We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Golfing Weekend at Greetham Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greetham Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greetham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

First time here at Greetham Valley and really didn't know what to expect. I hadn't read any of the reviews so what a surprise it was! Fabulous place.The golf courses were in superb condition. Would definitely recommend this place. You can even wheel your trolley and bag straight into your rooms! Only 2 gripes really, snacks and drinks a bit pricey and limited ladies wear in the golf shop. Do they not understand how we ladies like to shop! Other than that is well worth a visit. Will be keeping my eye out for a bargain break. We paid about 75.00 for BB&EM and 2 rounds of golf! There was a big group of us but can be done for couples. A word of warning though as this place does cater for groups it got a bit rowdy in the bar and some of the rooms. Apologies all round. It wasn't me!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Lake it's stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazzaSATC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your golf break with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

We'll try to keep the exuberance of other guests down a touch to give you a more peaceful stay - people do express their enjoyment of a good time in different ways!

With regards to ladies' wear in the Golf Shop, it is hard for us to compete price-wise with High Street stores so we try to keep all our apparel as unique as possible by limiting sizes and thereby amount of stock across the various ranges. Our Shop Manager is constantly on the look-out for desirable items that are difficult to find elsewhere - she can shop for England herself!!

Please do keep an eye on our website for all the latest offers or ask Gilly to add you to our list to be emailed them as soon as they are available.

Kind regards
Dee Hinch
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 503 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Last weekend was our society's third visit to Greetham, this time as a party of 32 and I can only say that everything about the place is as excellent as the first time we stayed. Six of us had to stay in a Lodge,but this was extemely comfortable and as ever the food,service and staff were all absolutely superb. We were blessed with 3 good days weather and this only added to the visit. Gilly and all the staff in the bar, restaurant, courses etc. could not be more helpful and we shall be returning again next year. I must also add that the theme nights held at Greetham are really good value as well and are a great weekend break.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the golf course, great sunsets and sunrises
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTOWN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

And again, many thanks for taking the time to leave your lovely review. It was fab to have 'the lads from Essex' back to visit us at Greetham Valley and we are delighted we were able to provide glorious sunshine during your stay :)

Thank you also for your appreciation of our theme nights - they do tend to go down well with visitors and locals alike and we are looking at some Christmas party/winter golf break packages for this December.

Very much looking forward to welcoming your group of golfers back to Rutland soon - I believe Gilly is currently sorting dates out for you?

Kind regards
Dee Hinch
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just been to a hotel and golf complex at Greetham Valley. The food,course maintainance,and helpfulness of the staff,was brilliant. The rooms were also that much larger than is the norm,they haven`t tried to cram five rooms into four. I would recommend this place to golfers as they seemed to cater for many groups at the same time.

Room Tip: I found the food (three courses) too much (i hate waste), but if you ask, they will oblige your requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomfaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Tom, thank you kindly for leaving your lovely review of Greetham Valley. Your group were great fun to have here - I do think we are lucky to have the nicest guests come visit us! We very much look forward to welcoming you all back again soon
Kind regards
Dee Hinch
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

No, we are not boring - we just know we are going to have a brilliant stay at Greetham Valley. The golf courses, accommodation, food and friendly, helpful staff have never disappointed. We have recommended Greetham Valley to numerous of our friends all of whom, without exception, have thoroughly enjoyed their stay. The green staff work ceaselessly to maintain the two excellent golf courses with magnificent putting surfaces. The owners, Robert & Dee Hinch, are always on hand, together with their Golf Co-ordinator, Gilly, to make sure that you have a relaxed and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the course for magnificent views and beautiful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Geoff, thank you for yet another fabulous review! It really is lovely to welcome Pam, yourself and your various friends at each visit and we look forward to many more of the same. We will continue to strive for perfection both within the hotel and restaurants and outside on the courses and your always constructive critique is as valuable as ever in these respects.

Here's to the next time!
Dee Hinch
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

An ideal place for a long weekend away with either friends or family. The Lodges are excellent Value for a big group and are clean, well maintained and well appointed. Two 18 and one 9 hole par three means there is plenty of choice for golfers. The bar offers good food and drink choices. at reasonable prices. The village has three well run pubs and is only just over a mile away. Also great base for visiting Stamford.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUWWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your kind review. We are delighted that you chose to return yet again for a 4th golf break - we must be doing things right for you! And thank you for bringing some glorious weather with you this time too!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future - do remember to give Gilly a call to get up to date golf break deals!

Kind regards
Dee Hinch
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

as a member of a golf society which meets up annually i am pleased to say we will be returning on the 10 of may 2013, we visited greethem valley last april and even though we had some very poor weather,which made us lose sundays golf the whole weekend was very enjoyable, the accomadation was first class and the staff were very freindly and kind,also a big thankyou to the members who made all 24 of us most welcomewe have travelled the whole of the uk over the years and this is 1 of the best venues we have stayed at

Room Tip: if possible get a room overlooking the golf course the views are stunning,we watched the red kites j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Jonny, thankyou very much for revisiting Greetham Valley and for leaving your kind review. We are delighted you will be back early next month and look forward to welcoming you back. Please bring some sunshine with you!

Dee Hinch
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We did not stay at the Greetham Valley Hotel on this occasion although we have stayed in a lodge previously and found it to be very good.
As we were staying nearby at the Rutland camping and caravan site which is only 5 minutes drive away , we decided to eat at the Golf club restaurant, the staff were welcoming and helpful, we found the lounge and seating comfortable and the food was very good, also good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVGC2011, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Brian, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed dining at Greetham Valley - not enough people realise that you don't need to be a member or a golfer to enjoy a meal here at any time of the day!

We refurbished the Lounge Bar two years ago and so many guests feel it has a warm, welcoming ambience. I think our staff complement our venue perfectly, many have been with us for years and have enjoyed seeing Greetham Valley develop.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rutland, whether you are staying in our Hotel, lodges or at my brother in law's campsite in Greetham village!

Dee Hinch
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greetham
4.6 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
597 reviews
3.8 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
924 reviews
3.5 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
325 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uppingham
324 reviews
6.9 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greetham Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greetham Valley Hotel

Address: Wood Lane, Greetham LE15 7SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Greetham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greetham
Price Range: $89 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greetham Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, family owned and run Hotel with 35 large, well appointed en-suite bedrooms. Superbly situated in the heart of beautiful, undulating Rutland countryside, a few minutes' drive from Rutland Water yet with easy access from the A1 motorway. Many rooms overlook the valley, lakes and golf courses. VisitEngland 4 Star self catering Lodges also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Greetham Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greetham Valley Hotel, Golf And Conference Centre Hotel Greetham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing