We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm friendly service with a smile”
Review of Dog House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dog House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Frilford B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm friendly service with a smile”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Our room was spacious & had everything you need (superior double), the bathrooms do need attention but plenty of hot water is available & it was very clean.
If you want a hotel with character you expect the building to be old & a bit creaky, as this is, but the food, the bar & general atmosphere is friendly, warm & welcoming. It is located in beautiful countryside surroundings away from the hustle & bustle of the city but close enough to explore.
Richard & his team are all doing a really good job of providing a genuinely friendly service which isn't forced or false in any way.
We will definitely return.
Thank You

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    147
    65
    39
    25
See reviews for
76
161
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked at the hotel for a weekend away near Oxford having struggled to find a suitable hotel in the city. The location of the Dog House is very good, out in the peaceful countryside only a few miles from Oxford and a good park and ride scheme. The building is old and quite quirky with a warm bar area and decent sized rooms. We had a family room that was clean but rather bland and suffered from the noise of kitchen fans or extractors at various volumes, on and off all night. Although generally ok the room had a very tatty bath panel, a basin plug that didn't work and quite a few cobwebs. Although there were three of us, only two mugs and four pillows were provided. They were supplied when asked but you really shouldn't have to - three people, a mug and two pillows each - easy! The room was only half serviced the next day - one bed made up, the mugs replaced but the bins not emptied. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss as well, on Saturday morning we had to ask the main 'waiter' three times for tea and then for toast and he got our order wrong. The hot food wasn't served by him as he spent most of his time on his mobile phone, hidden behind a pillar by the bar - so guests couldn't see him and he couldn't see them! The tea was very weak and the baked beans were cold. It improved on the Sunday with a more attentive waitress but by that time the hotel had run out of marmalade and we had to ask for more cereals to be put out as they had all gone. Whilst the manager seemed keen to welcome guests, the other staff need to be more proactive and better at spotting and correcting the details that make all the difference. I hate to say it but the guy on the Saturday breakfast shift has no place in the hospitality business when there are so many keen young people desperate to find work.

Room Tip: Avoid being over the kitchen - although I'm sure something could and should be done to surpress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We always appreciate constructive feedback as it can help in our endeavours to improve service here at the Dog House. The positives you write about below we have already passed onto the team. Please be assured that Old English Inns are investing in the estate and that over a period of time each Hotel will get the refurbishment required. In regards to the service hiccups that you have highlighted we will ensure that these are remedied. We do hope that you stay with us again so we can show how brilliant the Dog House can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Lunch with 2 friends turned out to be a wait and see occasion - a long one

The bar / restaurant staff appeared to be inter changeable - problem being that if you wanted to order a drink then the person was acting as a waiter and if you wanted to order food then person was a barman.

We waited 10 minutes at the bar to order food only to be told that we should order food at the restaurant table - same person doing both jobs (different hats). We then waited another 15 minutes at the table before returning to the bar to ask if someone could take our order. Food eventually arrived another 15 minutes later; chips were cold but hunger pains took over.

Ambience and decoration is very nice but need to sort out job responsibilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfrescodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your chips were cold and the service slower than expected. Please be assured that we constantly review our staffing levels to keep them in line with trading patterns and that all feedback is shared with the team to improve our performance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frilford hotels

1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

In my experience it was worth every penny. The rooms are well furnished and have large comfortable beds. The food is excellent and served by friendly staff. I was working locally and stayed a few nights a week over a couple of months so I used different rooms and couldn't fault any of them. I work away a lot, so I see a lot of hotels, and this is the first one to impress me enough to leave a review. The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. As I say, I stayed for work but will be happy to return for a holiday break. I really can't understand why they have had bad reviews.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very nice country pub with rooms at decent rates.

The room I had was a bit dated and had a door which you practically needed to be a locksmith to get in and out of, however it was comfortable and a spacious room. The only thing that stopped me from giving a 4/5 review was the fact that the shower didn't go beyond lukewarm and the water pressure was so low that it barely trickled out (4 of my colleagues also experienced similar issue with their rooms).

The bar and restaurant was nice and the food was good from the evening menu. The breakfast was fantastic.

The staff were very friendly and polite - a credit to the management.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank draig_cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team. Please be assured that Old English Inns are investing in the estate and that over a period of time each Hotel will get the refurbishment required. We hope that you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We were invited to Celebratory birthday lunch by a very good friend. Lunch was for about 30 plus children. Firstly the tables were so cramped together that food/empty plates had to be passed back and forward as the waiters couldn't reach everyone. The tomato soup starter was obviously out of a tin. The chicken main meal was served with almost raw potatoes and vegetables with a slop of not very nice mushroom sauce. The desert was apple pie - with a thick 'concrete' crust - and custard that tasted like the powdered stuff. The waitress taking coffee orders was quite rude and abrupt. I can remember school meals tasting better than this. Won't be returning here again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction. We are very pleased to announce the appointment of our new Head Chef since your visit and hope that our assurances afford us the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely relaxing weekend, the staff are so helpful and friendly. The room was clean and the bed amazingly comfy the food generally fine and the atmosphere great. Only thing holding the score down slightly was the fact that being January they obviously run a skeleton shift system which makes sense but mistakes will happen if you put too much on to a small team that said they coped really well and should be congratulated for their hospitality and work ethic!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay, many thanks for letting us know. Please return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frilford
2.3 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
454 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
243 reviews
5.5 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Abingdon Road Hotel
16.5 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#33 of 44 in Oxford
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dog House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog House Hotel

Property: Dog House Hotel
Address: Faringdon Road, Frilford, Abingdon OX13 6QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon > Frilford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dog House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dog House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing