We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday home for family stay, with...”
Thushaaram , your personal holiday home at Kuttikkanam
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Thushaaram , your personal holiday home at Kuttikkanam
Living room with DTH connection and high speed internet kitchen loaded with basic amenities , LPG , Fridge , water Purifier
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Thushaaram , your personal holiday home at Kuttikkanam
Living room with DTH connection and high speed internet
kitchen loaded with basic amenities , LPG , Fridge , water Purifier
Dining Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kuttikkanam, Idukki District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tony J
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday home for family stay, with cooking facility”
Reviewed March 18, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Thushaaram Holiday Home is a small cottage style vacation property in Kuttikkanam. It was being used by the owners as their vacation cottage, later converted into a holiday home. It is located in a very silent and scenic place at Kuttikkanam in the Alleppey - Thekkady route.

I visited Thushaaram during the first week of October along with a few friends. I would give 5 out of 5 rating for this property, considering this is a budget cottage.

Don't expect a serviced apartment or a luxury hotel. You get a 2 bed-room cottage with kitchen and other basic facilities in a very silent place. If you are looking for a cottage to spend a few days with friends or relatives, this is an ideal place.

What you get:

1. Full cottage for you to enjoy and bond with family, friends or relatives.
2. Two bedrooms, kitchen, bathroom, living room etc
3. No air conditioning here but the weather is usually very cool here similar to hill stations.
4. Basic gaming activities for children
5. There is a pond in the property. No fishing though. I was told the pond may not have water during summer.
6. There is a shallow river/stream adjacent to the property. This was our favourite place to sit and relax. You can simply lie down on the rocks and watch the moving mist. We were told "strictly no alcohol on the river side" to make sure no glass is broken and left over on the river side.
7. There is no food served here. You can cook yourself, which is what enjoyed by most people.
8. There is a helper person who lives nearby. He is available for hiring to help you with cooking, food, local shopping etc.
9. No posh amenities or luxury services here. But the owner Mr. Shyam is always available on phone to guide and help you.
10. Owner is a nature lover and is very strict regarding throwing bottles/trash in the areas/riverside.
11. Noisy activities that break the serenity of nature will not be permitted. So, if you are going with college friends and plan to conduct a gala night party, check with Mr. Shyam if it will be permitted.

Kids will love the shallow river which has crystal clear natural water and it is safe too but will need attention from parents since the rocks are slippery.

Thushaaram is a good place for a couple of days of holidays at an affordable cost.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2017
thanks tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sniper k
1 review
“Cool place to stay with Friends”
Reviewed March 18, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

It was a nice expeience staying at Thusharam. Me and my friends stayed there for two days. And we are planning for another visit this month last.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2017
thanks for the review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vel P
1 review
“Good experience”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Before I say anything about the trip I would like to appreciate the effort made by Shyam the host. He is very kind enough to support us up to booking return bus ticket, he is that awesome.

The place is homestay so you can't expect the luxury of resort kind but it provides different feeling. Like others said the place is very calm and view is perfect enough to shoot an album. Cost is very affordable and you will get more than you pay. We had very comfortable stay except few minor issues that are taken care of. Overall it's definitely worth a stay, we have been there to shoot the album and we couldn't have done that without shyam's help so you can count on him. Last but not least,the place is not very luxury while it's not bad either, you will definitely get more than you pay for. We captured some of master shot for the album that shows the view from the resort I will upload em to Facebook page soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2017
Thanks vel for your kibd words , i need to mention that you guys are very coperative and treated it just like your home even to the point that you were ready to operate the pump in the times when the care taker was away for some reason . Thanks . Eager to see your photos and album
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh S
Santa Clara, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best getaway home in the hill station”
Reviewed January 25, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

A perfect, relaxing getaway home in the beautiful hill station. I and my college buddies stayed here for a couple of nights in December as part of our alumni meet. We enjoyed the calm, clean and scenic surrounding. The house is maintained very well. I was particularly impressed by the cleanliness of the restrooms, kitchen and the bedrooms. A perfect vacation rental to stay with family as well. The caretaker for this home lives nearby and is available for help anytime. On one of the nights, we even made a campfire in front of the house. It was real fun to gather around it in the cold December night chit-chatting with friends who lives around the globe and flew in to enjoy their Christmas vacation and to attend our 23rd alumni meet.

Will definitely come back to stay here during my next visit to Peermade. Highly recommend this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2017
Thanks Rajesh . Nice to know that you enjoyed the stay with your friends . You are welcome to stay with your family next time . We are arranging some extra amenities for children too in the meanwhile
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J
2 reviews
“Excellent location and amenities”
Reviewed January 24, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Ideal for both families and friends, who want to spend a vacation or a weekend. Surrounded by misty hills and tea plantations, the house offers a scenic view of the area. The morning mist and chirping birds is a welcome change from the usual city buzz. The facility offers a lounge area, two bedrooms, a dining room, kitchen and bathroom.
Cable TV is available, kitchen has all basic equipments and cutlery for cooking, both bedrooms have mattresses, bed sheets, pillows and woolen blankets. Extra mattresses are available too. Caretaker lives nearby and is available on call.
On our visit, we requested for a camp-fire and the caretaker provided us with firewood. Ample parking space available in front of the house.
This is not a luxury accommodation, but all basic amenities are taken care-of. Many tourist attractions are easily reachable from here. All in all, a serene and calm area to spend a vacation. I'll prefer to stay here next time too.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2017
Thanks justin for the review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing