We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Warners at the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Warners at the Bay
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Warners Bay
Forster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Arrival was simple and a pleasure. A plethora of carparks(free car parks) very rare to find in Newcastle. The rooms were luxurious and large, comfortable bed and bathroom was huge, with awesome shower. The bistro was the highlight, if you're hungry don't go elsewhere go into the hotel(seperate from the motel) and there is a massive bistro with an unbelievable menu, good was fresh and hot, value for money was very good. Paid $12 for steak, chips and salad.
As I left too I asked the staff where there was a decent bottle shop, not realising they had a huge bottle Mart probably the best range I've seen. Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bhm2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    42
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
22
24
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed three nights in a two bedroom suite. Quite roomy with huge bathroom with heaps of hot water but step into spa bath/shower which would be difficult for less able people. Modern TV in each bedroom + WiFi provided free. Bathroom contained complementary shampoo etc.
Hotel dining room closed at 8.30 pm on Friday night & Very Busy on Saturday night so had room service and food was great with a very good selection. Rooms were quiet enough but beds not firm enough for us. Room contains toaster jug fridge and complementary tea coffee biscuits etc. Rooms each had an air conditioner. Second bedroom had fold out couch + roll out single bed.
Clean facility with very helpful staff and good off street free parking.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room but I believe that upstairs in better???
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhathas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

On a one night business trip, the hotel staff were friendly and the check in process was fast. The rate for what you get is very large and comfortable. The shower pressure was great, however they only have the stuck to the wall type of hair dryer.

Only room service was available for breakfast this time (second stay), but as I had an early start this didn't worry me. The walls are thin in the hotel, and the people next to me were quiet loud.

From a restaurant point of view, if the pub is closed, the only option in walking distance is McDonalds. However if you have a car, there are a number of good restaurants and cafes 5 minutes away on the lake.

For business it suited me as it was close to my clients.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My steak tasted off & they couldn't care less. That's all i really need to say isn't it!!

Everyone else was ok to good in their own words. I tasted 1 other meal & thought it was average.

Its busy, noisy, bad set out & not enjoyable at all.
The gate to the children's play area was constantly left propped open no matter how many times we shut it NOT SAFE!!!!!

I would never return, i would tell anyone i could not to go & i highly recommend you go elsewhere.

Terrible food.
Bad attitude with staff.
Slow service. Slow clean up.
Overpriced food and drinks

Frozen fish for $30 - what a ripoff!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 13b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Warners Bay hotels

Constant Traveller
Level Contributor
413 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Compared to the Warners' on the Bay Pub, the Warners on the Bay Motel is a let-down. I selected it because it was close to my customer's offices. However, next time I think I will pass on the motel and just stay in Newcastle, where real hotels are available for about the same price.

I arrived very late, after a flight from Melbourne. It was an A$80 taxi ride from the Newcastle Airport, which was a bit of a surprise in itself. Check in was pretty easy, but the electric key-card lock did not work and I had to get the night clerk to come and unlock my room. She was terrific, and unfailingly friendly and very helpful, but the building itself did not live up to her high standards.

All the local restaurants were closed, so the desk clerk helped me order a pizza. We barely made the deadline -- the pizza restaurant was closing at 11pm. Whew -- nearly to bed without a dinner!

The room itself was large enough, and clean and adequately equipped, but just a bit spartan for the prices charged (A$160 a night). The bathroom was very basic. The furniture was worn; there was a stain on the carpet. The TV was tiny and had very few offerings. But there was a luggage rack and there was wifi (free, but you get a password for each device from the front desk) but if I had to stay more than a day or two it would have been depressing.

One really unsatisfactory process: the breakfast is provided in your room, and you schedule the time when you check in. There's a tea pot and a toaster in every room, but there's no going back for seconds; there's no fruit; no muffins or any other fun stuff for breakfast. Breakfast is the leisurely beginning of my day, and this regimented process did not meet my standards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed in a standard room which was clean and tidy which was a good size and and a nice bed. The hotel in a good position all but a retail area away from Lake Macquarie only reachable by a two minute drive. That is also where the restaurant choices are as well. The hotel is located behind a pub style hotel which has entertainment so it's not far if you want pub food and drinks. To the side of the pub Warners at the Bay does have the best bottle shop I has seen for some time with hundreds of beer to choose from all around the world. And also excellent Australian small brewers selections. It's a very good place to stay to stock up your fridge with some great Australian beers.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back as the pubs entertainment can be a bit loud on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kryton4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We only stayed one night but reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was any trouble for them. Room was lovely and clean. I wanted to take the bed home with me. We did not get the opportunity to use the restaurant as we were in Warners Bay celebrating Christmas with family, but overall, would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RS_ALEXANDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warners Bay
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
2.9 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
385 reviews
7.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#1 of 2 in Warners Bay
48 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cardiff Motor Inn
Cardiff Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Cardiff
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tantarra Bed & Breakfast
Tantarra Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Warners Bay
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warners at the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warners at the Bay

Property: Warners at the Bay
Address: 320 Hillsborough Rd, Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2282, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Warners Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Warners Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Warners at the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Warners at the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warners At The Bay Warners Bay, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing