We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ampherlaw Farmhouse Self Catering Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Ampherlaw Farmhouse Self Catering Cottage
Sleigh bed with 100% Egyptian cotton linen, throws and cushions
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bathroom
Dining Room
Dining Room
View to the South
View to the North
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Carnwath, Biggar, South Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Voyage715...
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed October 21, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Beautiful accommodation in a peaceful location. The cottage was well equipped and the welcome pack of food was a lovely addition. Would love to stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2017
Thank you for staying at Ampherlaw and for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy on your departure - greatly appreciated! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and hope that we can welcome you back some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 25, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your stay at Ampherlaw Farmhouse Luxury Self Catering Cottage. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and were able to see and do so much during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rose k
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wee break”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Excellent. home from home the cottage has everything you need perfect location very quite Cass and Charlie were perfect hosts the welcome pack has everything you need to start your holiday a great country retreat 5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about your stay at Ampherlaw Farmhouse. We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday and found everything that you needed in the cottage. Thank you for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy when you left - always greatly appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r0bbielee
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing retreat”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Our second time staying at Ampherlaw farmhouse and we weren't disappointed. The accommodation has everything you need for a luxury holiday. Cass and Charlie are wonderful hosts and the welcome hamper that was kindly provided was excellent. Edinburgh and Glasgow are only a short drive and New Lanark is an excellent day out with superb walks along the River Clyde. Livingston has a very good retail park with plenty of shops and restaurants. Peebles is also worth a visit with excellent food and service at The Crown Inn. We came back home thoroughly relaxed after our break at Ampherlaw. Thanks Cass and Charlie.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your second visit to Ampherlaw Farmhouse and were able to see and do so much during the week that you were here. Very best wishes, Cass
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon693
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb cottage for two on the fringes of the Scottish Borders.”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We have just spent a wonderful New Year in the cosy guest cottage at Ampherlaw Farm - a great place for a winter retreat. We can't wait to try the other seasons now too and look forward to returning in the future.

Charlie & Cass are perfect hosts, their attention to detail in the cottage ensures a warm welcome with everything guests could possibly need for a perfect stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed your New Year stay at Ampherlaw Farmhouse. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed spending Christmas at Ampherlaw Farmhouse and we look forward to welcoming you back again. We wish you a very happy new year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful, peaceful surroundings.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you found Ampherlaw to be the best self catering cottage that you have stayed in in the UK - what an accolade! The towns and villages that surround us are beautiful and we are so close to Edinburgh and Glasgow that guests find Ampherlaw the perfect base for exploring. Yes, a car is a must living 3 miles from the nearest town, although there are train links available close by to get to Edinburgh and Glasgow for those who prefer not to drive into the cities. Thank you again for staying with us, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing