We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no mate of mine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Railway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Railway Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Culham B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“no mate of mine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

went to this pub for sunday lunch as recommended by a friend of my wifes, it was about 2.30 and only about 7 or 8 people in eating food which was strange for a pub thats " so good" there was 3 of us and we sat at a table and the waitress asked us what we wanted, two of us went for roast lamb and one for lamb shank,after about 3 minutes the waitress came back to tell us there was no roast lamb so we asked if there were 3 lamb shanks which we were informed there was so we waited for those to arrive, after about 5 minutes the waitress returned to tell us that there were no lamb shanks in the freezer so once again we had to choose something else, we chose the roast beef and after about 10 minutes it arrived, plenty of beef which was so tender it just fell to pieces but the veg's were a bit on the tough side but it was quite a good plate of food,but all in all the main grumble i have is the the old man behind the bar who kept calling me "mate" which i really hate because i am their customer and feel i should be called sir i know that sounds snobbish but i feel right is right, i'm no mate of his and he's no mate of mine, his final words were see you again mate, no i don't think so.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chlodarfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    31
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
13
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crayford, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 days, from 4th August to 7th August. We had a delightful stay here. The hosts and regulars were welcoming, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast lovely. The Guinness was good and I had the black cherry Bulmers which was really nice. Situated right next to the station was great, it was only a 10 minute journey into Oxford. Plenty to do, we went on the open top bus trip and had a trip on the river. The trains aren't very regular but as long as you know the times, its not a problem as they are very reliable. The noise from the trains was minimal, in fact you tended to forget you were next to the line.
Lovely time, thank you, from Helen and Tony.

Room Tip: The only thing to note as far as we are concerned is that the beds although very comfortable were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Coming down the Thames path we were gagging for a good pint and were not disappointed. Had a great mixed grill and a few pints from the hand-pump. all of which were great, and then the next morning the best breakfast of the whole trip.
Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickieBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Walking the Thames Way and chose the Railway Inn for our first overnight stop. Great little find, friendly and welcoming staff. Good beer and good food. The breakfast was the best we had on the whole walk. Of course there were trains (it is called the Railway Inn) but when you have been walking all day you soon get to sleep and nothing wakes you up. Would recommend this establishment to anyone walking the Thames Way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The staff were really nice and friendly. Breakfast was good. Room was terrible. twin room beds were so small you could not roll over with-out losing the sheet or falling out. As others have remarked,the railway's go's right past. Ideal if you like your trains. But from 5am the freight trains go pass and rattled the pillow under my head. Also made our bathroom floor virbrate for some reason. And the bathroom, taking a pee while standing up involved leaning against the wall and ducking. The roof eaves cut through the bathroom. Had to duck the whole time I was in there.
For reference dont get out of bed to fast if you are in the top bedrooms. The dent in the celling was from me head..sorry about that!
Plus points..Abingdon bridge beer server in the bar is very nice.Food nice pub grub.Breakfast good.
Bad points....wish I had slept in the car.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndon011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a pleasant stay, a nice evening in the bar with nice food. The owners are very friendly and helpful.
Our room was in a kind of annex, clean and comfortable. The bed was a little small, but comfortable.
The trains were as noisy as we expected, but next to our room was a water pump that came on loudly every time somebody used a water tap, flushed a toilet or had a shower which was occasionally during the night and then very frequently after 7 am.
The floors were also creaky, and we could hear the people in the next room walking to and from the toilet, opening doors and dropping things.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAndLynda_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

A great place to stay. Friendly welcome and a clean comfortable room. Dinner in the restasurant offered a simple and perfectly adequate menu. Nice to stay somewhere at a B&B price with a restaurant and bar on site. Staff were great and were happy to supply a packed lunch when requested.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CommsExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culham
3.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
4.6 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.4 mi away
Zouch Farm Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 1 in Clifton Hampden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Property: The Railway Inn
Address: Station Road, Culham OX14 3BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Culham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Culham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Railway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing