We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cnoc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cnoc Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Struy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had a light lunch here with my partner and our 7 month old child, we were attracted in from the main road because the hotel itself is a very nice looking old Inn style building with a massive grass area out the front which looks great for eating out on a sunny day.

I had macaroni cheese and my partner had a cheese and haggis toastie, both were really good and including two drinks the meal cost less than £25. Quite impressed, the service was also pretty good and pleasant and its worth mentioning their menu looked pretty good with plenty of choice and some quite original items such as the haggis and cheese toastie.

I would certainly recommend the Cnoc hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    39
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
58
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed one night in April 2013. From the minute we arrived we were met by a very happy smiley lady who made us feel welcomed. Rooms were clean tidy and comfortable. There was a kettle and a range of tea's coffee and hot chocolate with shortbread. Only problem we had was the hot water came and went a bit and there was no proper shower although a very nice bath and hose.

Menu was varied and the food and wine was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenAberdeen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INVERGORDON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a one night stay at the Cnoc over the Easter Weekend. We stayed there about 5 years ago and we did a last minute short break this time. We only live an hours drive away and although only one night the break felt much longer it was so relaxing
The rooms are clean,comfortable and have lovely views over the front garden acoss the countryside which, with the glens of Affric,Cannich and Strathfarrar on your doorstep is hard to rival anywhere in Scotland.
There is a nice cosy bar area used by locals and residents with a good atmosphere and friendly accomodating staff. There is also a very comfortable residents lounge where you can really relax on big comfortable sofas although we preferred the bar which was more atmospheric. The restaurant serves excellent food with a couple of specials on the board and the overall standard including the breakfast was at the top end of what you can expect of a small country house hotel and reasonably priced.
The thing for us that elevated it above other similar establishments was the friendliness of the staff,levels of service and the all round attentiveness of the owner who was never far away ensuring smooth running.
This is not a five star country retreat and doesn't pretend to be but delivers on so many fronts that I would say it is a three star facility with a five star rating...can't say better than that.
If you are looking for a comfortable break with good food, good service all set against the backdrop of Scotland's most beautiful glens then this is a great place to try. We will certainly be back and sooner rather than later

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be front facing so no worries on getting a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackenzie478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We were the only guests staying at the hotel, but felt no less valued or attended to despite this. The hotel was warm and welcoming from the start.

The room was cosy and welcoming and we had ample tea, coffee and shortbread to see us through our one night stay. As you would expect, this area is very sparsely populated (yippee!) So unless you're prepared to drive a fair distance to eat, then the only option is to have a meal here. That's what we did, settling for a few pints in the fabby guest lounge and having the macaroni cheese and chips, which was fine.

Breakfast the next day was beautifully cooked and, once again, the service was second-to-none. A veggie sausage would have been nice, but that's just being churlish.

We'll definitely stay at the Cnoc Hotel again when we explore this fantastic part of Strathglass and some of its many walks. Thanks to everyone at the hotel for the warm welcome and for looking after us on a very cold February weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank We_are_Ali_and_Malky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

a lovely hotel set in a quiet location with fantastic scenic views. The menu is always very good & caters for all. The staff are always very friendly & cheerful, with a great atmoshere. I would highly recommend visiting the cnoc hotel to have a meal or stay. I have visited there on a number of occasions for meals

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 253debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

How was this trip to the wonderful Cnoc Hotel different from our last one? It was even better.
Why? Because the Cnoc Hotel despite continually receiving awards, does not rest on its laurels. Specials Board menus continue to delight with new delicious offerings and old favourites are subtly improved and cooked to perfection.
New staff fit in seamlessly and by the end of the holiday you feel like you have known them for years.
Added to that Struy is the most realxing location blessed with wonderful views and local residents.
This review is written with heartfelt gratitude to those locals and everyone at the Cnoc, what a team!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireBraveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stirling
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our children and grandchildren for a celebration to complete the climbing of the "Grahams", the last one was in Glen Strathfarrer practically on the hotel's doorstep. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the celebration meal for 19 of us (including 4 children) was excellent, the breakfasts great and the accommodation clean and comfortable. A very good hotel in a wonderful part of our beautiful country.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenysstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Struy
7.1 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
12.5 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lovat Arms Hotel
Lovat Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beauly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
11.1 mi away
Tomich Hotel
Tomich Hotel
#2 of 11 in Beauly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
6.1 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cnoc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cnoc Hotel

Property: Cnoc Hotel
Address: Struy By Beauly | Inverness-shire, Struy IV4 7JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Struy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Struy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cnoc Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Cnoc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing