We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy ,relaxing break”
Review of Dog House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dog House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Frilford B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A cosy ,relaxing break”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at The Doghouse for a couple of nights in February and enjoyed a lovely restful break in the cosy,warm surroundings with a great open fire.The staff were very friendly,food was good value for money with plenty of choice-although we were hoping to have a sunday roast but they had run out.The waitresses were efficient yet friendly and breakfast was lovely.
The rooms were large and clean with a lovely comfortable bed.
I believe the inn is due for some redecoration soon and would direct this to the bathrooms - the bath panels definately need replacing!
I hope they do not spoil the quirky charm that this place has - rather like a comfy pair of slippers that you dont want to replace!
Look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eil_bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please allow us to extend our apologies that we had sold out of Roast Dinners. Please be assured that a programme of maintenance is being carried out to improve the standards of our rooms, including replacing any broken fixtures and fittings. We look forward to greeting you again soon at The Dog House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    144
    64
    39
    25
See reviews for
74
160
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Dog House on the recommendation of family who stayed last summer. The hotel is set in lovely countryside but is also very close to Oxford and Blenheim Palace. We had a room at the front of the hotel which was very cosy, clean and warm. The bed was very comfortable and although the decor was a bit tired the price we paid was an absolute bargain and well worth the money. The bar area is in need of some updating but the open fires are very welcoming. the food is lovely and extremely good value for money ( I can recommend the cauliflower tart and my partner the fish & chips - two mains for a tenner!). The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast choice is great. We would definitely stay here again and thank the staff at the hotel for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper a room at the back would be better as there can be some road noise in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We're delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Dog House where we continue to offer great value offers and promotions through the year. Your positive feedback will be passed onto the team who made your stay so enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in feb had a good stay despite it snowing we were really warm in our double room upstairs. The staff very very welcoming Elaina the head waitress was excellent and worked very hard and made everything look easy. The food was good but had booked a table for sunday lunch late at 6.30 which we checked with the manager they would still be serving but they had run out. Still the hunter chicken was good. Only down side was that the shower pressure was useless so had to have a bath every time and the view from the room window was a very, messy bin and store area with a broken hanging off gate. Just need a tweak to be fantastic as staff really helpful, would stay again Very good for Blenheim palace.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Psychic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We always appreciate constructive feedback as it can help in our endeavours to improve service here at the Dog House. The positives you write about below we have already passed onto the team. Please be assured that Old English Inns are investing in the estate and that over a period of time each Hotel will get the refurbishment required. In regards to the Sunday roast issues that you have highlighted we will ensure that these are remedied. We do hope that you stay with us again so we can show how brilliant the Dog House can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Our room was spacious & had everything you need (superior double), the bathrooms do need attention but plenty of hot water is available & it was very clean.
If you want a hotel with character you expect the building to be old & a bit creaky, as this is, but the food, the bar & general atmosphere is friendly, warm & welcoming. It is located in beautiful countryside surroundings away from the hustle & bustle of the city but close enough to explore.
Richard & his team are all doing a really good job of providing a genuinely friendly service which isn't forced or false in any way.
We will definitely return.
Thank You

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked at the hotel for a weekend away near Oxford having struggled to find a suitable hotel in the city. The location of the Dog House is very good, out in the peaceful countryside only a few miles from Oxford and a good park and ride scheme. The building is old and quite quirky with a warm bar area and decent sized rooms. We had a family room that was clean but rather bland and suffered from the noise of kitchen fans or extractors at various volumes, on and off all night. Although generally ok the room had a very tatty bath panel, a basin plug that didn't work and quite a few cobwebs. Although there were three of us, only two mugs and four pillows were provided. They were supplied when asked but you really shouldn't have to - three people, a mug and two pillows each - easy! The room was only half serviced the next day - one bed made up, the mugs replaced but the bins not emptied. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss as well, on Saturday morning we had to ask the main 'waiter' three times for tea and then for toast and he got our order wrong. The hot food wasn't served by him as he spent most of his time on his mobile phone, hidden behind a pillar by the bar - so guests couldn't see him and he couldn't see them! The tea was very weak and the baked beans were cold. It improved on the Sunday with a more attentive waitress but by that time the hotel had run out of marmalade and we had to ask for more cereals to be put out as they had all gone. Whilst the manager seemed keen to welcome guests, the other staff need to be more proactive and better at spotting and correcting the details that make all the difference. I hate to say it but the guy on the Saturday breakfast shift has no place in the hospitality business when there are so many keen young people desperate to find work.

Room Tip: Avoid being over the kitchen - although I'm sure something could and should be done to surpress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We always appreciate constructive feedback as it can help in our endeavours to improve service here at the Dog House. The positives you write about below we have already passed onto the team. Please be assured that Old English Inns are investing in the estate and that over a period of time each Hotel will get the refurbishment required. In regards to the service hiccups that you have highlighted we will ensure that these are remedied. We do hope that you stay with us again so we can show how brilliant the Dog House can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Lunch with 2 friends turned out to be a wait and see occasion - a long one

The bar / restaurant staff appeared to be inter changeable - problem being that if you wanted to order a drink then the person was acting as a waiter and if you wanted to order food then person was a barman.

We waited 10 minutes at the bar to order food only to be told that we should order food at the restaurant table - same person doing both jobs (different hats). We then waited another 15 minutes at the table before returning to the bar to ask if someone could take our order. Food eventually arrived another 15 minutes later; chips were cold but hunger pains took over.

Ambience and decoration is very nice but need to sort out job responsibilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfrescodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your chips were cold and the service slower than expected. Please be assured that we constantly review our staffing levels to keep them in line with trading patterns and that all feedback is shared with the team to improve our performance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frilford hotels

1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

In my experience it was worth every penny. The rooms are well furnished and have large comfortable beds. The food is excellent and served by friendly staff. I was working locally and stayed a few nights a week over a couple of months so I used different rooms and couldn't fault any of them. I work away a lot, so I see a lot of hotels, and this is the first one to impress me enough to leave a review. The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. As I say, I stayed for work but will be happy to return for a holiday break. I really can't understand why they have had bad reviews.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frilford
2.3 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
450 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
238 reviews
5.5 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
16.5 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#34 of 44 in Oxford
168 reviews
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Abingdon Road Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dog House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog House Hotel

Property: Dog House Hotel
Address: Faringdon Road, Frilford, Abingdon OX13 6QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon > Frilford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dog House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dog House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing