We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay! Good Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Johny International Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Azaiba
Reviewed November 28, 2010

The room was more than good and spaceous, the food tastefull and last but not least you did a wonderfull job with the arrangement for our Desert day tour.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RQ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 76 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2010

We booked a Family Suite for one night. Internet map made it easy to find with our rental car, and lots of room in the carpark. Room was great - kids both slept on large sofa bed and our bedroom was large. Bathroom with Jacuzzi was even larger! Did not make use of the kitchenette though the offer of them ordering a takeaway on our behalf and delivering it to the room should have been taken up - dinner seemed really appealing in the restaurant, but we found everything was off the menu by 8.30pm. The Manager did his best in making up some new offerings, but the chef took an hour to produce them and they were practically inedible. At checkout we discovered the Manager reduced the price by 50%, so thanks very much for that. To be honest, we have not had a good meal in Oman and have stayed in 4 different hotels! Service standards are poor everywhere. This is a really nice clean hotel with lots of space - just not great for food. Breakfast was buffet style, self service and sufficient. European checkin and checkout staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annakatrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THETREASUREBOX, General Manager at Johny International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2010

Many thanks for your positive feedback about The Treasurebox.
We are very happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us even so you didnt had a good experience during your dinner. We would be happy to see you agin one day at "your home, awy from home"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We booked 4 nights here as a base for exploring Muscat and the sourrounding area.

Check in was friendly and efficient and we went up to our room - initially we thought we had been given a welcome packup - but then it appeared to be old pizza boxes and a half empty bottle of coke - the room hadn't been cleaned ! Much to their credit reception apologised a lot and let us have a larger room for the stay so credit to them for that !

The hotel has a modern feel - very nicely decorated in both priviate and public areas and is kept very clean. Breakfast was very pleasant in a spotless small dining room and a very attentive waiter. The free wifi worked very well as did all the other services such as tv, shower etc etc..... In fact the TV was a good quality large flat screen device with a full selection of international stations (Including the BBC !).

A real down side is the location - the hotel is, other than the Grand Mosque, not handy for any of the attractions eateriesor shopping areas. There are Taxi drivers who are encamped on site - but they have a kind of fixed fare of 7 or 8 OMRs to most places. When out and about on our own we could haggle fares for similar distances to half this. So avoid giving / getting mobile numbers for the Hotel Taxi to come and get you to bring you back after a trip to town - it'll cost far more than a taxi. (Also the bedding remained the same for 3 days.)

The Hotel however does serve very nice, and not overly expensive, meals in the evenings so it's not always necessary to go out. We hired a car after a day and the hotel proved to be a perfect base for exploring the Nth of Oman.

I would certainly stay here again if I had my own car and wanted a clean bright and comfortable place to stay in Muscat. Overall the Treasurebox well surpasssed what I expected for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

we stayed on the first floor and were literally in the box, meaning that there is a double wall. So there was no day light and it was really claustrophobic. The breakfast was a bit on the small side, not too much choice. Location is fine, but in Muscat you need a car anyway so it doesn't really matter.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The Hotel information on net is full of eye wash , as shown in photo it looks like pleasent place place but the first hand experince wud come otherway. I stayed their during the holiday of eid festival for two days . As i entered the hotel the entrance was full of dust seems abundant place I thought i had been fooled by internet site but luckily when I moved ahead my steps after opening two dusty doors I found the glimpse of reception , after wishing the guy on reception i showed him my reservation slip he confirmed it. But said Sir you have to carry your own luggage as we dont have bell-boy . Some how I reached in the room find after dragging my family luggage my self . The room gave some sigh of relief founding 1 small bottle of water I drunk all and called the room service to send more water the reply come" SIr we only provide single bottle of water on first day if you wish to drink more we will send sparkling water that wud cost you 3-OMR.
The treasurebox ended in ordeal and I checked out after next as I have already paid through booking.com for two days ....I wud advise all travellers to keep at bay from this Hotel as I belive Its being done good job through net to sell their rooms, TRUST ME FRIENDS. ITs NOT a penny worth.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duchni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTreasureboxHotel, General Manager at Johny International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2010

Dear Guest!
First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and your review.
In order to answer your questions and help other guests to build up their mind about your write up I would like to state the following.
You may have realised during your booking that you originally have booked a single room but you showed up with your family, according to your booking we have set up your room and gave you a complimentary water. Your room is also equipped with a mini bar and you could have used the water from their. Please also consider the The Treasurebox Hotel is a 3 Star Hotel and according to your paid price we offer our services. We do also offer bigger rooms and suites with more service.
Further you can see and read all other reviews and you may realise that your pointed issue was one for you only.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I've staid for a week the hotel feels like family business very clean room was quite spacious
Friendly staff there is no bell boy (which I’m fine with that)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foddiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

clean hotel, good austrian food, great room, also provided a baby bed, flat screen, building is very impressive with an entry of a real treasure box, good taxi drivers for e.g. to see the turtles, dolphins. Unfortunately there is no pool in the hotel but you can take a short taxi ride in order to drive to other hotels on the beaches.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorgeSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Azaiba
0 mi away
Al Maha International Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Summersands
Hotel Summersands
#4 of 5 in Seeb
7 reviews
0 mi away
Muscat Dunes Hotel
Muscat Dunes Hotel
#37 of 61 in Muscat
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Centara Muscat Oman
Centara Muscat Oman
#17 of 61 in Muscat
85 reviews
0 mi away
Somerset Panorama Muscat
0 mi away
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johny International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johny International Hotel

Address: Way 3709, Building 631 | Al Ghubra, Azaiba 111, Oman (Formerly Treasurebox Boutique Hotel)
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Azaiba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Azaiba
Price Range: $66 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Johny International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Johny International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasurebox Hotel Muscat
Johny International Hotel Oman/Azaiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing