the perfectly supplied kitchen. Memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rabbitsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 48 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We wanted a week away with the children at a peaceful cottage with a wood fire. Well...we found it! Was very well positioned for daily activities such as seal bay and the snake and bird show. The children loved the cottage and every night kangaroos and possums were everywhere. A big thanks to Graeme and Kathy for inviting us to feed the roos and feed Genie the Kestral. Wish we stayed longer than 5 days. Great value for money. Grab your own food and wine and settle in to a great time. Family from Adelaide

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The homestead was welcoming, as were the owners who simply couldnt do enough for you. We were welcomed by the local wildlife and enjoyed the company of possums and wallabies all through the night. We are already working on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varrowsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here based on it's location and the Tripadvisor reviews.
We loved it!
The location is so serene and kangaroos are abundant in the evenings.
We fed some of the wild Roos with Graeme and Kathy at the Homestead and some were semi-tamed.
Genie the Kestrel was awesome to watch getting food from Graeme's fingers.
The cabin was well appointed and clean with cooking facilities and BBQ.
Log fire was perfect.
The Marron experience was just amazing although we were unable to help set or gather nets due to our schedule.
The banquet provided to our cabin was so delicious and so much food!
The homemade bread and cheesecake was special and beautiful.
Really great value and the wine with the log fire was perfect.
We enjoyed our stay as it was conveniently located to a lot of attractions especially on the South Coast.
Well done to our hosts who made our 5 day trip a memorable one.
Definitely go to Cape Borda lighthouse 1230 tour and the raptor park!

Room Tip: Definitely do the Marron experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank repope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were a bit nervous on our approach to the Homestead, as the dirt roads are quite an experience once you get off the sealed highway, however after a short turn into the approach lane to the cabin, we were very pleased with our choice of accommodation on Kangaroo Island. Central for all touring (ten minutes to Seal Bay, 15 to stunning Vivonne Bay, 20 minutes or so to Little Sahara, all so worth a visit) and very comfortably appointed inside the cabin. Host Graeme was more than helpful and we loved feeding the family of kangaroos and the beautiful kestrel. Be aware that there are almost no facilities for shopping in the vicinity (a small grocery store with little contents can be found on the road to Flinders Chase Park). There are also few opportunities in the area for eating out, so the well equipped kitchen is pretty vital - the best supermarket we found was in Penneshaw and we were pleased that we had stopped to shop for supplies once we had got off the ferry. Recommend hiring a car and staying for three nights minimum if you can - you can travel at your own pace and take your time at the beautiful locations to be found on the island, getting there before/after the tour buses. Remarkable Rocks and Cape du Coedic seals - unmissable! There appears to be plenty of self-catering accommodation along all the beautiful coastlines, but this cabin was a great Australian experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Payno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Perfectly located for a week+ stay on KI! Easy to get to everything! Cabin is clean, beautiful and boasts gorgeous views. Kitchen is well appointed for basic cooking. We ordered the week's worth of breakfasts and weren't disappointed. Cereal, peanut butter, fruit spreads, bread, fruit, bacon, eggs, orange juice, milk were all waiting for us to prepare throughout the week. Hosts were friendly and accommodating. Feeding their resident kangaroos was a highlight of the trip. Genie, the falcon, is an attraction on her own! Cannot imagine you would be disappointed with choosing Eleanor River Homestead for your trip to KI!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank SAllmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Eleanor river homestead is a beautiful cabin situated in an amazing location. Anytime of the year. All season bring different feels and stunning visual scenery. I visited Eleanor river in the summer and found the golden grass with rich green trees and shrubs at sunset quite breath taking. The owners are more than accommodating and have never meet nicer people, always there to help and always stop to say hi. I had the optiunity to feed kangeroos and hand feed an amazing kestrel named genie because of them, what an experience. So do yourself a favor, stay at Eleanor river homestead.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seddon
28.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
38.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
392 reviews
28.5 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
24.9 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
857 reviews
23.2 mi away
Flour Cask Bay Retreat
Flour Cask Bay Retreat
#2 of 2 in American River
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island

Address: 563a Gregors Rd, Seddon, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Seddon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Seddon
Price Range: $158 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pristine Kangaroo Island Accommodation. After a days touring on Kangaroo Island drive down a 3km private road to The Mary Ellen, a luxurious yet warm and cosy 2 bedroom, rustic log cabin nestled in a magnificent bushland setting. Eleanor River Homestead is a 250 acre property located amongst rolling hills and valleys on the banks of the Eleanor River offering the best Self Contained accommodation on Kangaroo Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island Seddon, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing