We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quick and good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fenikshof

Fenikshof
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Grimbergen
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
north area
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“quick and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

good pasta, good beer, good wine, good service.
Enjoyed my visit and the ambience of the place brightens the evening

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2nunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    99
    77
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“OK. Will I go back? Most probably not.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Nice interior and nice outside terrace, with a view on the neighboring abbey. The food was not impressive though. Bland and anonymous. The supposedly local dishes are decent but lack personality. They have neither the earthiness of real traditional, family-style food or the sophistication/freshness the not so popular prices would lead to expect.
Unfortunately, this is the kind of food and experience that will be forgotten. Thinking back in a few weeks, I am sure we will not remember what we had. Neither good or bad. Just unimpressive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maurizio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well located but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Fenikshof in Grimbergen has a nice interior and a pretty terras. But the food is not excellent. I went there to eat a salad because it was a hot summer day and I wanted to eat something fresh. But the salad I received was heavy to digest. Also the prices are too high. 19 € for a simpke hamburger "american style" is just too much.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“disappointing...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

as a local, I've been to this bistro several times... and though the last times weren't overwhelmingly positive, I thought I'd give it another shot las tweek... my mistake!
Ordered a simple steak medium rare - got an over-medium one - with a "salad" which was nothing more then some lettuce and a sliced tomato with some oil on it with a horrible taste. The pepper sauce on the other hand was very good. My wifes pasta was way over-cooked, but the schrimps were ok. Overall yet again a mixed experience...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Extremely Good!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Went there for lunch with a few colleagues - slightly off the beaten track and hidden away - but very nice interior and garden looking out towards an old monastery/brewery - so perfect for a summers lunch! Service was quick and efficient - we booked in advance - which I'm glad we did as the place was busy for mid-week.
Had the lobster soup - delicious and highly recommended - then the prawn coconut curry served in a large frying pan - again excellent quality and very tasty!! I will most certainly return next time I'm in Brussels.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fenikshof also viewed

Grimbergen, Flemish Brabant Province
Grimbergen, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Grimbergen, Flemish Brabant Province
Grimbergen, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Fenikshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing