We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go past this restaurant”
Review of Brown Sugar

Brown Sugar
Ranked #7 of 45 Restaurants in Warners Bay
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You can't go past this restaurant”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

What can I say, superb food, large portions, excellent atmosphere and great service. I would highly recommend this restaurant to any couple or group (minus the kids). The mains are about $40 each, however we used our Entertainment Card which made the night very reasonable. I had the Seafood Linguine - too large for me to eat the whole meal and my partner had steak, which was just melt in your mouth. The staff were very tentive also.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lexie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    72
    39
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great food, great view!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Every time I eat at this restaurant I am pleasantly suprised by a new menu. The food is always top quality. You can tell there's a chef in the kitchen not a cook! The view is lovely and the restaurant is a nice size, not too big not too small. It can get quite loud on busy nights. I would definitely recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuceTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant View.”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Somewhere special for a romantic meal - Recommend the seafood platter ;)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karenh065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality food and service”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We went for our wedding anniversary and had perfectly cooked steaks. Oysters were great! Service was very attentive and timely. Will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Histo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brown Sugar for a Wedding Venue”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We recently attended the wedding reception of our Neice and her husband at Brown Sugar. Firstly, we could not fault the service. Michael the owner went out of his way to ensure that all guests were well looked after. The waitstaff were well presented, extremely polite and always visible to wait on the guests.
There were approx 80 guests and the room is split level with a step in the middle. On the lower level (closest to the entry) there were 7 large round tables seating 8 guests each and on the upper level, 2 rectangle tables (where immediate families were seated) also seating 8 guests and the bridal table which was set along the back wall seated 8. There was plenty of room on the upper area for the DJ, gift table, cake table and a podium & microphone for speeches and dance floor. It was a bit of a squeeze between the tables on the lower floor area when the bride and groom entered and people had to move out of their seats to let them through.
The tables were set in the usual fashion for a 3 course dinner and the table decorations were elegant lit candle vases supplied by Brown Sugar.
Champagne, Orange Juice and Beer were served on arrival and Canapes were served for approx 20 mins. Red and white wines were on each table and were a nice selection of Rothbury semillon sauvignon blanc & Rothbury cabernet merlot. The food was nice. Entree's consisted of Pumpkin & sage ravioli w tomato sauce & parmesan cheese or Salt, pepper & smoked paprika calamari w lime aioli (cooked perfectly) served on a bed of rocket. The mains were a BBQ Swordfish, very tasty but some did complain a tad dry) served with sundried Tomato butter & couscous & roast potatos, Chargrilled rib eye fillet w café de paris (medium rare and a little too rare for my tastes), a perfetly cooked Cornfed chicken fillet w mango & watercress salad and stuffed tomatoes with couscous for vegetarians. A nice selection of lovely fresh steamed veges were served at the tables with the mains. All meals were served alternatively. The wedding cake was cut between entree and main meal and was served as desert with berri coulis and whipped cream out of a can (would have been nicer with a thick King Island cream or equivalent). $3 per head was taken off the cost of the package for the cake being used as desert.
A slide show of photo's was set up and screened on a pulldown screen behind the bride and groom. It was great for the guests to view and an entertaining segment to the night and whilst a little difficult for the bride and groom to see, they didn't mind turning around and moving along to view it. There is an alternative screen on the lower area but not in a practical spot. Be aware that you must provide your own projector.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jendor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Sugar also viewed

Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
 
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
 

Been to Brown Sugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing