We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Dune Beach Lodge
Blantyre, Blantyre, Malawi
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good choice on a budget”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights for a wedding. The rooms are comfortable enough, but lack of adequate lighting in the dressing area and no hairdryer were a bit annoying. There is a small kitchenette in the rooms for those interested in self-catering. The two swimming pools on the property and both seemed clean and well-maintained. The property also offers access to Blythedale Beach where there was a lifeguard if you prefer to swim in the ocean. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruits, yoghurts, cereals, dried fruits, scrambled eggs, sausages (which my husband didn't enjoy), bacon etc. The food was ok but the presentation was rather sloppy. For example, the coffee/tea area was littered with empty sugar packets and spilled milk. The lodge boasts of a 4-star rating...which I think is a bit of an unrealistic representation of the place. I would reccomend it to couples or families who are looking for a budget holiday and want to stay put as the location in Blythedale Beach is at least 15 minutes drive from any good restaurants or shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_Kassam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    6
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
10
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We attended a wedding there recently and were not very impressed.
As we first arrived we thought it was absolutely beautiful. You cannot beat the location and setting. We loved the set up of the lodge and the pool areas. It was a pity that it rained all weekend though.
Service was very slow and it took them 50 minutes to bring a toasted sandwich. The staff were very far and few between.
We got a special rate as we were attending the wedding but even at the special rate of R590.00 per person EXCLUDING breakfast it was expensive. The room was part of a family unit so we heard everybody else in the inter-leading rooms. The bathroom was so small that you kind of had to stand over the toilet to close the bathroom door to get into the shower. There were no bedside lamps and there was just one table. No head boards so our pillows kept slipping about the curtain and widow behind us.
Being in the industry I think that the "special rate" was way overpriced and I will not even mention the normal price of a room.
I would not book a room there again even if I was attending another wedding at that venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TrianaVolek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blythedale Beach hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Attended as a wedding guest. Despite so called special rates it is complete rip off, dingy dark room under the wedding venue. We had to endure moving of furniture around after wedding for another hour or so after the function ended. There was noo hot water in the room. No light at the dressing table, insufficient lighting in the room, mattresses too soft, not enough pillows. Definitely not four star rated value!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soraya197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

As guests at a wedding in very heavy rain, our twin room was small, badly set up, poorly lit and horribly overpriced, despite the offer of a "Special Rate". The basin in the bathroom was so low it would have been better for a child. The cheap and nasty carpeting was permanently damp. It was definitely not 4 star accommodation and even if the weather had been kinder, it is not a place I would recommend for guests go out of their way for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sarahcampsbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We got married in April 2010 in Palm Dune Beach Lodge. As out of school holidays and in the week, we had the whole hotel to ourselves, and stayed for a further 2 days after. The venue was stunning - wedding on the beach, dinner in the boma. Food was lovely and service too. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is tucked away nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazza_J_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I am attending a two week conference at Palm Dune. The services are great and the staff very friendly. It is in a beautiful location north of Durban- great for both work and holiday! Nice pool, steps from a lovely beach for long walks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blythedale Beach
12.1 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
75 reviews
10.9 mi away
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
3.1 mi away
The Lodge at Prince's Grant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Lalaria
Lalaria
#1 of 3 in Shaka's Rock
109 reviews
8.6 mi away
Scent From Heaven Global
Scent From Heaven Global
#2 of 4 in Zinkwazi Beach
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Dune Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Dune Beach Lodge

Property: Palm Dune Beach Lodge
Address: 9 Umvoti Drive, Blythedale Beach 4450, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Blythedale Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Blythedale Beach
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palm Dune Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing