We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodland Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had 2 day break at end of May (with KGB voucher), excellent value. Hotel in quiet, peaceful setting. Bedroom large, clean and comfortable - and very warm! Evening meal on first night was very good, hot plates, plenty of fresh vegetables. Breakfast on first morning was freshly cooked to order, again hot plates. Second morning was buffet style as hotel was busier. Bedford itself was OK, pleasant by the river watching the rowing, and the church was interesting. Second night we ate at the Italian restaurant in Clapham, only a few mins walk from hotel. Very friendly and again good value (Tues-Thurs half price on some main dishes!).

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Ags1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandmanor, General Manager at Woodland Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Woodland Manor Hotel, and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Carly Bartram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 335 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

A traditional Manor house hotel, In a lovely location. Our arrival meal was very nice but the restaurant was rather cold. Service was poor due to no organisation.

Large room but when we arrived the room was cold as the heating system was off. It was not turned on again despite out request.
Bed was comfy but very soft and roll together.
Dated decor but you'd expect that from an old manor house hotel.

Breakfast was a real disappointment with again very poor organisation and management. The young staff tried very hard but had no real direction or training in my opinion.
Food was cold, run out of bacon, and no replenishment of the hot food. We had to wait about 20 minutes for a glass of water. And had to Ask continually for things like butter toast and coffee.
We think the management should control the other staff from b itching about each other and other guests which was heard by us in the bar and reception areas.

The reception staff were more preoccupied with arranging a wedding for the next day and gave us a good ignoring to when we left.

Bedford town centre was unimpressive and some areas felt dangerous even in the daytime. Quite rundown and shabby with many low lifes and hobos around. The villages of Clapham and Oakley were nice and much more civilised.
We would not go back here due to the hotel service and town area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JP070766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandmanor, General Manager at Woodland Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we appreciated all comments good or bad as they allow us to improve our customer service.
I do apologise for the service which you recieved at breakfast time, at the time of your visit we were in transition of new members of staff. The food and beverage supervisor has been spoken to and a new training schedule has been implemented to improve this area of service as this is not the usually high standard we provide here at Woodland Manor Hotel.
Thank you again for bringing this to my attention.
Regards
Carly Bartram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked for two nights at this hotel just over a month ago. Our experience was horrific.

We were allocated to a room in what they called 'cottages' which was a separate building from the main building. Our room was filthy. The carpet was covered with mixture of human and dog hairs, and at places there was even dog dirt. There were marks of tooth paste and splashes around the washbasin. After explaining our findings in the room, a member of staff went to examine the room and told us to go and eat dinner which we had booked earlier while she cleaned the room. We were told that the dinner was on them. We returned to the room at around 10:30 pm, thinking all was okay, but the carpet still had plenty of hair. I could not sleep at all that night, with the strong smell of dog/s which blocked my nose.

In the morning, I found another dog sick or dirt on the carpet in the corner. (It was apparent that the room had just a quick lick after my first complaint. The photos I uploaded were taken in the morning.) I explained to the receptionist about the sleepless night and the more dog dirt, and told her that we were thinking about leaving without staying another night. The receptionist was very apologetic and offered to us a different room to stay. It looked acceptable, so we stayed. There was a letter and a bottle of wine left in the room from the manager as an apology. Even the room which was supposed to be one of the best rooms looked old and tired. The shower only trickled so that I could not even wash my hair satisfactory. In fact the entire hotel is old and tired and needs updating, peeling paintings, outdated interior deco, furniture, carpets, bathroom piping & fixtures and etc.

We wrote a letter to the manager explaining our horrific experiences and asked for a refund for at least one night. However, we were refused for the refund. The manager wrote, ' I am unable to refund you for your stay as whilst you were with us you received free dinner and a bottle of wine from myself in the room...'

We did not ask for a free dinner nor a free bottle of wine. Although we thought it was a nice gesture, the free dinner and the bottle of wine do not make up the sleepless night, feeling disgusting in the horrible dirty room. The room was simply NOT FIT for purpose. Indeed, a member of staff said to us when we were leaving, 'The room is so spoiled now that we can not use it now'.

We do not understand how the room was allowed to be used in such a state, but the response and attitude of the manager to the customers who had such horrific experience were such, one can guess what kind of hotel it is. Sorry, but our experience is no exaggeration. We think staff works very hard, but under the very poor management.

By the way, as we went into 'the cottages', there were commode, vacuum cleaner and other unsightly things were placed in the entrance. Welcoming?!?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MYBEES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandmanor, General Manager at Woodland Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we take all comments seriously as they help us improve our standards.
As before I sincerely apologise this for this experience which you entailed as this is not our usual standard of cleanliness or practice here at Woodland Manor Hotel.
All relevant departments have been spoken to and standards and training procedures have been put into place to stop this occuring in the future.
Again please accept my apologies, if you would like to contact me directly on conference@woodlandmanorhotel.co.uk I would be more than happy to discuss this further with you.
Kindest Regards
Carly Bartram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

All round good stay. Food and staff were amazing. The tables in the dining room need changing as they don't fit with the rest of hotels decor. The dining room is like going to pub. The tables are so small we had to put our drinks and wine on the floor to make space for the side plates and dinner plates.not very impressed. Also house keeping is lacking as it needs a good deep clean and redecorating. Windows and sills were filthy in dining room.and the carpet was atrocious. But overall had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busybee1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandmanor, General Manager at Woodland Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate all comments, whether they are good or bad as this helps us improve our service at Woodland Manor Hotel.
I have spoken to the Housekeeping department and a new cleaning schedule has been implemented to ensure that rooms are deep cleaned on a regular basis.
Regards
Carly Bartram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Room great! Big double bed and roomy single bed, this for just me.
Yes; decoration and plumbing leave a little to be desired but everything else more than makes up for it. Breakfast very good value and as good as central London fare. Staff v. v. accommodating, helpful and excellent map drawers. Well worth a visit.
Glass of wine a little pricey.
RIP R.B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dilston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

OK we were on a 2 day deal, we lasted 1 night... Peeling paint and wallpaper everywhere, grubby carpets throughout except the bar (which was empty)... We were so cold on our first (and only) night we had to sleep fully clothed (the room was clean(ish) though...) The waiting staff could do with some training... This place could be amazing... My worry was for the wedding that was taking place on Sunday 26th May - we couldn't get out quick enough - let's hope the wedding party felt differently... On the flipside - the food was ok, breakfast was great, however the lukewarm food is served up on stone cold plates... It had the ambience of a hospice...

Room Tip: Try the Queens Head in Milton Ernest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just spent a couple of days at this hotel. Lovely surroundings in a village close to Bedford. The food was excellent and staff very helpful, even going so far as to suggest places of interest in the vicinity. The plumbing left a lot to be desired however.

Room Tip: Ask to try the shower out first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clapham
2 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 18 in Bedford
1,669 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
356 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#14 of 18 in Bedford
241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#9 of 18 in Bedford
163 reviews
2.1 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#15 of 18 in Bedford
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Manor Hotel

Address: Green Lane, Clapham, Bedford MK41 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford > Clapham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clapham
Price Range: $93 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodland Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country manor house situated in 3 acres of gardens, 2 miles north of Bedford town centre & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Woodland Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Manor Bedford
Woodlands Manor Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing