We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for kayaking!!”
Review of Charlton Lake Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitefish Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Charlton Lake Camp
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Charlton Lake Camp is the perfect kayak spot. My girlfriends and I stayed in Cabin #2, a clean, airy, comfortable place with all amenities. Beautiful screened porch with table and chairs for open air meals. Comfortable, clean beds and the fresh baked cookies were wonderful to come back to after a day of paddling. A huge bonus was being
able to launch and take out our kayaks just steps from the cabin.
With Charlton Lake and the Howry River on one side and Frood/Cranberry lakes on the other, we had hours/days of beautiful, scenic paddling pleasure. The hosts had canoes available on Grace Lake so there was no need to portage our kayaks. Grace Lake is a quiet, serene experience.
Just up the road from the camp, a scenic look-out gave a panoramic view of the area.
Charlton Lake Camp is a hidden gem for those who enjoy kayaking.
We certainly will be back!!

Room Tip: If you plan to kayak, ask for a cabin on the water. The shoreline allows for easy put-in /take-out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank later_is_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 103 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

Cabin was comfortable, clean and homey. Area relaxing, clean, well kept. Mark and Lori are helpful, knowledgeable about the area, and welcoming. Wonderful camp / cabin experience for our nieces and for us. Plan on returning as soon as we can and have recommended it to other family and friends.

Room Tip: Some cabins are closer to the beach area and others are in quieter area - let Mark or Lori know your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18Nancy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

A group of friends have been going to Manitoulin Island for the past 5 years. We stayed at Charlton Lake this past time and had such a wonderful time. The cabins are very well kept. The bedding is great we shouldn't have brought our own. The have many supplies that we never had anywhere else including toilet paper, paper towel, towels, linens, etc. We were very comfortable and happy there. We brought our 9 month old daughter and she loved it too. The staff are kind and accommodating. The fishing was good. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommatash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We have great memories from this beautiful camp and each year we attend they keep building! Mark and Lori are very friendly, energetic and go to great extremes to support a pleasant vacation. They are not intrusive but are there when you need them. The lake is so beautiful with the background of the mountains, the quiet atmosphere and the fishing is a fisherman/ladies dream. The wifi was great for my older adult children so they could feel still connected to their friends. However the computer time was limited so we could have family time. This atmosphere was a mothers dream come true to reacquaint with the family! We hope to do a three generational trip again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovethelake7095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

My fiance and I wanted to get in some end of season fishing. We didn't catch much because the weather had been pretty stormy, but we will be back to try Spring / Summer fishing for sure. We were really impressed with the location - so beautiful! The cottage was lovely and clean, lots of hot water and toasty warm (it was snowing!!)
When you go, don't bring bottled water - the tap water is delightfully cool and crystal clear. Make sure you check out the Mountain Loop trail - you will get a fantastic view of the lakes.
We were treated very well by Mark and Lori and they are fantastic hosts - not too intrusive (we really wanted to get away from it all on our trip and relax) but they were friendly and available for our every need.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayandkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Couldn't have been happier with Charlton Lake Camp. Spent one night here after a week canoeing the back-country of Killlarney Park. The hosts went out their way to make sure we were comfortable and satisfied.They even hosted a campfire for all guests and cooked up smores. Beautiful location with cabins right next to lake.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mksobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I stayed with my two siblings and our partners this summer for the second consecutive year. We hope to make this a yearly trip as we never want to leave. Mark and Lori are fantastic hosts and they cover every detail to ensure a flawless getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linnes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charlton Lake Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Lake Camp

Address: 1086 Lake Road, Whitefish Falls, Ontario P0P 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Whitefish Falls
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Whitefish Falls
Price Range: $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inclusive Self-catering Cottage Resort featuring 1, 2, & 3 bedroom waterfront cottages, sandy beach, and rental fleet. Located in the beautiful La Cloche Mountains at the western gate to Killarney Provincial Park. At home on over 1700 acres of sparkling water in the middle of pristine wilderness, guests have access to awesome fishing and wonderful hiking. A canoeist's paradise, the spectacular scenery has drawn artists and photographers including a few of Canada's Group of Seven. Charlton Lake Camp is quiet and secluded yet close to shopping, museums and entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Charlton Lake Camp Whitefish Falls, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing