We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Privacy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Misty Mountains Tropical Rainforest Retreat
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Only one couple is booked into Misty Mountains Rainforest Retreat at a time which means you get the whole place to yourself. It's a lovers paradise. You have your own swimming lagoon, meditation/massage cabana suspended over the stream, acres and acres of rainforest, a bar and entertainment room with uninterrupted views of the rainforest.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank JodieBrownlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

Magical place, Sharon is a gorgeous host and the room was beautiful - loved it - so relaxing.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
Thank sarahssydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We didn't mean to come to Misty Mountains, in fact it was by chance that we even found the place, but I have to say that we couldn't be happier to have had the opportunity to stay and explore the vast beauty of this hidden gem.

It ticked a lot of boxes for us - secluded, private, couples only, environmentally conscious, self catering, relaxing, adventurous, tropical...the list could go on. Of the 4 days we stayed we didn't even see the entire property, and we did tonnes of walking and bike riding. We also did plenty of relaxing - thats the beauty of this place it's as much or as little as you want it to be. You set the agenda at your pace.

We picked a great time, apparently "winter" in cairns offers the chance for sunny days (tick) and cosy nights by an open fire (tick) where we enjoyed many a home cooked meal and bottle of wine.

The hosts were a huge help - organising a beautiful champagne breakfast and hot air balloon ride in the Atherton Tablelands (a great birthday present from my partner) and pointing out many great picnic nooks, swimming holes and giving us plenty of practical advice on the local area and must-do activities (Etty Bay is a must, as is sampling the local produce of the tablelands).

The only negative was that we didn't book long enough and that unfortunately, I don't think the website really does this place justice, it's truly like no other holiday we have ever had - a perfect balance and great escape - we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016
Thank FinlandAnni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Misty Mountains Tropical Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountains Tropical Rainforest Retreat

Address: 199 Ellis Rd | Cairns, Bellenden Ker, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bellenden Ker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bellenden Ker
Price Range: $223 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocooned within the beauty of the tropical North Queensland where the reef meets the rainforest and at the foot of mighty Mt Bellenden Ker,located only 40 minutes south of Cairns this is luxury travel redefined where couples can retreat into a secluded world of pampering and guilt-free indulgence. Surrounding your luxurious and contemporary self-contained villa is a sprawling swimming lagoon set amongst tropical botanic gardens. The stunning Glass Bar and Lounge that features state-of-the-art facilities, the 'Think Tank' perched above the soothing sound of a flowing stream for yoga, meditation or a soothing massage as well as your own eco-club buggy and mountain bikes to explore the limitless picnic nooks and vast natural beauty of 200 acres of an ancient wonderland. A honeymooners paradise, nature lovers wonderland or the backdrop for an unforgettable wedding, Misty Mountains Rainforest Retreat is the ultimate package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Misty Mountains Tropical Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing