We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear!”
Review of Cnoc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cnoc Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Struy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The hotel described as a country house hotel with awards for its food. The outside of the building looks tired and unkempt. We asked if we could have lunch and were shown into the bar and given a menu. We ordered a hot chocolate and coffee while we were looking at the menu. The hot chocolate came with aerosol cream squirted on the top, my coffee tasted as though it was made from instant coffee. The menu was dull and predictable however we chose the leek and potato soup and mushrooms stuffed with haggis and cooked in batter. The soup was hot but not great taste, the Mushrooms had been cooked in stale oil. I wish these people would change their oil more often. For the main course we had haddock and chips and lamb chops. The haddock and chips suffered from the same problem as the mushrooms, stale oil. The chops tasted as though they had been cooked earlier and then re-heated. They did not start out as quality chops either. We then decided to call it a day enough was enough. The one beacon throughout was the waitress, she was efficient, pleasant and as she was the only person there we decided not to complain and just left. The decoration throughout the parts we visited was tired and grubby, the toilets were a disgrace. The whole experience was poor and did not in anyway match their proud boasts in their advertising.

Room Tip: I would advise anyone to drive by there must be better nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank druidhglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 153 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed at the Cnoc hotel with 2 friends over Easter. The hotel looks just as it does in the photos as do the rooms. The view from the rooms is of fields of sheep, trees and mountains. The road it is on is not very busy and is single track for some distance.
The beds were firm and comfortable and the whole hotel is spotless. Bathrooms were also spotless although depending on which room you are in, quite small. The shower uses a pump to increase the pressure, which is great for a shower but can be a little noisy for the neighbouring room. The walls are relatively thin and you can hear muffled voices at times through the walls.The rooms have single glazed windows, which wasn't a problem when we were there as it was mild. There is an extra electric heater in the room for if it does get cold.
The restaurant is also excellent. Both the service and quality of the food was perfect. Lots of local produce.
The residents lounge is very comfortable with a gas fire that looks like a real log fire. The couches are a bit like going back to your parent's house but very comfortable. We enjoyed relaxing in there a lot.
There is free wifi, although it was being a bit slow with a number of people using it at the same time when we were there.
I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enemy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

A warm welcome awaits in this converted hotel. Joanne and partner provide a nice welcome and the rooms are tastefully decorated. Wi-fi is fully functional, which is quite unusual in such a remote part of the country. I tried the venison casserole and it was sublime as was the home-made trifle. Local ale is available and the full Highland breakfast was made with locally sourced produce. As this hotel is right on the doorstep of some of the best hill-walking in Scotland, I will be a repeat attendee.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the first floor and therefore there is a view out to the Glen and the river below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevabsld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Arrived in October, autumn colours were amazing. Room was clean and warm. Residents lounge was comfortable and homely. Dinner was well cooked and served quickly. Would recommend this to anyone interested in walking, birdwatching

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

No wonder the Cnoc Hotel keeps winning awards. For fantastic fresh food served with care by wonderful staff in a tranquil and beautiful location, the Cnoc is the place to be!
We stayed for just over a week but one of the reasons I wanted to stay longer is because I hadn't worked my way through the menu and specials board!
Another reason is because we absolutely love the place - the Highlands is magical and the locals of Struy and nearby Beauly are fantastic people. It's such a relaxing atmosphere.
With Aigas Golf course with its magical views just down the round and many other golf courses within 30 miles or so; Muir of Ord, a James Braid layout is just outside Beauly, and the fantastic Castle Stuart course and Nairn just over the Kessock Bridge, we couldn't want for more.
We also regularly jog down the road from the Cnoc to Glen Strathfarrar which also offers a wonderful long bike ride up to Loch Monar. Of course if you can't be bothered to do anything at all you can just sit back in the lounge or the beautiful garden.
If you love fresh, home cooked food and want to get away from it all and chill out do yourself a favour and book a stay at the Cnoc.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireBraveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Lovely hotel in a beautiful part of Scotland. The food was of very high quality and the staff could not have been more pleasant and friendly. Very good for walkers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at the Cnoc Hotel for two nights and we ate dinner at the bar. It was delicious and all very fresh.
We had booked a family room and it was nice and quite spacious, although quite dark.

The Cnoc hotel is a good place for hikes in Glen Affrik or visiting the Highland Evening in Beauly with Dancers and pipers on a Thursday night.

The staff were very friendly and we had a good time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milsom-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cnoc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cnoc Hotel

Address: Struy By Beauly | Inverness-shire, Struy IV4 7JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Struy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Struy
Price Range: $123 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cnoc Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cnoc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing