We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, homely and food to die for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Robertson Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carnwath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I booked this hotel at the last minute as a surprise for my husband! Just needed a room for a night to see start of the "tour of Britain". Being so last minute this was the closest I could find to Peebles..... Well worth the early drive in the morning. Staff were friendly. Hotel was very clean and comfortable. As for the food..... Well if I didn't live in fife i may well have been eating there every night!!! Cooked to perfection and beautifully presented! I would highly recommend a stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loucon1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 186 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Called in for a lunchtime soup and sandwich and then later on way back from visiting Little Sparta we had a coffee in the Bistro/Bar. The soup was homemade and excellent. The cappuccino was good and the chap who served it was friendly, happy and exactly the sort of person to make the difference between a place with a good atmosphere and a place with an excellent atmosphere. The toilets were very good as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very friendly, food freshley cooked, great atmosphere. Highly recommended.You should, try the food here, great choice and good vegetarian menu. Visited with family whilst on holiday. Good children's menu.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janice770, Owner at Robertson Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your visit here and thank you for your comments.
Much appreciated by all the staff.
Jan Henderson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the 13th aug for business room is extremely comfortable and I had best night sleep here, beds very comfy good tip put the room heater on! Lol manager is fantastic funny young man makes you feel very welcome and food was good. Recommend a visit .. Be quick I managed to actually get the last room!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevo1885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed 1 night while in the area on business. Great room, friendly owners and staff, awsome food and a packed lunch (which lasted me all day) on request as I was away before breakfast. Only downside was my room was at the front over the main road through the village, as I was away early in the morning I went to bed early, and was suprised how busy the road was. Took me a while to get to sleep because of the traffic noise. Overall a good choice and I will definately stop again next time in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I have used this lovely hotel many times and we keep going back. Jan, Ray and Ryan work very hard to make this a very pleasant, warm experience.

In the cold weather there is always a wood burner to warm yourself while enjoying a great meal in the bistro.

The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 196Jinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We called into the Robertson Arms for a meal. The food was excellent, what a choice ! The staff were so friendly, helpful and attentive, despite being very busy. We will definitely be back. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnwath
6.7 mi away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#4 of 4 in Biggar
189 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Kirkstyle Hotel
The Kirkstyle Hotel
#1 of 4 in Biggar
80 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#3 of 4 in Biggar
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
6.5 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Abington M74
Days Inn Abington M74
#1 of 2 in Abington
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robertson Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robertson Arms Hotel

Address: 12-16 Main Street, Biggar ML11 8JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar > Carnwath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carnwath
Price Range: $87 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Robertson Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Robertson Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing