We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zevenwacht Country Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SUN1 Parow(Parow)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
19
21
10
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
21
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastingcape townwine estatepersonal touchfarm houseworking vineyardshowing its agewine routedelicious breakfasttable mountainthe cottagesweddingguestsvenuesettingaccommodationstellenbosch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 56 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Zevenwacht over a weekend to enjoy the Spa. The rooms and amenities are nice enough but the hotel is hopelessly outdated when compared to similar offerings in the Cape winelands, e.g., Asara. It also does not help that breakfast is served at the restaurant down the hill. The restaurant itself is nothing to write home about, food is ok-ish, with a limited selection. The hotel staff deliver excellent service, arranging drop-offs and pick-ups whenever required. A major makeover is required if Zevenwacht wants to stay in competition,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nakkiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Friends of ours stayed for the weekend and we joined them on the Sunday morning for breakfast before heading out on a wine tour of the region.
The "restaurant" only serve booked guests and you have to make reservation to join guests staying at the hotel (stunning views from the hotel and the spa, we were sucked in and shown the place) The "restaurant" is the original farm house with the original yellow wood floors and windows still in place, now converted to serve their guests. I really love tastefully restored and preserved buildings that are in functional use every day. Creaky floorboards, original solid wooden furniture and a view across the large duck pond with weeping willows to frame the stunning setting. There was a fire going because of the cold which just added to the old school rustic feel.
The breakfast is standard buffet style with a twist in some of the selections. It is all well presented, refilled immediately when items run low and you can eat till you drop if you so wish. Really enjoined it and the coffee served is proper filter coffee and not the modern day drowned in milk options you are served in a coffee shop. The staff were well trained, attentive and things were done for you without you realizing it.

The perfect start for a long day of wine tasting through this very beautiful part of the country.
Next time we are in this neck of the woods again we will definitely book into the hotel and stay for longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safetyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The best was the view from my room.t is up on a hill, and 2 meters from my patio, the vineyard starts. You are so near to town, and when you are in the grounds it feels like you have left that I city. The service was excellent and the rooms comfy. My heater was not working properly, so the first night I wa really cold, but is was fixed the next day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed for one night last week, coming back since 1999. The rooms still look beautiful, timeless and elegant. The spa is beyond and the over all service could not have been better.
Good value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussianLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I recently spent a few nights at the luxurious Zevenwacht hotel located on a wine farm. They have different chalets - we got to stay in the luxury suites - beautifully appointed, spacious and pleasant decor BUT bloody freezing in the early part of winter. Carpeting rather than tiles essential methinks!

The setting and surroundings are very pleasant, but my biggest concern was the standard of cuisine in the hotel - simply well below standard. The hotel staff were helpful and enthusiastic, but the restaurant area seemed to be under managed and featured poorly trained personnel in my view.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrW100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews