We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tantarra Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Warners Bay B&B and Inns
Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rest Break”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

travelling home to Bathurst from the Nth coast with my small dog, this B&B is a great 1/2 way point to stop and spend a restful and relaxing night. Peaceful relaxing pool area and not far from shops and Lake macquarie.

breakfast is included and they gave me a discount for being solo, I think it is called the shambala room, opens onto the pool area.
friendly hosts who don't intrude on your privacy!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    8
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
68
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

A week of peaceful and relaxing nights in our suite, nice and large with a day bed/couch thingy, tastefully decorated, the bathroom is nicely done, friendly hosts were helpful and unintrusive. The breakfasts where great every day.
A very relaxing spot to stay, didn't get into the pool much but was great when we did, would stay again if up that way, close enought to Newcastle to travel there each day too. Great Spot, some great food nearby in Warners Bay also.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to stay in there biggest room! Was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My wife and I spend a marvellous night at this property earlier in the year. The hosts are great, and the room we stayed in extremely nice with everything we needed. We were in transit between places to live and it was brilliant to be able to take our cat along with us. The pool area out the back was very pleasant and peaceful. It was a bit cooler the day we were there, but in warmer weather it would be a great place to relax. Nice and handy to shops and the lake etc. Couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrukk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My husband myself and our dog stayed at Tantarra for three nights in March. It was peaceful and relaxing and I can highly recommend the day bed by the pool. Our dog loved sniffing around the garden and the pool. The room was fantastic and the bed so comfortable. The breakfast each morning which Kim and Serena cooked for us was wonderful. Plenty of choices and so yummy.

I would hughly recommend Tantarra to anyone looking for someone to stay in the Newcastle Area.

Room Tip: We had the room that opened onto the pool. Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights for our wedding anniversary getaway and we were not disappointed. We also had our pug with us and he enjoyed himself immensely! There was a lovely little garden near the pool where he kept himself entertained (and did his 'business'). We highly recommend the Shambala suite as we had complete privacy and had a breakfast room with a kitchenette area to heat up food and make tea and coffee. That suite is also closest to the pool, which was just perfect on a hot November's day! Breakfast was divine - we especially loved the Tantarra Pancake Stack - soooo yummy!! Thank you Kim & Serena for making our stay so special and memorable! We hope to visit again soon!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantarra, Owner at Tantarra Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you so very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed two peaceful and relaxing nights in the Shambala suite. The room was large, spacious and tastefully decorated. The bed large and comfortable and the bathroom nicely appointed.

The hosts were friendly, helpful and unintrusive. The breakfast omelette the best I've ever tasted. A huge thanks to the hosts, who provided us with the perfect setting to unwind and enjoy our last few days in Australia.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The room was smaller than I thought it would be from the photos but very comfortable and well appointed. My room opened onto a kitchenette/sitting room shared with another couple so very good if you are travelling with friends but perhaps not if you are planning on romance.
The pool area is sublime and I would book in to stay in the room facing onto this area if my partner was with me as it is just gorgeous. Breakfast was great, hosts lovely.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with others get the rooms that share a sitting room. For a romantic experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WenZan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantarra, Owner at Tantarra Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thankyou for your review. When we have single travellers they tend to [understandably] ask or require the most economical room. This also applies to businesses who book for their staff. We are a traditional and pet friendly Bed and Breakfast and do not exclusively promote or cater to the "romantic". We have a range of accommodation to suit - as best as we can - a wide range of "reasons to stay" - offering to all - regardless of their reason a comfortable bed, a hearty breakfast and a garden escape reminiscent of the "East".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warners Bay
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Warners at the Bay
Warners at the Bay
#2 of 2 in Warners Bay
99 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
357 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#1 of 2 in Warners Bay
54 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pippi's at the Point
Pippi's at the Point
#1 of 1 in Speers Point
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantarra Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantarra Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tantarra Bed & Breakfast
Address: 119 Bayview St, Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2282, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Warners Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Warners Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tantarra Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tantarra is just 1 hour North of Hornsby, 2 minutes drive to beautiful Lake Macquarie and just 10 minutes to fantastic beaches and Newcastle city centre. Suitable for singles, couples, small groups and business travellers, we offer 3 boutique rooms in a unique and relaxed hosted Bed & Breakfast experience. Spend time contemplating in tranquil South-east Asian style gardens, sip wine by the pool or just relax in your well appointed rooms. Your tariff also includes a comprehensive choice of cafe-style cooked or continental breakfasts each morning. Check out and "like" Facebook page for some great discounts and last minute deals. Although a traditional Bed and Breakfast, Tantarra has been designed to offer you both privacy and your own entrance - allowing for 24 hour access. Besides being a unique B&B experience for ALL travelers, Tantarra is also Newcastle's Premier PET-FRIENDLY Bed and Breakfast destination dedicated to offering both you and your fur-friend as comfortable a stay as possible. Your accommodation choices include: - Lotus Queen Bedrooms - EACH suitable for 2; or our very exotic "Shambala" suite - suitable for 2 or 3; or you can combine 2 OR 3 rooms to suit small groups of up to 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tantarra Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantarra Bed & Breakfast Warners Bay, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing