We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Spanish food on the lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bocados - CLOSED

Bocados
Price range: $19 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bocados Warners Bay is an intimate Spanish Tapas bar serving authentic food, transporting its diners on a Journey to Spain. With Small 'Tapas', larger 'Racions' and banquet menus for customers to share and enjoy, or dine in a traditional entree and Main format. We also offer great Spanish wines and beers and traditional spanish sangria, coffee,dessert and churros.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Spanish food on the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Yum, yum. We two dined on a selection of tasty tapas. Loved the tapas; white anchovies, squid, garlic prawns and chorizo were really tasty. Specials looked great but we were replete and decided against more. Saw the paella which we will try next time. Good BYO policy, friendly service and good food explain why the restaurant was full. We really enjoyed this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JudiHCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    34
    13
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warners Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food ok. Disorganised service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had been wanting to dine at Bocados for some time & were invited on a group outing with friends to go to this restaurant. Unfortunately our experience was not as good as we expected.
Our group was for a booking of nine adults, however we were crowded around a table that was obviously for six people tops. The two waiters were dressed in casual clothes making it hard to distinguish them in this very busy restaurant. Table water was served in old dark wine bottles, the same colour as the wine we ordered so it was hard to notice which was wine & which was water. Also no ice buckets for the white wine on a warm evening! When our banquet meals (finally) arrived, we found the food to be quite nice. The table became cluttered with empty dishes & drink bottles. This seemed to be ignored by the wait staff. One of our group cleared the table & took the dishes out to the kitchen himself.
After this evenings experience at Bocados we will not be returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Food OK, service clearly considered optional”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Warners Bay, despite the ideal location, has long been sold short when it comes to good dining. And I am sorry to say that the stakes haven't advanced any with the arrival of Bocados.

After reading favourable reviews on TripAdvisor and elsewhere, my wife and I very much looked forward to sampling some Spanish cuisine at Bocados. While the quality of the food was generally pretty good (barring every dish being unnecessarily laced with chilli), the service was so poor it was a joke.

We thought we had given ourselves ample time by allowing 1 1/2 hours to have a meal before heading off to the movies. We arrived on time for our booked table and limited our choices to 2 tapas dishes and 2 mains. The waiter did caution us that the lamb loin special selected for a main could take a little longer to cook but he would do his best to see it arrive with the other main. He needn't have bothered.

First tapas dish (white bait) arrived within 10 minutes of ordering - good. Second tapas dish (BBQ squid) took a further 20 minutes to materialise. 20 minutes later the lamb arrives - "better not wait" says the missus, mindful of the earlier wait on the second tapas. After a further 10 minutes of my wife staring into space as I eat my main we finally get the attention of a waitress, who initially thought it was nice when I said I had had my meal for over 10 minutes and my wife's meal was yet to arrive. After I got a little blunt, she goes to check on the order, returning to say it will be another 4 minutes. 15 minutes pass by and my meal is long gone before my wife's paella finally arrives, by this time it is only a few minutes before our necessary departure time. Waiter is very apologetic saying that the delay was his fault and committing to waive the charge for the dish. Rushed scoffing down of the paella by my wife while I now pick up duties of staring off into space, before making a hasty dash to the car to arrive at our movie session just as the lights are turning down.

And for the full hour and 40 minutes that we were at Bocados, the table next to us remained littered with the food of the party that departed just as we arrived. Wait staff walking past every few minutes and seemed to have plenty of time to casually chat to diners yet not one could be bothered to pick up a cloth and clean a table.

While the food would warrant a return visit, the poor service and noisy atmosphere will not see us return to Bocados.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Three of us had a very enjoyable meal - five tapas plates were sufficient. Staff is very friendly and helpful in describing each dish (they know their food). Will certainly return, if only for the great Spanish Verdhejo house wine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StayalotNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food but service while friendly was very lacking.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have eaten here about 6 to 8 times since it opened and have always been impressed with the food. We are however getting bored with same menu since they opened and few specials available and often ones we have seen previously.
This time the service was disapointing. We had to ask for service in order to get anything and the wait staff were just not aware when patrons were trying to get their attention. It became very frustrating. In the end we had to go to the counter to order our desert.
We had to ask for an ice bucket for our white wine on a 30 + degree evening and the amount of ice in the bucket was so stingy it was gone in 5mins and we had to ask for more. I am sure with more attentive staff we would have ordered more drinks and tapas dishes.
Dont get me wrong, i love this place but they need to remember why they are there?

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sephani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocados also viewed

Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
 
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing