We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy sunday arvo catch up”
Review of Warners at the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Warners at the Bay
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Warners Bay
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lazy sunday arvo catch up”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very relaxing and a huge selection of meals which are ample size and well priced. Has a beaut outdoors area and several large indoor areas. If you have kids not a problem they cater with a childs menu also a large enclosed play area/equipment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeaniedoyle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    42
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
22
24
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Im in Newcastke on Business and Came to this hotel so my work chose this hotel as it was close to my business meetings. Can I say that I found this a comfortabke ok Hotel nothing really too special, clean rroms, size Ok, Bathroom Ok and service was OK location was good for me as it was close to the company I came to meet with. Staff are nice

Room Tip: Nice Rooms ask the staff to guide you on where to go in Newcastle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Warners At The Bay is actually a bistro/bar/conference centre with an attached accommodation wing. I’m struggling to define the accommodation. It’s not quite a hotel but far more than a motel – perhaps a mohotel.

Basically two wings adjoined in the centre by a reception area, we stayed in a Deluxe King room. The room was spacious, the design elements suggesting more of a hotel feel. A wall mounted flat panel television and air conditioning adding to the modern feel. The soft furnishings, décor and heavy curtains gave a slightly luxurious feel to the room and elevated the experience beyond what one might expect from a motel.

Quality outdoor furniture continued this feeling out to the balcony.

It’s very clear that an investment has been made in this place. It feels really lovely in the room.

Attached to the mohotel is a bar and bistro complex externally panelled in wood which, from the rear entrance closest to our accommodation gives a rustic impression somewhere between a woolshed and “Lasseters” on Neighbours. Initial impressions are very misleading, however, as the whole place opens up to reveal a series of open plan areas, bars, gaming, live entertainment, lounging patio and bistro dining facilities.

The bistro is brilliant, the portions generous and the pub prices (both on food and drinks) ensure a well priced and enjoyable experience in relaxed surrounds. As to the cost of our room, its more than one might expect from a typical motel, but not that much more.

Warners At the Bay is a real find. I would happily return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in a Standard Room with a Queen bed on the ground floor which was a good size, the receptionist was helpful and fast on both check in and out. The room was clean, the bed was OK, maybe time for a change here guys. Wall mounted large Flat screen showing Foxtel and the usual channels.Fully stocked mini bar. Free Fast Internet which is nice. Bathroom was OK, the shower tiles need a regrout but not too bad really. Shower water pressure good. Large bath towels nice. The usual shampoo, conditioner and hand lotion of good quality. Meals available from adjoining bistro/bar , I had the $12 Rump steak which consisted of a decent size/quality rump with chips & salad. Great value. Overall a nice quiet place to stay for a few days.

Room Tip: book directly with hotel as they match Wotif without the booking fee and credit card charges. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmalauditor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Clean, comfortable room, no problems at all, however the location was a bit of a problem, hard to find!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is located FAR FROM THE BAY it's actually in a furniture warehouse, quite busy area with car security problems as it shares a car park with the local quite rowdy hotel next door & several teen hang out areas surrounding. The hall way entries are very dimly lit & the King bed had a big SAG in the middle. The included breakfast was NOT available even though we had paid for it as it closes at 9am long before hotel checkout which the staff had neglected to inform us. We could hear noise from the other occupants of the hotel until late at night. The shower was so small you kept knocking the tap off as you were showering. The meals in the adjoining hotel were enjoyable although quite expensive for 2 cutlets on a pile of mashed potato with a few spinach leaves to decorate. Would I stay again NO I'd look elsewhere as Lake Macquarie is quite a pretty area with better accommodation that has water views in better locations

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cookieau2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Warners Bay hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with other friends from other states and found the room clean, comfortable. The rooms have plenty of space and some have balcony's which you could sit and relax each afternoon with a cold drink.
The staff are friendly and could not do enough to make our stay pleasant.
They charge you $10.00 per room per night for breakfast in the Pub on site, breakfast is ok nothing flash Eggs, Bacon, Hasbrown, Tomatoes, sausage, Toash and Ceral. When you stay for more then one night you would like a change.
The meals for Lunch and Dinner in the pub bistro are great value.
The only complaint i have is on some of the rooms the auto closing would make the doors bang shut and seem to echo through the room which was annoying.

Room Tip: noise wise the units 1 - 11 are the better one to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluey_old_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warners Bay
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
2.9 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
385 reviews
7.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
349 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#1 of 2 in Warners Bay
48 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cardiff Motor Inn
Cardiff Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Cardiff
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warners at the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warners at the Bay

Property: Warners at the Bay
Address: 320 Hillsborough Rd, Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2282, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Warners Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Warners Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Warners at the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Warners at the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warners At The Bay Warners Bay, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing