We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tropical Paradise :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Misty Mountains Tropical Rainforest Retreat
Randwick, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A tropical Paradise :)”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I was lucky enough to win my stay at Misty Mountains Resort through a wedding expo. The prize was only valid for 12 months so we were unable to stay for our honeymoon but more a relaxing getaway before all the stress and pressure of planning our big day!

The drive from Cairns was shorter then we expected which was a bonus and gave us some time to track down a Coles to buy our food/drink for the week. We were greeted by Erica who was very friendly and informative and she took us on a grand tour. This place is absolutley stunning! Gene and Sharon are extremely lucky to have this place and i thank them for sharing it with us. There is complete privacy but you have them on hand incase you need them.

No expensive has been spared with all the fixtures and fittings in the villa, it was also spotless. There is a battery powered buggy to get you about if you don't fancy walking and mountain bikes too. It is a short walk from the villa down to the creek where you can bbq, have a massage or simply explore.

I would reccommend this place for any couple wanting to get away from it all or for your honeymoon....it is wonderful :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlybear84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed at Misty Mountains for a week and did not want to leave! The place was simply magical - from the secluded location to the amazing gardens, we spent the days lounging by our private pool or walking through the expansive grounds and the evenings in the amazing glass bar (our own private night club!) Some highlights included the couples massage by the river and the romantic dinner cooked by our own personal chef. I've never left a holiday feeling so relaxed and connected to my husband - we could not have picked a better place for a holiday. Thank you to Sharon, our beautiful host - she recommended a few day trips which we thoroughly enjoyed and organised anything the needed. She even brought us fresh eggs from their chickens for breakfast - they were so fresh they were still warm! I can't say enough wonderful things about our time at Misty Mountains - we've already booked to return next year!

Room Tip: There is only one room on the resort - it's beautifully appointed and the bed is very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Only one couple is booked into Misty Mountains Rainforest Retreat at a time which means you get the whole place to yourself. It's a lovers paradise. You have your own swimming lagoon, meditation/massage cabana suspended over the stream, acres and acres of rainforest, a bar and entertainment room with uninterrupted views of the rainforest.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JodieBrownlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Magical place, Sharon is a gorgeous host and the room was beautiful - loved it - so relaxing.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sarahssydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We didn't mean to come to Misty Mountains, in fact it was by chance that we even found the place, but I have to say that we couldn't be happier to have had the opportunity to stay and explore the vast beauty of this hidden gem.

It ticked a lot of boxes for us - secluded, private, couples only, environmentally conscious, self catering, relaxing, adventurous, tropical...the list could go on. Of the 4 days we stayed we didn't even see the entire property, and we did tonnes of walking and bike riding. We also did plenty of relaxing - thats the beauty of this place it's as much or as little as you want it to be. You set the agenda at your pace.

We picked a great time, apparently "winter" in cairns offers the chance for sunny days (tick) and cosy nights by an open fire (tick) where we enjoyed many a home cooked meal and bottle of wine.

The hosts were a huge help - organising a beautiful champagne breakfast and hot air balloon ride in the Atherton Tablelands (a great birthday present from my partner) and pointing out many great picnic nooks, swimming holes and giving us plenty of practical advice on the local area and must-do activities (Etty Bay is a must, as is sampling the local produce of the tablelands).

The only negative was that we didn't book long enough and that unfortunately, I don't think the website really does this place justice, it's truly like no other holiday we have ever had - a perfect balance and great escape - we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellenden Ker
21.3 mi away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 7 in Yungaburra
239 reviews
21.3 mi away
Foxwell Park Lodge
Foxwell Park Lodge
#2 of 5 in Malanda
19 reviews
23.7 mi away
Fitzroy Island Resort
Fitzroy Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fitzroy Island
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
5.5 mi away
Babinda Quarters.
Babinda Quarters.
#2 of 2 in Babinda
12 reviews
19.3 mi away
Tinaroo Sunset Retreat
Tinaroo Sunset Retreat
#2 of 6 in Atherton
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Mountains Tropical Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountains Tropical Rainforest Retreat

Property: Misty Mountains Tropical Rainforest Retreat
Address: 199 Ellis Rd | Cairns, Bellenden Ker, Queensland 4860, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bellenden Ker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bellenden Ker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocooned within the beauty of the tropical North Queensland wilderness and at the foot of mighty Mt Bellenden Ker, this is luxury travel redefined where couples can retreat into a secluded world of pampering and guilt-free indulgence. Surrounding your luxurious and contemporary self-contained villa is a sprawling swimming lagoon set amongst tropical botanic gardens. The stunning Glass Bar and Lounge that features state-of-the-art facilities, the 'Think Tank' perched above the soothing sound of a flowing stream for yoga, meditation or a soothing massage as well as your own eco-club buggy and mountain bikes to explore the limitless picnic nooks and vast natural beauty of 200 acres of an ancient wonderland. A honeymooners paradise, nature lovers wonderland or the backdrop for an unforgettable wedding, Misty Mountains Rainforest Retreat is the ultimate package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Misty Mountains Tropical Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing