We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience. Great for honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sayan
Certificate of Excellence
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing experience. Great for honeymoon!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Only bad part is the TOTALLY silent Bar, which is extremely close to the lobby. This hotel needs a place to have a nice drink with your couple, family or friends observing the amazing view.

aside from that

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosendo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am delighted to read that you had an "amazing experience" and your honeymoon was great.

With regards to our bar, it is quiet, however, we do have live acoustic guitar and a singer few times a week. Yes, when they are not playing, other music could be played and we shall certainly look into this. Again, thank you very much and appreciate the comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Have a wonderful holiday season ahead.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    149
    29
    18
    13
See reviews for
262
725
54
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Our third time in Bali and first time out of Seminyak.

We stayed at villa 3. We debated between a regular villa and a river view and chose the regular but what we should have done is to either choose the river view or the room. Unless the privacy of a villa is important I would actually recommend the room. We had a quick look around and it was spacious, had a nice view and was convenient.

We ended up using the main pool (much nicer) during the day and stayed indoors during the evening (too many bugs).

Good points:
1. Really nice layout. Spacious and relaxing. The river gave great background noise, there were a lot of greens from the trees and the farming plots.

2. Villa was excellently appointed. Quirky but nice entry.

3. Amazing staff. It isn't a small resort but staff called us by name most times and everyone felt genuine and very keen to help us have a good time.

Some downsides:

1. Food wasn't the best. We ate once at the lily pond, snacked at the river view cafe and ate breakfast daily at the main restaurant. No problems - just not exciting. On the first morning, the cold cuts had a funky smell so we avoided but all was OK by the next morning.

2. Lots of bugs. But this is Bali and the resort is somewhat integrated into a forest and a river with its own rice paddies so just pack the DEET sprays!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KIMBO777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.

We take this very seriously and continue to strive and improve listening to our customers and make changes where and when we can. Your comments on the food are well noted and we shall definitely look into it right away.

The great news is that we have a new chef on board who has joined us few days back and we shall look for his creativity, expertise and culinary experience to revamp the menus in the weeks ahead. We are excited to have Chef Jocelyn on board.

As for the bugs, I wish I could control them. But we have the sprays, the incense burners, bug repellent which definitely helps. And many take it as part of the experience since it is the forest and surrounded by nature at it's most beautiful.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Absolutely beautiful resort! We stayed in a lovely villa with private plunge pool. Very tastefully decorated, comfortable accommodations. The included breakfast is excellent. Staff is warm, everyone knows your name, and the manager is present and truly is a wonderful host of the property! The setting on the river is breathtaking. Swimming pool and spa are wonderful, too. We were very glad to have selected this location rather than the beach property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagolover59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for selecting the mountains and the forest over the beach. It's a shame how so many come to Bali and don't even get a chance to see the true Bali, the essence of Bali, which is in Ubud. Glad you got a taste of it and enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words are very motivating and rest assured shall be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Style with adventure

I had heard this hotel looked like a flying saucer dropped into a rice paddy which is perhaps not the most appealing description but it's true. However, the unusual design and the hotel itself is stunning. We were here as they were finishing off the renovations of the river and rice paddy bungalows which looked like they were going to be stunning. Our room was in the east wing and spread over 2 levels, it was very stylish and comfortable. Service and the facilities are fantastic. We were here with our 9 year old and did the Farmer for a Day adventure. It was great for families! This involved a hike through the rice paddies followed by breakfast in an outdoor bure in the rice paddies. This was followed with a hands-on class in how to plant rice which our son enjoyed immensely (very muddy, lots of fun!). Then there was a couples massage for the grown-ups and kids club for our son. Happy smiles all round and well worth the spend. We loved our stay here although it is worth mentioning that the food is on the pricy side with no other nearby alternates. There is a free shuttle bus into Ubud numerous times per day which is an option for cheaper eats. Ubud itself is well worth a look but we had been there before so didn’t really leave this hotel, it was that good! Book a spa, grab a book, sit by the pool and chill.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-TEMPLEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
The Day In The Life Of A Balinese Farmer - perfect activity for kids, adults and families. A great experience and yes, one tends to get muddy and dirty, but it's part of the fun. We are so glad you had some very fond memories of your stay with us.

The villas are completely refurbished and are stunning. Would love for you to return and experience them in the future.

Thank you for your comments on the food prices, but since, the prices have been reduced in various menus in the resort and more competitive to resorts in Ubud. However, they are higher than free standing restaurants in Ubud. We continue to review the prices and make changes.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words and feedback given to us. We truly hope we have the chance to welcome you back. Have a wonderful festive holiday season ahead.

All the best for 2014.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perm, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely a m a z i n g. Beautiful landscapes, friendly staff, incredible spa, absolutely delicious Asian and Western food, plenty of facilities. A lot of different activities available, eg. Batik painting, yoga, meditation, diving, Indonesian cooking classes. Free shuttles to the city Ubud. Very impressed. 5/5

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank anastasia_kuzmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind and thoughtful words.

Bali has so much to offer to all, especially living and having a resort in the cultural hub of Bali. It is a shame that more people do not get a chance to experience Sayan, Ubud like you have since it truly does offer the essence of Bali. The art, the culture, the music, nature, the spa and much more.

We are glad you were able to get a taste of what is here and what is there to offer.

Thank you so much for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi,India
Level Contributor
186 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very friendly staff. Excellently managed Hotel. Everything was perfect . The only improvements could be much more frequent complimentary shuttle service to main Ubud town and not charging for Internet in a Hotel already so expensive . Just creates resentment . The villas were very comfortable. The plunge pool was large enough not to be one in name only . Very relaxed and relaxing atmosphere . All other services very good . Food and wine fine

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeygatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you.

We take your feedback and comments very seriously and we shall look into increasing the frequency of the shuttle. At present, the demand is limited, but rest assured we shall review the schedule.

With regards to the internet, as a company, we are reviewing this internally. The good news is that it will in 2014 be complimentary for standard internet package. Again, this is not final yet, but shall be considered for the months ahead.

Thank you once again and we trust that this will not deter you from returning to Sayan Four Seasons in the future.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Absolutely exceptional, even by Four Seasons' standards. We have been catered to at many F/S properties, but never have we felt so much at home. The services was completely personalized at every turn -- every member of the staff knew both of our children's names, and they got to know our personal preferences very quickly.

We would highly recommend this Four Seasons Sayan for anyone thinking of checking out Bali.

Room Tip: The River-side Villas offer remarkable views, however all of the Villas are extremely private no mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uday R, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We could not ask for more if you spread the word to your friends and family about your positive experiences at Four Seasons Sayan. No better advertisement than word of mouth.

Glad to hear you and your family felt at home as that would be hard for us to replicate, but it is a wonderful compliment and one I shall share with the team.

Thank you very much for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back or any of your family members and friends in the future.

Sincerely
Uday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayan
2.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,022 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
1.3 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 198 in Ubud
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
1.1 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
20.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Jimbaran Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan

Property: Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Address: Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Sayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Bali At Sayan Hotel Ubud
4 Seasons Resort Bali At Sayan
Four Seasons Hotel Bali
Four Seasons Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing