We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!”
Review of Charlton Lake Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitefish Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Charlton Lake Camp
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fishing was great! We hiked to 2 different remote lakes and "got away from it all". We took a late night boat ride to see the stars in a whole new way. Cabins were nice, but we only were in them long enough to eat and sleep. My 2 boys (6 and 9 years old) had a blast. The best part of the trip was learning to just relax.

Thank you Lori and Mark! We will see you again.

Matt
Columbus ohio

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 5 which is next to camp headquarters. Great place for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

The remote lakes are always fun and definitely and adventure! We're glad you took advantage of them. It was great fun to have you all in camp and we hope to see you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 103 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our time at Charlton Lake Camp. The cabin was comfortable - we especially enjoyed the screened porch. It was wonderful to swim and explore every day. We paddled to Grace Lake one day and enjoyed being able to use the Charlton Lake canoe there (it was lovely not to have to portage the canoe). The scenery is spectacular. It was a wonderful holiday. Thanks so much!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LangleySeastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

We're so happy that you had a good time. You're right, Grace Lake is beautiful and so worth the time to visit. We're looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Camp and enjoyed the visit. Lori warned us that the blackflies might be rough at this time but they were not bad and did not affect our stay. The studio cabin was very clean and comfortable, and Lori made sure that we wanted for nothing. The area is lovely, very scenic and the lakes were a joy to fish and explore. We recommend the Camp to anyone wishing a nice outdoor experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We're glad you had a good time and the black flies weren't too bad. It was a pleasure to have you visit us and hope to see you again! Take care on your trip through PA on the way back to Florida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our group of 12 have been visiting CLC for 3 years in a row. Just got back. Great time, Great camp, Great owners. Cabins are in great shape and all amenities and needs are met. Having 2 connecting lakes keeps you interested while on the water and the fish just keep biting.

Thanks for having us!!! Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

It's always wonderful to have repeat guests and it's something we look forward to each year. Thank you for sharing your holiday with us & we'll see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the camp while we were exploring the decommissioned rail line from Espanola to Little Current. The ATV riding varied from little experience required on the rail line to difficult on local trails. The best part of the trip was knowing that we had an excellent cabin to return to at the of the day. Lori is an accomplished host who made us feel at home and ensured that we had everything we required. I highly recommend Charlton Lake Camp.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Ewen,
It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we're looking forward to seeing you and the guys again!
Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was one of the best trips ever!! Cannot wait to go again. Mark and Lori are sooo nice! Its so peaceful there, fishing is great. Cabins are very well equipped and the screened in porch is great for sitting out in evenings.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michiganvisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharltonLakeCamp, Owner at Charlton Lake Camp, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you!!! It always helps when we have guests as nice as you! We hope to see you again in 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I attended a recent photographic workshop held at Charlton Lake Camp. The experience was topped off by perfect accommodations with Mark and Lori knocking themselves out to see that we had everything we needed and more, so we could focus on photography.
I liked this location enough that I plan to come back for some vacation time with my wife in the near future. The scenery and atmosphere of the camp are perfect for relaxing and getting away from it all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish Falls
15.2 mi away
Killarney Mountain Lodge
Killarney Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Killarney
372 reviews
14.3 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Sportsman's Inn
Sportsman's Inn
#1 of 2 in Killarney
179 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#5 of 7 in Little Current
141 reviews
9.0 mi away
Pinewood Motor Inn
Pinewood Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Espanola
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton Lake Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Lake Camp

Address: 1086 Lake Road, Whitefish Falls, Ontario P0P 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Whitefish Falls
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Whitefish Falls
Price Range: $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inclusive Self-catering Cottage Resort featuring 1, 2, & 3 bedroom waterfront cottages, sandy beach, and rental fleet. Located in the beautiful La Cloche Mountains at the western gate to Killarney Provincial Park. At home on over 1700 acres of sparkling water in the middle of pristine wilderness, guests have access to awesome fishing and wonderful hiking. A canoeist's paradise, the spectacular scenery has drawn artists and photographers including a few of Canada's Group of Seven. Charlton Lake Camp is quiet and secluded yet close to shopping, museums and entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Charlton Lake Camp Whitefish Falls, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing