We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tantarra Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Warners Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We wanted to go to Bali this year but alas it didnt happen, so we looked around for somewhere very close to our home in Sydney that we could escape to just for the weekend - and if we were really lucky it might even have a Bali feel. Then we found Tantarra on the net. Wow, just what we needed! Perfect! and our hosts were so lovely. Being able to take our dog along made it even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 121 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

While up from Sydney househunting My partner and I stayed twice in a different room each time. Both were beutifully decorated and clean. Our favourit was Shambala which faces out over the pool and lovely tranquil backyard. This room is larger than the rest more like a small suite, with large bathroom and a bidet. I would love to be able to pick it up and transfer it home. My poodle loved the freedom to wander about the yard and to be inside with us.
Kim and Serena are great hosts, very helpful advising us where we could get a meal but I must say Serena's breakfasts are to die for. You are spoilt with choices from continetal style to a full breakfast, generous in size and beautifully cooked. Even the dog got a treat.

Room Tip: Shambala, overlooks the pool and yard but still very peacefull and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at Tantarra for just one night on our travels from Melbourne to Brisbane with my little puppy dog. We has a fantastic time, felt extremely welcomed and comfortable the whole stay. Harry our puppy dog loved his biscuits for breakfast and chasing the birds around the pool! The room was stunning and I would love to return in the future!
Kind Regards
Emma Palmer

Room Tip: We stayed in the shambala suite, it's beautiful and cosy with plenty of room to move around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Thank you for a memorable stay. Even though it rained it was the best get away from the hectic life. It is sooooo difficult to find a beautiful place to stay with pets. We will be back!!! Thanks once again!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bingo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

For those of you who want a real home cooked breakfast when you are on holidays, this is the place!, large selection of options or mix and match. Yumo!! My favourite thing was the mushrooms with a tomato cream sauce :) The room was beautifully appointed and comfortable, as was the daybed by the pool. The only thing I would suggest would be a separate hot water service for guests' rooms to ensure there is no fluctuations. Overall we had a wonderful time with our two dogs and the hosts were lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I like how the house set up and facilities. My dog loves it too. Perfectly for stop over a night or relax a few days.

I travelled from Canberra with a friend and an old spoiled dog to QLD. It was a bit much to drive none stop so we decided to stop here first for a night. We had a lovely time catching up with an online friend for dinner.

The breakfast was so yummy and friendly group of people who love dogs. Enjoy the stay...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khunying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed in Shambala with wife and poodles. Room was large, immaculate and tastefully furnished. Bathroom was large and modern, and the bidet came with instructions.. Serena was a lovely host and cooked a delicious breakfast.
As an added bonus, Kim is a marriage counsellor though you need to book that separately.
Would definitely recommend, and stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klattu_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warners Bay
0.7 mi away
Warners at the Bay
Warners at the Bay
#2 of 2 in Warners Bay
105 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
5.7 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#1 of 2 in Warners Bay
59 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pippi's at the Point
Pippi's at the Point
#1 of 1 in Speers Point
52 reviews
5 mi away
Belmont Palms Motel
Belmont Palms Motel
#2 of 6 in Belmont
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantarra Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantarra Bed & Breakfast

Address: 119 Bayview St, Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2282, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Warners Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Warners Bay
Price Range: $89 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tantarra Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tantarra is just 1 hour North of Hornsby, 2 minutes drive to beautiful Lake Macquarie and just 10 minutes to fantastic beaches and Newcastle city centre. Suitable for singles, couples, small groups and business travellers, we offer 3 boutique rooms in a unique and relaxed hosted Bed & Breakfast experience. Spend time contemplating in tranquil South-east Asian style gardens, sip wine by the pool or just relax in your well appointed rooms. Your tariff also includes a comprehensive choice of cafe-style cooked or continental breakfasts each morning. Check out and "like" Facebook page for some great discounts and last minute deals. Although a traditional Bed and Breakfast, Tantarra has been designed to offer you both privacy and your own entrance - allowing for 24 hour access. Besides being a unique B&B experience for ALL travelers, Tantarra is also Newcastle's Premier PET-FRIENDLY Bed and Breakfast destination dedicated to offering both you and your fur-friend as comfortable a stay as possible. Your accommodation choices include: - Lotus Queen Bedrooms - EACH suitable for 2; or our very exotic "Shambala" suite - suitable for 2 or 3; or you can combine 2 OR 3 rooms to suit small groups of up to 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tantarra Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantarra Bed & Breakfast Warners Bay, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing