We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sayan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had booked another 5 star hotel in Ubud Originally, and upon arrival were very very disappointed, I looked up the phone number and quickly reserved a stay for 3 nights at the Four Seasons, within an hour they sent someone to pick us up in Ubud and we were checked into a beautiful villa with private pool, It is a first class property, absolutely beautiful and the staff is some of the most genuinely friendly and helpful I have ever come across. The villa itself was perfect, with a nice large bathroom and impeccably well kept. They also provide a hotel car for trips to Ubud for about 10 USD which is a great deal for visiting the town, you're far enough to feel tranquil but close enough to Ubud for a night out. The only thing I think falls short here is the breakfast, which I spoke to the management about, it is completely sub-par for the price, if they fix that it will be an absolute perfect resort

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tninos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments.

Subsequent to your comments and feedback about the breakfast buffet, we have added live egg, waffle and pancake stations. We shall in a month, post a small bar refurbishment, add a fresh juice station as well which will further enhance the breakfast experience.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay overall and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely
Uday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

For visitors to Ubud, it is hard to imagine a superior hotel/resort. The surroundings are beautiful, the food is excellent, the spa is among the best, the rooms are perfect, and the resort itself is quite stunning. But what makes it all come together is the staff - first class all the way - friendly, helpful, genuine. Staying here will be one of the best things you do in Bali.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you. Couldn't ask for a nicer review. Short, sweet and to the point and it is truly very much appreciated. Always good to start the year reading such positive feedback from our guests. Our staff continue to do their best in their Balinese fashion to give the best experience possible for all, and for that I am grateful to have such a team. Thank you for recognizing their efforts.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Have a wonderful year ahead.

Sincerely
Uday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We wanted to experience Bali's countryside and culture first before spending some time at Bali's beaches, and don't regret that decision. The resort is typical of most island FS resorts, lush, green and well designed. The first view's in most FS island resorts is well conceptualised and intended to 'blow' the viewer away, and Sayan is no exception. It is a really well designed resort and maximises the view over the river and surrounding forest. We had a family suite with a small 'room' for our teenager with its own en-suite. This was perfect for us, as we travelled with two infants as well and one got to share with the teenager in a roll out bed. The food is very good, but after a few days we got bored and prefered to eat out of the hotel in nearby Ubud. Book the hotel transfer to Ubud and you get dropped off and picked up centrally, so you can explore Ubud at your leisure. When we wanted to go to dinner, we just booked a hotel car and driver, which was perfect as we go anywhere we prefered at our pace. The drivers / concierge was really helpful in pointing out restaurants, temples, places to visit, galleries, etc. We also had our anniversary at Sayan and booked a special blessing ceremony, which was amazing and forgettable. If you have a special event, i would book the lily pond, the FS team go out of their way to make it special.

Room Tip: For a family, ask for the family suite close to the restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyguy108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Congratulations once again on your anniversary and for choosing to stay with us. The lotus pond dinner under the stars is one unique experience and is quite unforgettable.

Thank you for your feedback and kind words. Rest assured to be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. All the best to the family.

Sincerely
Uday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed during the NY period after a hectic time at W Semanyak, we wanted some chill time in Ubud. Altho we have visited this resorts a few times, just for a drink, this time we stayed for three nights in a Riverfront villa.

The good:

Stunning landscaping & architecture in the resort
Villa 21 located right next to the river provided a peaceful sound track
Lots of nature all around providing a wonderful forest symphony
Great expresso machine in room
Most staff call you by name
Very friendly towards our five year old son
Amazing fully equipped villa
Great spa
Good quality food
Very peaceful & tranquil during the night

The bad (not really bad, more like development areas)

Can't really note anything significant, but if I had to try, I guess the following:

Lots of stairs and windy roads (sometimes poorly lit at night) to get to restaurants in main building.
Quite a work out to walk up to reception!
Some staff confusion over breakfast room service, concierge services and the Bar but all put right quickly. Perhaps more training for the newer staff members would help.
Bathroom amenities, shower gel, shampoo etc not too fragrant, I guess for ecological reasons?
Not much to do after dark. No buzzing bar or live band etc. perhaps more entertainment needed on a Friday or saturday night?
Plunge pool in villa was a little small when compared to the W resort.
An authentic pizza oven serving pizza would be great.
Villa should be ready at check in time. We arrived at 2pm and had to wait in bar until 3pm for villa to be ready. But we were given drinks to compensate, so all good!

The summary:

Uday and his team run a tight ship in this impressive resort and as such the experience is hard to beat, putting this resort in my top 3 in the World. Hats off!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank 201Hedgefunder201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your comments. More importantly, thank you for being fair. Your comments about the bar and the liveliness of the place is duly noted and rest assured we will work on making improvements and bring life to the Jati Bar. Unfortunately, with the stairs and the size of the pool, I have less control and cannot do anything about it for obvious reasons. I agree it is quite a work out from the villas to the reception areas, but it's a nice walk and the grounds and landscaping make it worth the stroll around the resort.

Thank you for personally commenting on running a tight ship. I am fortunate to have a wonderful team that makes it happen.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely
Uday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our eighth stay. We stayed in a riverside villa and my mother stayed in a suite close to the main restaurant and spa. This is an outstanding resort. It is quiet, the resturant is exceptional and the satff are the best I have ever dealt with. The villas and suites are gorgeous. Stay here if you want to be treated to first class service, and if you want relax and enjoy the peace and quiet and beautiful surroundings of this part of Bali. It doesn't get much better than this.

Room Tip: Villa 21 and suite 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNK245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you once again for making this your home and staying with us time and again. It's always a delight to welcome guests back, especially when they return with families. It was an absolute pleasure to have your mother stay with us and get to know her.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Have a wonderful year ahead.

Sincerely
Uday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been making our pilgrimages to Bali for the past consecutive 7 years. And we only stay in villas- in seminyak, sanur, Ubud and Amed. River, views of the oceans with an endless horizon, sunset and sunrise views, padi field and even volcano views etc, name it we'd probably have had the opportunity to experience it. And God knows we've had our fair shares of fails, hits and misses!!

While travellers collect postcards or souveniers, we "collect" villas and good food. If you're like us having stayed in 20 or so different villas in Bali and eaten in every possible warung and restaurant featured on TA then maybe this review could be helpful.

Here's a bullet point review (although a lengthy one!) On the essentials when planning your memorable stay in Bali. Or Ubud for this review:

1. Lobby, Drop Off / Pick up point, Security and general landscaping / Compounds.

- Chilled bottled water, umbrellas and scarves provided and there is always a very eager to please and attentive staff to help. OK most of the better villas provide that so nothing short of expectations. All of the staff during our stay addressed us by our first or last names. Come on! Now that's something we didn't receive as guests staying in the club / presidential suites in other 6 star hotels!
- For rainy (or lazy days) a golf buggy is always just a call away. Again with staff addressing you by name and always helpful.
- Padi fields, a vegetable garden and fruit trees are conscientiously planted around the resort compound which really added to the whole "holistic-resort" feel. OK to some may be not impressive enough. BUT all the staff AND even the gardeners will stop their tending to greet guests with a nod and smile, some with palms to their chest.
- I have to agree with 1 reviewer that there is a lack of balinese influence in architecture in the resort (ie: as opposed to to the Gangsa in sanur or Villa Natura and others in Ubud) but the graciousness and sincerity of the staff and being in such close proximity to the Ayung River and it's natural wildlife really reminded us why we chose the Four Seasons as our choice accommodation for our 6 nights in Ubud.
- Security checkpoints have the usual canine companion and guards in uniform with the mirrors to check the under carriage of every passing vehicle. Yes including their own shuttle. Most of Bali's better known restaurants and clubs already have this SOP but at the Four Seasons even the guards greet you with palms to their chests before and after their search. Some even say "Welcome Home!" Awwww....
- The suspended bridge from the pick up / drop off point leading to the reception (overlooking the forest and river) is no doubt impressive. Taking the walk with the grandeur of the suspending lotus pond in the background is one of the little details to psyche you up for an experience to follow.

2. Concierge, checking in and out and the reception in general.

- EVERYONE spoke and understood decent to perfect English. Even the driver for the shuttle and the golf carts (which we called and were promptly at your doorstep with a smile and the warmest of greetings) OK, maybe not impressive enough to some since Balinese people are already so friendly. BUT at the Four Seasons Sayan it really feels like chatting with an old friend. Everyone was extremely attentive and addressed you by name. The staff are extremely well trained and easily picked up signals from us. Ie: if we needed more information on a particular restaurant or warung outside of the hotel, transport, etc. Additional activities arranged by the hotel not included in the itinerary booklet given to all guests. Even details on the culture or the landmarks, scenery and places of interests were readily shared with such passion and knowledge which you would probably only get from a paid tour.
FYI: complimentary shuttle service from hotel to Ubud central is available from 9Am to 5pm at every 2 hour intervals. Yes, the last shuttle may not be convenient for guests wanting to have dinner outside the resort but concierge will tell you they can arrange private transport with the hotel at $ USA 25/Hour or with a local driver (Sayan Taxi) at only IDR 50,000 PER trip to town.
- Because the local drivers were arranged by the hotel, all unpleasantries with haggling over prices, taking the wrong route, etc were completely non existant. Hourly rates are only IDR 90, 000. Yes a small fee to pay for the convenience and as mentioned not having the unpleasantries of hidden costs and frustration at drivers taking traffic heavy routes.
- welcome drinks not the best we've had but we did get a bouquet of calla lilies n a welcome cake waiting in our villa (#20) as it was our honeymoon. Nice touch since most places offer the usual petals in tub, bed, private pool, folded towels into animals, etc. ;-)
- For lesser than the price we pay at four seasons, some villas offer a complimentary wine bottle. That would be nice. ;-)

3. The Ayung Terrace and Riverside cafe (dining at the resort)
- prices are RIDICULOUSLY Expensive. IDR400K for a main beef Rendang dish with rice and sambals. Taste is decent, not the silly sweet spicy tastes nor cooking styles most restaurants adopt their dishes to suit tourist taste buds. The Indonesia food we had generally had a "home cooked" taste and feel to it so the 5 star / "Michelin" price tag definitely was not justified. IMHO.
- Ordered a Wagyu steak the next day but could have sworn it was a very average piece of tenderloin which lacked the beefy, fatty, melt in your mouth goodness which was expected from a Wagyu.
- The scallops were good though.
- Breakfast is buffet style, continental with limited pastries, muffins, cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, salads, etc. Honestly nothing fantastic. Pancakes were good. The fluffy type and not the dense, chewy kinds some villas offer.
- Korean and other breakfast options are also available but we weren't too impressed from our prior dining experiences to try.

4. The gym aka the spa
- The equipment and environment of the gym was nothing short of expectations with the usual assistant ready to offer guests a cold / fresh towel, and water.
- cardio stations overlooking the forest and greenery.
- equipment is decent. Small free weights corner, 1 multi cable machine, 1 chest machine, etc.
- After our workout we helped ourselves to their ginger and red rice tea while taking a dip in their heated jacuzzi / pool.
- Changing rooms smelt so lovely, peppermint I think, with lockers, kimonos and slippers to shower and change into if, like me, I was in sweaty gym attire. Sauna is available too with the usual full amenities like what you already have in a private gym club. Ie mouth wash, hairbrush, etc etc.
- lobby with a couple iMacs for free surfing (I think?) and a printer next to the gym are available.

5. Finally, the VILLA itself!
- We stayed for 6 nights at Villa #20. It was unreal. Being serenaded by the occasional cicadas, and constant rolling sounds of the Ayung River with both its natural and "artifical" wildlife. (White water rafters) ha ha! Spotted the occasional fireflies. If you're only used to wildlife on the tube then do yourself a favour and stay in a hotel room or skip Ubud altogether. We had our "pets" which were a couple of huge gheckos, froggies, the most unusual moths, spiders and beetles visiting us. BUT don't worry, they usually hang around the plants and trees surrounding the perimeter of the villa.
- Amenities included other than the usual stuff were an Illys capsulated coffee machine, individually packaged hair pins n bands, nail clipper, bath salts, (nice n new) universal adaptors, AMPLE sockets around the villa (EXCEPT THE BATHROOM?!)
- Day bed and sofa with their own canopys were comfortable. Another impressive touch was how quick they were to change the sofas which were damp from the rain when requested. In fact, I recalled never being denied of a request no matter how unusual. Ie: I requested for all the pool lights and perimeter lights to be switched off as I wanted to see the stars and catch the fireflies. And it was done! *snaps fingers* just like that! ;-) Oh even bringing my own bottle of wine down to the bar to watch the traditional dance programme.
- Bar fridge is not as cold as I'd like.
- But ice was always replenished and readily available upon request in the tumbler.
- Fiji and imported water is chargeable in the mini bar. And complimentary aqua bottles are replenished daily. Ask for big 1Ltr water bottles and those are provided in a jiffy and FOC. So didn't understand why some guests faulted the hotel based on this aspect. Plus it's Aqua brand and not Club which I personally find the taste to be rather funky.
- incense sticks provided.
- in villa spa menu too where they would prepare a soak off in your own private villa.
- not 1 but FOUR different types of pillows are available upon request. Details in the pic attached with this review. Bed with the (9-inch?) Mattress top was too soft for me but my partner loved it. Maybe there could be an option for a firmer bed?
- Of course there's turn down service.
- we spent Christmas there so had a pleasant surprise when we came back and there was a sock full of goodies and on the last night we received a hand written card with petals on the bed. Had to clear them myself no doubt but was definitely doing it with a smile. ;-)
- Wifi is chargeable at 100K or 200K depending on the speed. Per day charges.
- we brought our own HDMI cable as we're visiting other villas. Nonetheless, plug yr mac book or device into their Bose system and we had a pool party blasting Avicci by the river. HYeah!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank g-shien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Happy New Year!

Thank you for a very detailed and comprehensive review of the resort. I shall for sure share this with the team as it covers all aspects and areas and services of the resort.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back and perhaps stay in villa 20 again, to bring back some fond memories.

Once again, thank you and have a wonderful year ahead.

Sincerely
Uday

PS: Standard internet in the resort is now complimentary for all in-house guests effective from this week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We usually go for the best and this resort is probably one of the best we have seen.
We had a one bedroom villa with private pool overlooking the river and the jungle. Was a truly amazing and marking experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you. I couldn't ask for a better compliment from a guest. It's gratifying to read that you felt this was one of the best experiences and best resorts you had. We are delighted we were able to make it memorable for you.

Thank you once again and we wish you and your family a wonderful Christmas and a very prosperous 2014. All the best.

Sincerely
Uday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayan
2.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 199 in Ubud
1,104 reviews
21.6 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
3.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.1 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
20.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Jimbaran Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan

Address: Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Sayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sayan
Price Range: $457 - $1,282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Bali At Sayan Hotel Ubud
4 Seasons Resort Bali At Sayan
Four Seasons Hotel Bali
Four Seasons Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing