We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing lunch,great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brown Sugar

Brown Sugar
Ranked #6 of 45 Restaurants in Warners Bay
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing lunch,great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Friends recommended that we enjoy the Lunch Special currently available as they had during the week. We were welcomed and given a table by the window overlooking Lake Macquarie. Staff were friendly and proficient, offering iced water as we sat down. The special lunch menu was quite varied, salad fresh. Delicious home baked cake followed the main. Great value.
The decor is modern and well appointed a delightful lunchtime venue. We'll happily return to try
other menu options.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank absax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    68
    38
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
404 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Overlooking the fabulous Lake Macquarie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This restaurant is in a great position, first floor and overlooking the lake at Warners Bay and nice and close to home. They have a good selection on the menu and not all of it is seafood, so there is plenty to choose from, you won't be disappointed... ask for a seat next to the window when booking for views over the lake,

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozziechick45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food and Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Recently lived in Lake Macquarie NSW and found this little gem of a restaurant. The owner and the Maitre de , Cameron ,we very friendly and nothing was a problem. Gret selection of seafood, meat etc on the menu and the quality was in the eating +++. fine wine and great service. That's all you want. However there is then the view over the lake, very relaxing. I would highly recommend this to anyone. Great value for the meal, when next back down we will certainly visit +++++AAAAA

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We went to brown sugar for our wedding anniversary and had a perfect evening right down to the gorgeous sunset which added that something special to the evening.
The wine was great, the meals were so delicious and the service was by far the best I've had at any restaurant for a long time. Whilst our mains of chicken and steak were fabulous, the prawn bruschetta was superb and the creme brûlée was amazing. Even the coffee was faultless. A truly memorable evening. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Jennya0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“"A most enjoyable evening"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We dined in a group of 6 on a very busy Saturday night. The restaurant was full to capacity and there was a function in the adjoining room. Despite this, the meals were delicious, arrived within an acceptable time and the staff were very attentive. We had a great view of the sunset and best of all, it was great value.
I will definitely be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenSaraAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Sugar also viewed

Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
 
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
 

Been to Brown Sugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing