We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay on KI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Seddon B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay on KI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Our stay at the Eleanor River Homestead was the end to our 2 weeks Australia adventure. We rented (hired) a car in Melbourne from Thrifty and drove the great ocean road down to Cape Jervis and took the ferry across. Word to the wise: FLY! The weather was bad on this particular day and it took us 3 hrs in rough seas to cross rather than a quick 45minute ferry trip... rental car was damaged on the ferry- which is not covered by the rental car insurance!

Arriving at the ERH was the perfect ending to our vacation. We stayed 3 days 2 nights and it was amazing. Like other travelers have said, the whole island is like a wildlife conservation center. ERH is in a great location for getting all over the island. It was pretty rainy during our stay and the unsealed roads were a bit 'sloshy' but our sedan did just fine.

This lodge is self sufficient. There is solar power for electricity (witha back up generator in case you use too much juice) and the water is recycled from rain barrels. It was particularly cold during our visit and the pot belly stove was great with taking the chill off as well as the cozy comfortors on each of the beds.

We did not arrange for the Marron experience or the breakfast as neither of us are 'big eaters', but be prepared when traveling on KI. Many restaurants are only open on certain days/ times so it is best to have things to prepare from the lodge/ sandwhiches to take with you. Plus, it is not advised to drive at night. The kitchen is fully equipt for cooking, all you need is food! There is one general store in Pardana that we found.

Graham allowed us to partake in feeding his resident Kangas on our last night. So sweet and what an experience! Staying at the Eleanor River Homestead was definately my favorite part about our Australia trip!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

My husband and I, plus uncle & aunty stayed here for 4 wonderful nights. It was a great location as it was in the middle of the island, therefore handy to all places. We arrived at 6pm, and drove there in the dark. There was very clear instructions given to us and it was well signposted. The cabin is just delightful, I could live there. Kangaroos outside the door, as with other animals. Fantastic breakfast supplies and Cathy and Graham could not have been more helpful. On the last night, we booked the "Marron experience". What a meal. It was not what was not there, but what was - marron, prawns, oysters, scallops, muscles, champange, salad & dessert. Cathy is an amazing cook. This is a "must stay" place. Hint - when booking a rental vehicle on the island, book a 4x4, as a lot of the island is not sealed, and only 4x4's are allowed to go on non-sealed roads. We had to go back to Kingscote to change our rental over when one became available. Thanks Cathy and Graham for such a fanastic time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AucklandNZTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Staying here made our Kangaroo Island visit unforgettable. It was an experience more than just accommodation. The cabin was awesome and had everything we needed for our stay. Its location was excellent in terms of exploring the island, and it felt like we had our own piece of the wilderness. Kangaroos, echidna, goannas, and all sorts of birds right at our doorstep. Graeme and Kathy were wonderful hosts and made our visit even more special. Overall, we would recommend Eleanor River Homestead to anyone as THE PLACE to stay when going to Kangaroo Island.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L_DTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

While Flinder's Chase is the classified National park on Kangaroo Island, the whole island has the feel of a National Park. Within this island park, Eleanor River Homestead is like a private reserve. We stayed at the beginning of a 5 week tour of Australia. Eleanor River has tremendous outlook, ambience and the accommodation is excellent. We spotted our first Koala, and there are many kangaroos, wallabies etc. Evening/night walks are particularly rewarding. MAKE SURE TO SIGN UP FOR THE MARRON EXPERIENCE- it is a once in a life time thing to do and the lobster meal excellent- there was enough for 6. Graeme and Kathy are excellent hosts, and by now there will be an aviary possibly with kestrels. One tip when planning for kangaroo Island- hire car companies require that you do not drive after dark (you cannot avoid seeing the consequences of folks who do by the side of the road)- so take this into account in your planning. Also many standard cars are unsuitable for the roads- 4 wheel drive is best.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnwalker1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
193 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

When planning our visit to Kangaroo Island, I wanted a place that would capture the wilderness that the island offers. In previous trips to Australia, I've done a lot of camping but this time we were traveling with our 5 and 3 year old kids so we needed more amenities but I didn't want to stay in Kingscote or Penneshaw as I felt they would lack the remoteness I was seeking. The Eleanor River Homestead was perfect. The cabin itself is luxuriously appointed, with nicer linens that most hotels and a fantastic kitchen. The setting is even better. There is a wrap around porch that is perfect to watch sunrises, sunsets or eat the steaks you've just grilled on the gas grill. The property is loaded with wildlife -- with no effort and despite the background noise any group walking with a 3 year old boy will bring, we saw a wedge-tailed eagle, fairy wrens and loads of kangaroos. At night, we walked on the porch, turned on a torch and were astounded at the literally dozens of wallabies grazing in the yard around the cabin. We did quite a bit of touring around Kangaroo Island, and the location is perfect as it's central to our two favorite places: Hanson Bay and Stokes Bay. We hope one day to return to this wonderful cabin and Kangaroo Island generally.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CMK43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

We absolutely loved this place! I only wish my writing could do it justice.

As this was our first trip to Australia, our top priority was to experience the unique wildlife and scenery of Australia. The beautiful, immaculate accommodations & friendly hosts, were an added bonus.

It would be tough to pick a favorite part of our 6 week trip, but if we had to, Eleanor River Homestead/Kangaroo Island would be right up there with Uluru, The Great Ocean Road, and diving the Great Barrier Reef. Graeme & Kathy are such fun & gracious hosts, we loved the cabin, the wildlife, and everything about this place. It was the full package.

We stayed at the Eleanor River Homestead for 4 nights in July (winter) and are recommending it to our friends already. Don’t let the words “rustic cabin” fool you into thinking it is old or musty. “The Mary Ellen” is an eco friendly, self catering cabin, beautifully built by the owners, Graeme & Kathy, 3 years ago. It has all the comforts of home. Beautiful hardwood floors, fully equipped kitchen, charming bathroom, and inviting veranda, for starters.

It is on 250 acres of land, and it was like staying in our own private wildlife park. We saw more wildlife (including 5 echidna) driving up the 3 km driveway the first night, than we did the other 5 weeks of our trip.

It's right in the middle of the island, so it makes the perfect base for touring. Just 10 minutes from Seal Bay, 15 minutes from Vivonne Bay, 35 minutes from the awesome Flinders Chase National Park. Admirals Arch & Remarkable Rocks, at Flinders Chase National Park are a MUST DO! They are absolutely spectacular!

We highly recommend the "Marron Experience" (extra charge).
Graeme takes you to the river and shows you how to catch Marron (freshwater crayfish, taste/texture similar to lobster/crab). Then the next night, Kathy & Graeme brought a marron dinner to our cabin. It was the best dinner we had in Australia!

The "Mary Ellen" Cabin at Eleanor River Homestead has a queen bed in one bedroom, 2 single beds in the second bedroom, and a hide-a-bed in the living room, so sleeps a maximum of 6 people.

I was a bit worried reading about the unsealed roads, however, we had a 2WD mid sized rental car and didn’t find it a problem at all. We were there when the roads were probably their worst (flooding after 6 year drought), and they were fine. There are some potholes (not bad) coming in from the North road via Parndana, but the road coming from the South was fine.

Our only regret was, that we didn't stay there a week, as Tripadvisor contributers had advised. Never having been to Australia before, it was hard to guess how long we would want to spend in each place. We would have liked to have more time relaxing on the veranda, walking the trails on the property, watching the wildlife, & touring some of the things we missed.

This place was a gem! I hope we can go back again some day.

p.s. pick up groceries in Kingscote for best selection. Or, breakfast supplies can be provided at extra charge.

I’ve included some photos, however the photos on their own website are accurate, and better than mine.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank give_me_25_degrees_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

We travel a lot and usually stay in self catering places. This is one of the best we've ever stayed in. Right in the middle of Kangaroo Island (definitely the best location in the island) this 2 bed cabin was fantastically equipped and v. cosy.. but also felt away from it all. We stayed for a week, and saw Kangaroos and Wallabies from the (lovely) veranda every evening, and Koala Bears in the trees directly outside the cabin. If you are going to Kangaroo island, I'd strongly recommend this place....

  • Liked — Well equipped, cosy and fantastic location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie222Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seddon
29.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
27.2 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
23.6 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 mi away
Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
21.8 mi away
Searenity Holiday Accommodation
22.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island

Property: Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island
Address: 563a Gregors Rd, Seddon, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Seddon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Seddon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pristine Kangaroo Island Accommodation. After a days touring on Kangaroo Island drive down a 3km private road to The Mary Ellen, a luxurious yet warm and cosy 2 bedroom, rustic log cabin nestled in a magnificent bushland setting. Eleanor River Homestead is a 250 acre property located amongst rolling hills and valleys on the banks of the Eleanor River offering the best Self Contained accommodation on Kangaroo Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleanor River Homestead - Kangaroo Island Seddon, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing