We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very friendly”
Review of The Railway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Railway Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Culham B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is a hotel that isn't pretending to be something it isn't. It hasn't gone for the trappings of a 'boutique style' but is just good, honest and friendly. My room was bright, clean and had everything I needed for my one night stay. Due to my timings, I found I was in the dining room eating alone, but I wasn't lonely as everyone was so friendly. I had a velux window over my bed and as it rained heavily during the night - it was very relaxing to listen to, and see, the rain. The train line is adjacent to the Inn - but although it is very audible, it didn't disturb and I slept better than I have done in weeks. The 'proper' full English breakfast was excellent - and the large wild boar sausage is a taste experience not to be missed (I couldn't eat all mine at breakfast so I took it away with me and ate it in the car on the way home).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beemerboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 94 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

Small and friendly place.
Very clean good sized rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claretcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed at the Railway for a number of weeks on business and thoroughly enjoyed every minute the rooms are clean and well equipped and the service is excellent. They serve traditional English fayre at very reasonable prices. Pauline and Roy made every effort to make my stay a happy one backed up by their very helpful and friendly staff.

Stephen De Silva

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desilvasds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Lovely powerfull shower n nice n clean,good food,good beer and nice people...

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owenjones78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: I would say n. 9 would be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank UnoDeiTanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Vezia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: トランクを抱える御仁はファーストフロア(日本式二階)をリクエストすべし。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 金玉親爺
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Address: Station Road, Culham OX14 3BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Culham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Culham
Price Range: $103 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Railway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railway Inn is a Traditional English Pub, Restaurant with 10 Rooms 3 star Bed and Breakfast accommodation. We are situated adjacent to Culham Railway Station. Local to Abingdon and Didcot. Culham Science Centre is a short walk from us. All the rooms are en-suite. There are 4 Double rooms, 3 Twin rooms, 2 Family rooms and a Double de Luxe. Room prices are inclusive of breakfast which is cooked to order. The Railway Inn has a Restaurant/Lounge Bar which serves a menu from Steaks, Home made Pies to simple Ham and Egg. No food is served after 3pm Sunday until 6pm Monday evening. The seperate Public Bar has a TV for BT sports and other programmes. Occasional Parties on Saturday nights if requested. Winners of Best of Abingdon 2016 and 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing