We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great day!”
Review of Shortwood Farm

Shortwood Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Pencombe
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We had a great day!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Well we had a brilliant time! We took our 5 year old son. We met up with friends and their daughter who was 3 years old. We paid £19 for the three of us. We felt this was great value for everything we did. We had a lovely tour and talk of the farm animals with Janet and fed lots of the animals, collected eggs etc. We've never had to throw potatoes for pigs before! Then we held the baby guinea pigs and played with the kittens before milking a real goat. We even bottle-fed lambs. The tractor ride was good (even though the weather had been poor prior to our visit and was nearly called off). The farmers couldn't do enough to make sure our visit was good. We stayed for over 5 hours in the end. Our children really enjoyed the play area after eating our picnic. We liked that it was a real working family-run farm (surely that is the point). It didn't feel commercialised like some farms we've been to.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jon79_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    3
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great fun for toddles, and good value”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very interesting farm with lots of different animals and plenty of opportunity to feed them, hold them, stroke them and milk them. Gorgeous litter of kittens there when we visited. The farm has all kinds of rare breeds of poultry and livestock. A very informative tour - even the adults found out a lot of new things that they didn't know about farming. The play area is really super: a bit rough and ready perhaps but all the more fun for that. It includes a sizeable Wendy House complete with sink, kitchen table and telephone which our toddlers loved. They even provide wellies in case you forget to bring your own!

Despite what other reviewers have said, the prices didn't seem excessive at all to me for what you get to see. I do think it is a bit much asking you to pay full child rate for a 12-month old baby though.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jan24jan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

A working farm... Ok to have a look around if you have nothing else to do.
However.... Very overpriced for what it is... £19 for 2 adults and a 15month old.

A few 'pens' with a couple of pigs/donkeys/chickens. Some of the animals enclosures seem very sub -standard.

Play area very old, in need of a make over.. Nothing for very young children in the play area.

There was no 'route' through farm, had to walk around and find your way around the many fences as there are no signs to suggest which ways to go.

We did not look around the small shop/ eat in the cafe as it did not look very appealing.

Also. We were told a tractor ride was available when we paid, when we later
Went back to enquire where to go for it we were told that it was not running that day due to the man who drove it not being there!

Helpful?
1 Thank Pidge44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money they ask for”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Too expensive for a farm. The talks and walks were boring for my kids and myself. Your better off just looking around yourself which isnt worth the price you have to pay

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic friendly farm.”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Brilliant farm to visit. Very child friendly. Great tour, including tractor ride.

Helpful?
Thank Deboraheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shortwood Farm also viewed

 
Docklow, Leominster
Kingsland, Leominster
 

Been to Shortwood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing