We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch out for bed bugs”
Review of Warners at the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Warners at the Bay
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Warners Bay
Reviewed November 20, 2011

stayed there a for a night and it was my worst experience in a motel ever! woke up in the middle of the night thinking l was being bitten by mosquitoes, only to turn on the light and to my horror saw bed bugs crawling all over! l still get goose bumps when l think about it! would never recommend this place, not even to my worst enemy!!!!!!!!!!! had to pay to fumigate my car after paying heaps for the crappy accomodation!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bubbles139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 105 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

The walls at this motel are paper thin and coupled with the pub visiting clientele there can be a lot of noise late at night in the hallways, the other rooms and even outside. The breakfast is reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room along the rear of the building to reduce noise from the car park and pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank SamThorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We chose this hotel as it was a last minute trip and EVERYTHING else in Newcastle was booked so our expectations weren’t that high. The staff were very friendly and happy to help with any request from the initial booking till when we checked out. However the rooms do need a bit of maintenance, the location isn’t that great and it is pretty noisy particularly if you are there on a Friday/Saturday night and have little children. If we didn’t have a little baby the pub and entertainment so close would be fantastic. Overall not too bader place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelCanberra10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Stayed for two nights with my partner and mostly we were impressed, especially to begin. Our room was clean all over which was good and the beds were comfy.

HOWEVER, when we wanted to use the spa that first night it didn't work and we had to switch rooms at 1:30am. The staff were friendly and quick to solve the problem but it did ruin the moment. The room we switched to had a clogged sink and took about 10 minutes for the water to go down the drain. They were also very unorganised as their brochure said we could get complimentary toothbrushes, combs, shaving gear etc however when we tried to get some of these things they didn't even have them. The room we switched into was also not cleaned as housekeeping didn't attend to it that day.

Troubles with foxtel channels and the staff didn't (or couldn't) do anything about it. Also when we went to check out we were accused of taking a drink we didn't take from the minibar. We were charged $4 for a can of drink that wasn't in the room to begin with. They said we replaced a can of lift with a can of solo that was already in the room. They need more organisation in knowing what they have stocked. Felt disrespected and offended by this. Also breakfast was 'included' in the night's fee but if you chose not to get breakfast it saved you $30.

Overall though it was a pleasant stay, it was quiet, staff were friendly (except for the woman that charged us for that drink), it was mostly clean and enjoyable. It simply should have been a bit cheaper for what we got.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mw10193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Great value for money. Fantastic service. Staff very helpfull. Had great meals in the bistro. Will stay again

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogueAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I recently stayed at thisa Motel, i found it to be one of the most comfortable Motels that I have stayed at and the fact that there was live entertainment on both Friday and Saturday night that was of a very high standard (not just your normal pub junk).
The meals that we all had at the Bistro were of great quality and the serving size was enormous,
Over all i found this place to have a all in one weekend away, Bed, Entertainment and a great bottleshop,

Also the staff were all very polite and friendly (very rare these days)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shane1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

My partner and I stayed two nights. The motel is located in a light industrial area and quite out of the way, certainly not near the water!

The staff were great and always around.

The room was ordinary. The bathroom was clean but needed maintenance. The curtains did not block out the carpark lights and were hard to open/close. The bed was very soft and springly, The linen was poor and in fact our bed was short sheeted in that the bottom sheet did not go the to bottom of the bed!

The hotel nearby has bands on Friday and Saturday nights so expect some noise if your room faces the pub.

The breakfast (included) was great but you will be eating in the pub! No dining room here.

Also there are really no amenities like a pool or such.

We can't fathom how it made 4 star??? This is the problem with these rating systems. The motel simply ticks all the boxes and gets a rating

Next time we will stay somewhere else. Good luck!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wing6rider-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warners Bay
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
2.9 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
415 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Newcastle
Ibis Budget Newcastle
#1 of 1 in Wallsend
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Squid's Ink Hotel
Squid's Ink Hotel
#4 of 4 in Belmont
90 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#1 of 2 in Warners Bay
59 reviews
2 mi away
Pippi's at the Point
Pippi's at the Point
#1 of 1 in Speers Point
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warners at the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warners at the Bay

Address: 320 Hillsborough Rd, Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2282, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Warners Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Warners Bay
Price Range: $88 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warners at the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Warners at the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warners At The Bay Warners Bay, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing