We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Diamond of a place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large leather sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Large leather sofa
Shower room
Clifton Hampden bridge, just by the barn
The village shop
The Barley Mow pub, just over the bridge
The River Thames
The church
Day trip to Oxford - 15 mins on the train
Abingdon - nearest town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Clifton Hampden, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
B7766CCan...
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Diamond of a place to stay”
Reviewed August 8, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Booked this barn rental for me and my husband ( who has recently had below knee amputation of his leg. ) thought it looked perfect for him all on one level. And what a gem it is. Everything you need in a holiday rental. Very comfy king size bed, and excellent shower. Clifton Hampden is close to all amenities of Oxford. And also within minutes of Blenheim palace. Amber this barn is perfect for anyone who wants a lovely get away in Oxfordshire. Will definitely recommend to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow...
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had the pleasure of staying here for 5 nights in May and found it an excellent place to stay. The main room was roomy, the kitchen had good facilities, the bathroom was modern and well appointed and the king size bed really comfortable. There is a local shop just up the road and the Barley Mow Chef and Brewer is five minutes over the beautiful bridge of the river Thames. Amber is a welcoming host and really can recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmccullou...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Magical!!!! Total escape from hectic Washington D.C. life.”
Reviewed November 17, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Penrose Barn and Amber, the owner, are medicine for the soul. Amber is lovely, accommodating and thoughtful. The cottage is charming and vintage on the outside, contemporary and comfortable on the inside. We rented a car and were able to explore all around the Cotswolds, Oxford and Bath very easily. Barley Mow - the pub/restaurant across the bridge, is cozy with very good food. Planning on returning next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The bed. Mattress is rather soft and found ourselves rolling into the middle most nights
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Great place, very tastefully decorated, extremely comfortable and incredibly good value - this has the look and feel of somewhere much more expensive. It's also very handily situated for walking along the river - it's right outside the front door. Amber is charming and helpful - highly recommended!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bluepete...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 15, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Just A Few Words To Describe Our Stay At Penrose Barn....
Greeted by Ambers mother...First sight Wow ! its beautiful...So want to stay longer and write review...Its spotless and ideal for two...We went various places during our short stay but was always looking forward to return to the barn.
Helpful Friendly Cannot Praise Enough

Thank You Amber And Her Mum.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TweetieTr...
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Love it! Love it! Love it!”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If we could stay in identical properties anywhere in the world that we might travel we would be happy travelers. It was perfect for us. Spacious, well-appointed and designed, with a great blend of the old wood and thatched roof and the modern conveniences and style. Great bed, lovely bathroom and shower, and full working kitchen. Amber provided some staples in both kitchen and bath, along with a flashlight, backpack, and umbrella. If you are coming home after dark, be sure to leave the outside lights on and take the flashlight.

We didn't have a chance to fully explore the neighborhood but did enjoy the nearby Barley Mow (pub) and Vine and Spice (Indian). Our first full day, we drove to Blenheim Palace in our rental and then on to several Cotswolds villages. The second day we took the train from Didcot Parkway to Bath. The third and fourth days we took the train from Didcot Parkway to Oxford. There are so many places that are very accessible from Penrose Barn, both by car and by train. Our trip to Heathrow on Saturday morning took about an hour, in case that helps anyone.

Amber, the owner, was most helpful. The Barn has books, maps, and pamphlets filled with ideas for activities and adventures. This is really a special property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and design.
Liked least: Traffic noise even though it seems you are in the country.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing