We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shortwood Farm

Shortwood Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Pencombe
Attraction details
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went to shortwood on bank hol mon may with my 2 year old toddler and we had a fab day!

We got there for 10am and went on the 10.30am tour, which included feeding lambs, holding chicks and rabbits, feeding the chickens, a pig race plus lots of information about the farm. Then there was a trailer ride pulled by a tractor which my son loved around the farm and into the wood, where we walked around the wood looking at flowers and then ride back.

It is a family run business and yes the farm itself was slightly run down but its a farm.

The tea room maybe basic and a bit dusty but the cheese and pickle roll I had was lovely and cheap £2 and we both had a slice of Victoria sponge home made which was really good!!! £1.50 a slice bargain!

If u want a fun relaxed day with ur little ones then this is the place to go! if you children are over 6yrs then they may find it bit boring so really its for little ones but we had a great day out and I thought the £7 adult £5 child fee was well worth it with the tour and ride.

We were there from 10am until 1.00pm so a reasonable time out with a little one and we could have stayed later.

It was a great day xx

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank natk30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    3
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Farm trying to make money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Me my wife and 2 sons came along to this farm as it was recommended by the mother in law.
How disappointed was we as we turned up thinking we would feed the animals and just enjoy the day
1st the road was shut leading to the farm so we took a 4mile diversion route
Turned up into the car park walked down into what you would call a yard area with a few different animals scattered about in sheds
Didt know where to pay
Had to find out off so random guy who pointed to a shop
Then when it came to pay
£7 for adults and £5 for children
After paying we went into a back shed where there was a cow a few sheep and some ginny pigs?
Then walked back out to the yard had a look at a donkey, piglets, pony, goat
Jumped onto a trailer pulled by the farmers tracktor
Drove round a few of his fields looking at cows and a bull called aimos
Walked round a little wood looked at some trees
Drove back and that was basically it.
Son got bored after around 3 minutes
Tip never liston ask mother in law

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hawkeye00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great place to take little people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have read the last two reviews on this place and can only assume that they did not take part in the 'tour'. We arrived just before 10:30 and joined the morning tour. First of all we got to bottle feed the lambs, then hold guinea pigs. We then got to see the goats, piglets, donkeys all getting food, followed by fresh egg collection, kune kune feeding, pig racing, duck feeding and a fabulous tractor ride.
Yes, this is a working farm and you can see that wherever you look. It is not hiding anything from the public, it is what it says it is, a farm!
We had drinks in the cafe and our daughter ate her lunch in the clean high chairs, what she loved more than anything was being able to watch a cow on the other side of the window being milked!

If you want a pristine place to visit, where the staff where uniform and everything is new spangly and plastic, this is not the place to go.

My only criticism is that to pay £5 for our 17 month old did seem a tad high, but given that she took park in all the activities perhaps it is not too high

We will definitely go back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank yummy_yummy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful rundown and overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just returned from a visit at the farm, compared to others I have been to this was an overpriced, rundown farm. As the other poster said, it is only worth £3 at most. There was nothing there and was really cold. The play area is rusty and old, cobwebs and mud. It will not take too much to wash it down with a pressure washer. The tearooms were freezing cold. I will not be going again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bunnybuns12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shortwood fell short - there's barely anything there!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Over priced!! Wouldn't pay more than £3 as there just isn't much there at all: the pens were small and there's no trail or anything :( we paid, walked to some animals in pens and realized that was it! Barely there an hour. We felt a bit fooled by the website which looked quite fancy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Little1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shortwood Farm also viewed

 
Hereford, Herefordshire

Been to Shortwood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing