We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The peppermill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Something Special - CLOSED

Something Special
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Upton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The peppermill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I don't normally bother writing reviews however based on the last review I felt compelled to share my experience and opinion
We visited for a meal last week and found the food to be a vast improvement as was the decor. The menu is not vast but I would say its varied and is quite clearly displayed in the window for you to take a look before you enter!
As for the service admittedly some of the staff are young but to critise a small establishment for taking time to train new staff is ridiculous. In my opinion we should give them credit for training young people so many places just take advantage of young cheap labour.
We found them all to be very friendly and couldnt do enough for us even when it was very busy.
However its all personnel opinion but I would suggest if you want good value for money you try it for yourself!
We will definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    7
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great quality!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner ate at the Peppermill in Upton last night and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Refurb has done it well, very welcoming. Generous portion sizes and we were well attended to. Would definietly recommend the Peppermill and will be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fahroogeeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Pepper Mill, Something Special with a lick of paint.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

A refurb was long overdue. The decor is modern yet cozy. Not many tables.

Menu is very limited both food and drinks.

The waiting on staff had obviously never done it before and it was a bit like sitting in a waitress training school! But bless them they were trying their best. However they do need to improve.

They must have ran out of money before they got to refurbishing the toilets. Smelt damp. They've painted over the old wallpaper, it needs another coat and the floor tiles were grotty.

Chef 7/10
Waitresses 4/10
Atmosphere 5/10

Would I go back, I doubt it. Shame really, could've been another Ellies if they'd done it right.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SPUDDDDDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meols, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Pepper Mill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Well what can i say, A little shocked to find the name had been changed as we have dined at something special for over 20 years but i suppose times change and things did need updating. On entering we couldn't believe the vast improvement to the place at last it had that warm and cozy feel to it. At first we were served drinks on the new couch area where the old bar stood until we were ready to eat. The restaurant was fairly busy and with 60's music playing in the background it gave the place a much livelier atmosphere than we had experienced in there before. We both had a 3 course meal from there new menu which was exceptional value especially now they have added a tapas selection. In a nut shell we had a great evening topped with great food and the service was excellent. We have booked our wedding anniversary there with friends as a result.
Thank you
Gene and Graham

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Re-named the pepper mill went recently light and lively very modern food excellant staff very friendly couldn't do enough for us

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Budste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Something Special also viewed

 
Upton, Wirral
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing