We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wilderness Treasure!”
Review of Charlton Lake Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitefish Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Charlton Lake Camp
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have had the pleasure of being a guest at Charlton Lake Camp twice this year. Once in the spring for a getaway with friends and again this fall for my company staff retreat. The camp is nestled among the pines and has rustic yet cozy & clean cottages with all the amenities to make for a very comfortable stay. The owner/operator Lori, is an extremely hard worker who aims to please. She is very friendly and extremely accommodating. The location is excellent. Close enough to town if you forgot something yet located on a beautiful lake with lots to see and do. Two thumbs up for Charlton Lake Camp!

Room Tip: Cabin #1 was my favourite. Spacious and a great wood stove for those chilly fall days.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clclori, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! We've done family reunions and church retreats before, but this was our first (and hopefully) not last corporate retreat. It was a pleasure to be your host!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Charlton Lake Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 102 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and i stayed at the camp mid to late Sept 2013. The cottage was very well stocked, had many little things (extras) that made it a comfy home for our stay. The screened in porch was very nice. There is a communal fire pit that is prepared daily with some wood to burn. The host was very helpful and accommodating. We were there for a fishing trip and caught pike, bass and some pickerel. Espanola is a short drive and has many amenities if you forget anything. We would re-visit this camp in the future. There is a small nice beach with a couple kayaks to use. It was incredible to see the deer feeding so close to the camp. The scenery in the area is beautiful. Overall, this is a great camp and camp owners.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clclori, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit and thoughtful review. It was our pleasure to have you visit and hope to see you in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

husband and I and son and fiannce stayed in the antlers rack cottage from sept 14th-21st. cottages were very clean and beds were so comfortable. the trails were many and well worth taking because of the rewarding view when you get to top. deer frequented the back of cottages in evenings.LORI was more than accommodating to our needs and brought fresh baked cookies to each cottage on Friday----.Mmmmm!!! We caught some fish- but because of cold front that particular week - it was a bit tough. overall we all enjoyed our stay and would definetly recommend this Camp to anyone looking for a great holiday. well worth the drive from Whitby Ontario. great value for the price. bob/Audrey Jordan/richelle

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toot2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clclori, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

We're so glad that you had a good stay. The deer are still visiting every evening and the fish are still biting. We hope to see you again in 2014!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our family made its first trip to Charlton Lake Camp this summer and we all had a great time.
The cabins were clean and well maintained. They were well situated near the water with great views under trees that kept the camp protected from the heat. The swim area accommodated both small children and adults. We made use of the kayaks and explored the beautiful lake system and shoreline therein. My daughter caught two fish in the short time we spent fishing using one of the camps rental boats which worked flawlessly. For more privacy we recommend cabin #11 but those with small children appreciated those cabins closer to the beach area.
Nice touches included individual BBQ's, nightly fire-pit gathering that was already set up ready to be lit and the weekly hosted hotdog night at the fire-pit. Our reservations were handled flawlessly and great care was taken to accommodate our needs despite our late booking.
Lori our hostess worked very hard to make our stay relaxing and pleasant. We have already booked for next year. We wish to thank Lori and Kyle for a wonderful family holiday.
Jacques and Risa.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Risa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We came up to Charlton Lake for the first time this year to celebrate our 3rd anniversary and we honestly weren't sure what to expect!

We had an amazing time, and we were welcomed with a very clean cottage and a great view of the lake!! We stayed in the loons nest and we weren't disappointed! Lori was gracious enough to leave us an anniversary welcoming package as well which was very thoughtful!

Next time I would bring my own blanket for the queen seized bed in the loons nest because the blankets provided seemed not to quite fit the bed, and the bed was firm which took some getting used to but overall we had great sleeps.

My parents also came and stayed in cabin 11, and it also was amazingly clean! In the words of my mom, she couldn't even find one insect inside the cabin which surprised her!!

They loved having there own hammock as well. My dad absolutely loved boating and checking out all of the scenery that Charlton lake were to offer. Next time how ever we would for sure bring our fishing poles!

Lori and Kyle were absolute amazing hosts, and we cannot wait to come back again and meet Mark. You both gave us tons of ideas of things to do, and made sure every need was met. My husband loved cookie day, and we cannot wait to book again!

Thanks for everything and you will hear from us soon to book for next year!!

Cheyenne and Richard

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chey_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We're so glad you had a good time. I wish you had said something while you were here about the blanket and I would have traded it out for you....I have plenty in my store room. I'll be sure to upsize it today.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very friendly service. My family had a great time. It was our first time at CLC. We took a gamble and it payed off. Even though we were expecting less privacy than private cottage rentals, privacy was not an issue. We definitely enjoyed meeting the hosts and other guests. Thanks Laurie and Kyle!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We're so glad you had a good time and hope the rest of your trip was memorable as well. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I stayed at CLC in August 2013. This was our 4th time as a family and fifth time for my wife who came as a child. It truly is one of the most relaxing places I've ever been. We are very active and always enjoy the many hiking trails, biking trails, canoeing, and island exploring that that CLC has to offer. What more can you ask for then having your own personal island to swim from just a short boat ride away! As always Lori was very inviting even giving fresh baked cookies. Yum! We will be back for number 5 next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JR6442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

We truly appreciate your customer loyalty. It's folks like you who make our job so easy. See you in 2014!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish Falls
15.2 mi away
Killarney Mountain Lodge
Killarney Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Killarney
353 reviews
14.3 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Sportsman's Inn
Sportsman's Inn
#1 of 2 in Killarney
175 reviews
9.0 mi away
Pinewood Motor Inn
Pinewood Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Espanola
120 reviews
18.2 mi away
Massey Motel
Massey Motel
#2 of 2 in Massey
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton Lake Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Lake Camp

Address: 1086 Lake Road | P.O. Box 118, Whitefish Falls, Ontario P0P 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Whitefish Falls
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Whitefish Falls
Price Range: $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inclusive Housekeeping Cottage Resort featuring 1, 2, & 3 bedroom waterfront cottages, sandy beach, and rental fleet. Located in the beautiful La Cloche Mountains at the western gate to Killarney Provincial Park. At home on over 1700 acres of sparkling water in the middle of pristine wilderness, guests have access to awesome fishing and wonderful hiking. A canoeist's paradise, the spectacular scenery has drawn artists and photographers including a few of Canada's Group of Seven. Charlton Lake Camp is quiet and secluded yet close to shopping, museums and entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Charlton Lake Camp Whitefish Falls, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing