We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home, excellent friendly service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Thrumpton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from home, excellent friendly service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed here with friends to attend a university friends wedding at nearby Thrumpton Hall. We were so lucky to have found Hillside Cottage B&B as it was modern, very clean, friendly and inviting. After arriving at the B&B after the church ceremony to check in and freshen up before heading to the hall for the reception Karen ran us down in her 6 seater people carrier and arranged to pick us up at midnight - 'all part of the service' were her words. This allowed us to enjoy the wedding even more as we didn't have to worry about taxis etc. The morning after the night before with fuzzy heads and tired eyes we were able to enjoy the sunshine in the courtyard just outside our rooms and then devour a delicious traditional English Breakfast! yummy. Will definitely be back to this friendly, family run, comfortable B&B - highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyharry55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
44
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed in this B&B in a fully renovated house with purpose built annex for visitors. The decor was smart, clean, fresh and calm. The room was a good size with an ample modern shower room en-suite.
The house has extensive gardens in the middle of wonderful countryside with rolling hills and excellent walks.
Karen - the owner couldn't have been friendlier and the breakfast was scrumptious.
We fully recommend this B&B and our dog loved it too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Enjoyed three nights stay in this lovely B&B - room and facilities were all of excellent quality - bed very comfortable wanted to take it home! Breakfasts were excellent and the friendly owners, Karen and Jonathan, were helpful and professional. The location very close to Thrumpton Village is great for visits to Nottingham and for walking. Couldn't have been better 10/10

Room Tip: There are two rooms and both are excellent - we stayed in the Thrumpton Room which is the smaller of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TIMF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed at this B&B while racing over the weekend at Donington Park and were extremely impressed. The rooms are bright and big and absolutely spotless including the ensuites. Karen and Jonathan (the owners) welcomed us warmly and catered to our every need including a superb breakfast cooked to order! You would never believe how close by the city, airport and race circuit are, it was peaceful and quiet and we felt thoroughly relaxed (we've been caught out before staying places that are right under the flight path!). Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie34957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We loved our stay here. Extremely welcoming and helpful. Lovely room with really excellent shower and beautiful location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane1234067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for one night for a wedding reception and we absolutely loved it! The location was beautiful, the rooms were clean and trendy and the owner was a lovely woman who drove us to the wedding, made us breakfast and gave us marmelade made from her own garden. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to get away from the stress of everyday life and just take it easy and enjoy the beauty and tranquility of this place!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captain_murdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

From the moment we booked to the moment we left we felt very well looked after.
The amenities are great, the room is very well equipped and both the evening meal and breakfast were very tasty.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thrumpton
2.2 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham South Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
3.5 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beeston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hillside Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Hillside Cottage Barton Lane | Thrumpton, Thrumpton NG11 0AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Thrumpton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thrumpton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillside Cottage Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have now moved to Kegworth House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Hillside Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing