We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home comfort in this cosy hotel”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plough Inn
Reviewed February 10, 2011

My colleague and I stayed here overnight for a business trip. We received a lovely, warm welcome and I was taken to a gorgeous large bedroom with high beams and a beautiful 4 poster bed. The room was lovely and warm and the shower was hot and powerful!! Both rooms were spotlessly clean.
We had dinner in the pub restaurant and sampled 2 starters and 2 main meals. The food was of a very high standard, as indeed was the large full english breakfast.
We would both highly recommend staying at this hotel (and eating there!) We will certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 84 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2010

This accomodation is good value for money , rooms clean with character, good breakfast. The owners are very eager to make your stay perfect. The Chinese food in the restaurant is the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEEBEEYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

What a great find - cute rooms, great Chinese food and cosy pub. The owners are lovely and couldn't do more for you. The 1st review must be old as we had a delicious full English breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodie-Crouch_End
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We booked on very short notice to stay overnight. The Plough is a lovely thatched Inn, run by a Chinese couple, and we were warmly welcomed by John who showed us to a very spacious and well set out room. The bed was the most comfortable thing we have slept in in ages (wanted to take it home with us!), the pillows soft also. There was a flat-screen tv if you need that sort of thing, a free-standing wardrobe, tea & coffee making facilities and a large bathroom that had a bath and a separate shower. We only used the shower which was very efficient. John & Mary offer Chinese food, either in the bar or in the restaurant, and we chose to eat that evening in the bar with the friendly locals. The food was excellent, crispy chilli beef, crispy seaweed (my two favourites), singapore rice, noodles with beansprouts (which also had onion & spring onion) and chilli chicken. We had a very nice house white and thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful. After a blissful sleep, we had a full english breakfast the next day which was also of very high quality. All I can say now is that I hope we will soon be back in the area for work so that we can stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The room was lovely and clean, with tea & coffee making facilities. Cooked breakfast at whatever time we required it. Hosts were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaz_esp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

we have just enjoyed a short stay at the plough Inn. The Staff were most welcoming and very nice people. The food was wonderful. The layout of the room was really nice, the beds were so comfortable. The views outside were nice and it was very quiet. You get a lot for the price and more hotels, could do with following these people. It was a very clean hotel and we will be using it again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellen1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Just returned 2 day stay. Friendly, clean accommodation,lovely Chinese restaurant, food excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for John and Mary the proprietors . Would not hesitate to recommend. Friendly staff and locals.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebraSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Abingdon Road, Clifton Hampden OX14 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Clifton Hampden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton Hampden
Price Range: $96 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plough B & B is a 16th Century building which has kept some of its original features such as its thatched roof and inglenook fireplace set in the heart of Oxfordshire near the river Thames. 2.7 miles to Dorchester on Thames, 4-5 miles to Didcot & Harwell, Milton Park and Abingdon, 7 miles to center of Oxford & university colleges. All of our rooms are en suite with hair dryer, trouser press, tea & coffee making facilities,a small fridge, 32" - 43" free view televisions with USB ports for playing home movies & photos, bluray player provided upon request, Wifi is free ( fibre optic broad band up to 200 meg. will be installed before mid of December 2015 ). * Please note there is no restauratn or pub in the building. * Free parking is ganranteed available even for 600 size van. There are a few restaurants nearby. The Barley Mow restaurant is 5 mins walk away by the bridge near the river Thames, The chequershere the chef cooks deliciou food is 1.1 miles and 3 mins drive or if you fancy a delicious indian or another traditional pub food is 1.3 miles to next village in Long Whitenham. The famous Crazy Bear hotel & Restaurant is also 3.5 miles away. A small village store & post office is across the main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Clifton Hampden
The Plough Inn Clifton Hampden, England - Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing